Cosmic Encounter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Seeker and Cosmic Zap Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: Cosmic [+] Zap [+] Seeker [+] Intent [+] [View All]
J H
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I have been playing Cosmic for a few years, and got most of my friends into it last year.

An interesting scenario came up the other night involving the seeker power. The question my friend asked me was "Are you going to use a Cosmic Zap this turn?" (I was the Vulch so he knew I had zaps).

The obvious outcome of this if I say no is that I cannot use a cosmic zap that turn. But I am unsure as to what happens if I say yes. A couple of possibilities come to mind:

1) Is this question even valid?

2) If I say yes, and nobody uses a power, did I break a rule?

3A) If I say yes, do I have to zap the first power that gets used from that point on?
3B) If I don't zap the first power, and no more powers are used, have I broken a rule?

We are generally very good about making house rules, but I wasn't quite sure how to tackle this one and my friends can be extremely hot headed if they don't agree on a ruling. Also, he was the Super Seeker at the time, but still asked me a yes or no question so that was irrelevant.

I've been reading the forums for answers for quite a while and hopefully some of you experts can help me out a bit here
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Toltz
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
This is an interesting situation. Ignoring the super seeker, here's how I'd rule.

My answer would be: you can answer yes; if you do, you may not pass up an opportunity for a cosmic zap unless, given the currently-available information, you can be positive you'll have a chance to use it again later. For example, if there's a mandatory resolution-phase power, you could opt not to zap a power used during the planning phase, since you know you'll be able to zap the power during the resolution phase.