Rafal Areinu
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions.
Q: Do passive abilities of a hero work when he is knocked out?

For example Avric Albright's ability that allows heroes within 3 spaces of him to use surge to recover 1 health point or No Mercy skill from Champion class.

A: No, these abilities are not in effect when a hero is knocked out because the knocked out hero is not treated as if he was on the map.

Thanks,
Adam Sadler
Managing Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Triu Greykith
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions.
I forgot I had even asked this question months ago.

Q. If the Overlord is dragging out an encounter that he is in a position to win (in order to beat up the heroes and draw more cards for the 2nd encounter), can the heroes choose to forfeit -- and end the encounter immediately -- or do they just have to take their lumps?

Adam Sadler, Managing Game Designer, Fantasy Flight Games wrote:
Unfortunately, there is no way for the heroes to forfeit an encounter.

He also confirmed Jain's ability (but wouldn't it have been fun if he had contradicted the earlier post).

Q. If Jain Fairwood converts all damage suffered to fatigue, do game effects triggered by damage still apply? The original question involved spending a surge to apply the Poison condition, but there are other effects as well. It was argued that because damage is step 5 of combat, the surge in step 4 would still be able to poison Jain because (potential) damage was rolled.

Adam Sadler, Managing Game Designer, Fantasy Flight Games wrote:
Yes, Jain Fairwood would still be affected by game effects that trigger off of dealing damage. For example, a surge ability that gives poison would apply to a target as long as the attack dealt 1 damage, regardless of how much damage the target actually suffers.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dawid
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions.
Wildlander: Running Shoot + Firs Strike & Movement points.

Q: Can Wildlander's skills 'Running Shot' and 'First Strike' be combined? Can he move at all and when exactly (during Overlord's turn)?
Can excessive movement points be carried from turn to turn?


A: Yes, a Wildlander can use Running Shot and First Strike together. When used with First Strike, the Wildlander must spend the movement points during the overlord's turn.
Movement points cannot be carried from turn to turn.

Discussion: here.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dawid
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions.
Berserker: counter attack + reach

Q: Can Berserker use 'Counter Attack' with a Melee weapon with Reach, against monster that attacked him with it's 'Reach attack', not from adjacent space?

A: Counter Attack specifically refers to an adjacent monster. In this case no, the Berserker cannot use Counter Attack against a monster that attacked him with Reach.

Discussion: here
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dawid
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions.
Wildlander: Nimble & Large monsters

Q: Can Wildlander use a 'Nimble' skill when monster is 'expanding' to adjacent space (in order to attack Wildlander) and didn't actually used movement point to enter that space?

A: No, the Wildlander cannot use Nimble in that situation because the monster only technically enters the one space chosen before it expands.

Discussion: here
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafal Areinu
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions.
Here's few from Justin Kemppainen:

Q: Can one use Advance when there's no enemy within 2 spaces of Knight just to get additional movement?

Quote:
Yes, the Knight may use Advance even when there's no enemy within the movement range.


Q: When monster uses skills like Flail, Leap, which target number of heroes, one of which is Knight, can Knight use Defend? What will the effect be? The figure cannot be attacked by the same attack twice, so does it cancel out one of targets?
Quote:
Yes, the Knight may use Defend against attacks that target multiple heroes. This is a fine distinction of nomenclature between "targeting" and "targeted by". Technically, the (let's say merriod) merriod is targeting 2 different heroes, one of which is the Knight. The Knight uses defend to declare himself the target of the other attack as well, so both attacks affect him, and he rolls his defense dice once for each attack.


Q: Lord Hawthorne's heroic feat let's him perform an attack, move up to 2 spaces and then perform an attack again.

Knight's Advance let's him move up to his speed(4) and attack again.

If he uses his heroic feat and kills the monster and activates Advance what happens? Does he get 6 movement points in total and can attack twice after moving that much?

I believe it works like this, let's name the space on which Lord Hawthorne is standing when doing first attack Starting Space.

I believe he can move up to 2 from Starting Space then make and attack from Advance, then he can move up to 4 counting from Starting Space and attack from heroic feat. So that gives him max 4 movement, not 6. Is that right?

Quote:
Yes, Lord Hawthorne's heroic feat can be combined with Advance. Keep in mind that the monster has be defeated for Advance to trigger. However, each ability doesn't "gain movement points." So while yes, he may attack, move 2 spaces, attack and defeat a monster, then advance another 4 spaces (bringing him 6 spaces away from his starting space, assuming he didn't backtrack), he may not attack, attack, advance/attack, and then move six spaces.


Wow, last one is crazy.

I'll post those in relevant threads later on.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Triu Greykith
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions.
Monster Attacks

Q: What defines a monster "attack"? Players have proposed various tests: (a) does it do damage, (b) does it use the word "attack" on the card, (c) does it involve rolling the blue attack die? Is Bash considered an attack? It meets (a), but not (b) or (c).

Justin Kemppainen, Creative Content Developer, Fantasy Flight Games wrote:
A monster may either perform a "standard" attack action. Any other lieutenant or monster ability that allows an attack explicitly states that it is an attack. For example, Bash deals damage but isn't an attack, so a troll could Sweep and Bash on the same activation.

LOS & Tile Edge

Q: Line of sight is blocked when it "passes through the edge of a map tile, a door, or a blocked space" or "passes along the edge of a blocked space". Some people argue that it is not explicitly blocked if it passes along the edge of a map tile or a door, even though the topology is almost identical. Are you allowed to fire along a wall, but not past a figure or obstacle?

Justin Kemppainen, Creative Content Developer, Fantasy Flight Games wrote:
As long as you can trace corner to corner without any of the spaces traced through being blocked, you've got line of sight, and yes, you can trace along the edge of a map tile, but not through it. I'm not sure of any circumstances where you could trace alongside a door, since it often entirely blocks movement and LoS.

My apologies, I noticed the thread on Board Game Geek, and I entirely misinterpreted the question you were asking.

I thought you were asking about tracing through a tile that contained one of the darkened wall edges (not tracing the line itself, but angling through one that joined with another tile). The actual answer is that you cannot trace line of sight along the edge of a map tile or along the edge of a blocked space.

Again, very sorry for the confusion on this question; I hope my misinterpretation didn't cause too much chaos in the forum.

Stoneskin vs. Blast

Q: Can an ability that is triggered by an attack "before dice are rolled" be used if a surge or other effect allows additional figures to be "affected"? Some argue that only the original target is attacked & others are merely "affected". Some argue that it has to be declared before the attack dice are rolled. Some say it should be allowed for any figure potentially taking damage, before rolling defense dice.

Justin Kemppainen, Creative Content Developer, Fantasy Flight Games wrote:
The figure must be the target of an attack before dice are rolled to receive the Stoneskin ability. It cannot be used as a "just in case" for Blast or Firebreath.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dawid
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions.
Dark Charm - Overlord Card

Q: How does Dark Charm work?
It reads that Overlord may perform move or attack action with a hero as if he were one of his monsters that turn.
1. Does this action must be performed immediately or can other monsters be activated first?
2. Can charmed hero move through monsters figures?
3. Can charmed hero move through heroes figures?
4. Can monsters attack charmed hero?
5. Can Overlord play Overlord Cards on charmed hero? Especially can traps be played as if he were hero? Can Frenzy be played as if he were monster?

Justin Kemppainen wrote:
1) The action must be performed immediately.

2/3) The charmed hero is treated as a monster for the duration that the card is in play (which is for the move or attack), so if he moves, he cannot move through heroes but can move through monsters.

4) The hero is no longer considered "charmed" after the attack or move, so monsters may attack him.

5) Overlord cards for the most part cannot chain during the Dark Charm move. Since he is treated as a monster, you could not pit trap him. Since his status of being "charmed" ends as soon as his attack resolves, he could not frenzy. However, something like Dark Might or Critical Blow would be perfectly viable.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Triu Greykith
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions.
Deathseed wrote:
The official answers as provided to me by FFG staff:

1) The Lair of the Wyrm quests do not award any XP if they're played in a full campaign as rumors, mostly because adding too much extra XP could cause unfortunate math issues (as you clearly saw). They do, however, award XP if played as a mini campaign (rules are online if you hadn't seen them).

2) Yes. Any time a hero moves out of a space adjacent to the master cave spider, he has to suffer 1 fatigue. The master can block up travel paths pretty well like this, as a hero could suffer a lot of fatigue moving past it.

3) Yes. Flame breath doesn't need to be traced in a straight line or follow LoS rules.

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?e...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rom Brown
New Zealand
Gisborne
flag msg tools
Live Fast. Love Hard. Die With Your Mask On.
badge
True-Man's come home! ...and he IS the storm!
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions.
Q. If Jain is bitten by a spider, who then damages her (after def dice are rolled), spends a surge … and poisons her,
Does she, if then uses her ability to convert suffered damage to fatigue, still suffer the poison condition.

A similar query also came up a while back regarding the Necromancer transferring suffered wounds to his reanimate, and to whether he or his reanimate would suffer any conditions that came with this damage.

A. Both Dark Pact and Jain Fairwood's heroic ability are applied when damage is dealt, which combat rules is the last phase of any given attack. The application of conditions occurs in the "spend surges" section. So, prior to any damage being dealt, assuming everything applies in regards to damage > defense, the effect of the condition will be applied during the Spend Surges phase, before the Deal Damage phase of the attack.

Even if you could make an argument towards the Condition applying during the Deal Damage phase of the attack, any kind of timing conflicts *always* rule in favor of the active player, which in this case is the overlord. Since the overlord fulfills the requirements to inflict the condition (hearts > defense, surge: condition), he applies the condition to the player, and THEN the player may choose to redirect damage in whatever fashion he or she is able to.

~

I then also received this extra clarification a few days later (now that's service for you!)...

The principle difference here is between damage dealt and damage suffered. Since the triggering conditions keys off of damage dealt (and the prevention keys off of damage suffered), it doesn't actually matter the end result of how much the targets suffer.

---

Q. What's the deal with Movement Points, when can you use them?

A. Think of movement points like a pool you have available to a figure during its turn. When you take a move action, you're adding movement points equal to your Speed to that pool. You can also suffer fatigue to add movement points in the same way. There is no restriction on when you can use these movement points (before, during, or after your actions), but you have to keep track of and declare when you're using fatigue to move.

Also keep in mind that the rule requires you to suffer fatigue to gain movement points. If you're worried about something like a pit traps, you are absolutely free to suffer 2 fatigue to gain that extra movement point that would normally land you in a stun.

both answered by...
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
gabriel lee
United States
Menifee
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions.
Hello I have a couple of questions about rules :

1 : In a Cardinal's Plight can the Cardinal be diseased when does he start testing it ? While the door is sealed or when the library is open ? Also in respect to the Cardinal is he effected by attacks that do no target him but do damage IE blast or howl ?

2 : Do NPCs that have no stamina that suffer stamina loss from an attack or an ability is it converted into damage ?

3 : Can you use hero abilities like defend on NPCs like the Cardinal and Sir Palamon ?

4 : When the overlord is reinforcing for the turn does he choose the master monster or minion monster his choice while respecting group limits ?

5 : Do objective token IE the altar in Cardinal's Plight block los / movement and can you end your movement on the altar?

I can answer these questions for you but for future reference, please submit all rules questions via our website:

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_faq.asp

1: Yes, the Cardinal can be diseased, and he tests for it when he is activated. No, the cardinal may only suffer damage from zombie attacks.

2: Yes, if they have no Stamina, all fatigue suffered is converted to damage.

3: Yes, if they are treated as a hero.

4: He can choose which figure to reinforce.

5: No, the altar does not block line of sight or movement.

Thanks,
Adam Sadler
Managing Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games
asadler@fantasyflightgames.com
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin REEVE
Switzerland
St-Légier
Vaud
flag msg tools
Looking for a game session in Switzerland? Send me a pm!
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions.
Q : When Leoric is affected by Dark Charm, are his own attacks reduced by one heart, due to his heroe's ability (in other words, as a hero is considered as a monster, does he loose all his heroic abilities, including the 'passive' ones) ?

A : Yes, since he is treated as a monster, any attack he performs would have its damage reduced by 1. A hero is treated as a monster but is still, deep down, heroic at heart =)

Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dawid
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Reinforce (Overlord Card)

Q:
Can Reinforce (Overlord Card) be played to instantly win Frozen Spire quest (Encounter 2)?
Do closed doors break 3 spaces buffer for Reinforce, or is this buffer absolute?
In quest where open group of monster is not placed on board until some condition is met, can this group be chosen for Reinforce Card purposes (before condition is met)?


Justin Kemppainen wrote:
No. You cannot count spaces through closed doors.
However, the Reinforce card has a few issues that we are intending on addressing sometime in the near future. For the time being, yes, as written on the card, you could play Reinforce to place a monster group not placed during setup.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sphären Wanderer
Germany
flag msg tools
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
ericbdavies wrote:

Quote:
Do the damage tokens acquired on Valorous Strike stay in between encounters?

The rules state that valor is retained but says nothing of these damage tokens.


The response:

Quote:
Yes, damage tokens from Valorous Strike remain on the card between encounters, but are discarded at the end of a quest.

Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rico V2
msg tools
Shadow Rune Relic Usage Clarified
The question about SS Shadow Rune is cause in the card says:
"EACH OF YOUR ATTACKS GAIN"…what mean that sentence?
In other relics, like Duskblade says:
"each of this lieutenat's attacks gains:" and some surgues
But in Shadow Rune dont say that, say "Each of your attacks" so…that means that all the surges are gained by all monsters and lieutenat's?
I think that the answer is yes cause if that surges can be only used by zachareth the card would read exactily like Duskblade…but insted of "each of this" says "each of yours"…and that is so diferent.
Aslo, if in the relic dont put anything…all people would assume that only zachareth can use that surges, like all weapons, so i think that its absurd to put "each of your attacks" if only zachareth can use the surges…to put that is better not put noghing or put the same that Duskblade…
I know it should be so powerfull… but the SS can use that relic ONLY in the last encounter of the last map in the campain, and only if he wins more aventures that heroes in Act II so i think that all people (monsters and lieutent's) can use that surges.

------------------------------------------------------------

The abilities listed on the lieutenant version of the card only apply to the lieutenant who has it equipped. In the case of the Shadow Rune, only Baron Zacareth can equip it, and so only Baron Zacareth can gain the surge abilities listed when he performs attacks.
 
Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
jkemppainen@fantasyflightgames.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm so sorry, i dont want to molest but about the last answer that you give to me, when you says than only Zachareth can use the surges of the Shadow Rune relic…
If only he can use that surges, why in the Shadow Rune relic put "each of your attacks gains" and in the Duskblade put "each of this lieutenant's attacks gain"?
why that diference??
I supose that if they are written diferent, they should do different things…i dont understand why sorry, if you could explain a little bit more i would be very grateful
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
We may look at adding this to the Errata or FAQ. "Your" in this case refers is equal to "this lieutenant" for the purposes of effects.

Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
jkemppainen@fantasyflightgames.com
 
So finally only Zachareth cause use the surges cause its an Errata…
 
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dawid
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Frozen Spire - Frederic first move and attack

Q:
Quest book reads: "Frederick immediately moves his Speed and performs 1 attack, then the hero resumes.".
Does he have to move?
Does he have to move full speed?
Does he have to move so he can attack?
Does he have to attack?
Justin Kemppainen wrote:
When the door is opened, Frederick is treated as a monster under the overlord's control. As such, the overlord makes all decisions in regards to the move and attack.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dawid
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Q: Can heroes trade with figures treated like a heroes?

Justin Kemppainen wrote:
No. Unless otherwise specified, anything treated as a hero (and therefore not actually a hero) can only be affected by monster attacks, hero abilities, and Overlord cards that target a hero.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E.M. Proc
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
In the conversion kit, the Act I Skeleton Archer minion requires no surge for its Pierce 1 ability, but the Act II minion requires a surge for its Pierce 2 ability. Is this correct, or should the Pierce 2 ability for the Act II minion be surge-free?

Quote:
Yes, the ability on the card is correct.

Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sir slayer
msg tools
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
If I have 7 Minions on field, thanks to split, can I reinforce another Master ?
(potentially gaining more minions)
Quote:

It's quite all right. With abilities like Split or Undying, you're still limited by the number of figures available. If all minions are on the map, or if quest rules have monsters set aside, you wouldn't be able to take advantage of that monster ability.

Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen


Still not sure what that means in the end....
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
alexandre aittouares
France
flag msg tools
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Question :

About stoneskin :

When you add a gray dice exhausting this skill, how long does the added dice last ?? ( Only for the attack that allowed the use of stoneskin or until the skill is refreshed ? )

Answer ( easy one ) :
Quote:

Stoneskin is used once during a single attack and cannot be used again until the card refreshes.

Question :

about Ancestor Spirits :

When you use a class skill that results in multiple monsters to suffer damage or heroes to recover damage and/or fatigue at the same time ( like tempest, vigor, share pain, and so on ) and you then exhaust Ancestor Spirits, what is the result ? Are all the monsters poisoned or only one ? Same for Heroes, are all recovering additionnal damage and fatigue or only one ?

Answer :

Quote:
With Ancestor Spirits, any ability that damages multiple monsters will Poison each damaged monster, and any ability that allows damage or fatigue recovery for multiple heroes will recover 1 damage and 1 fatigue for each affected hero.


NOW THAT'S REALLY INTERESTING.

Answers by
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafal Areinu
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Both by Justin

Rule Question:
Mad carthos' hero ability says once per turn, when using a skill that costs 1 fatigue it will cost zero fatigue instead. It doesn't say "per round", it doesn't specify whose turn it should be. Does that mean I could possibly use 1 fatigue skill on my turn, then on each of other 3 heroes' turns, and on overlord's turn, each time for free?

This also affects Sir Valadir and Astarra.

Can Sir Valadir use his ability on his turn, then on overlord's turn if Sir Valadir counterattacks? Can Astarra use her ability to "teleport" with move action granted by Syndrael's feat, on Syndrael's turn, then "teleport" again on Astarra's turn?

Quote:
It does indeed say per turn and not per round. Each hero has a turn, and the overlord has a turn, so these abilities, by the rules currently written, are allowed to be used each turn.


Rule Question:
Immobilize card says it only prevents hero from using Move action or fatigue to generate movement points. I'm aware it also stops movement action if someone gets immobilized during it's duration.

Does Immobilize stop movement gained from other abilities that grand movement points or let hero move up to speed?

Quote:
Immobilize only prevents move actions and suffering fatigue. Gaining movement points while immobilized through some other means unrelated to a move action or suffering fatigue, "moving up to your speed" as the result of an ability, or being removed from the map and placed elsewhere is all allowed with immobilize as written.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E.M. Proc
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
This is really more of a LotW related question, but since there's not an official response thread over in those forums, and since more people will see it on this board, I'm posting it here...

Question
emproc1346 wrote:
The Shadow ability on the Shadow Dragon specifically states that "a hero adjacent..." needs to expend a surge to have a successful attack.

So if a Summoned Stone (treated as an obstacle, not treated as a figure) attacks an adjacent Shadow Dragon via Terracall, does it need a surge to get past Shadow?

What about a hero attacking through the stone via something like Molten Fury?

(And I suppose just to cover all the bases, does a Reanimate count as "a hero" for this purpose as well?")


Answer
Justin wrote:
Since a Summoned Stone is treated as an obstacle and not a hero or monster figure, no abilities applying to heroes or monsters may be used. Thus, it wouldn't be affected by Shadow. However, any ability that allows you to attack through a Summoned Stone, if it's adjacent to a Shadow Dragon, is subject to the Shadow ability (since the hero is the one performing the attack).

The Reanimate is treated as a hero figure, so it would be subject to Shadow.



Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Multiple Dark Fortunes

Q: Can the Overlord play two Dark Fortune cards on a single defense roll? Can he play it on two different dice in a defense roll? Can he play it on one die twice in a row?

A: Page 16 of the Core Rulebook, under Overlord Cards: "Two Overlord cards with the same name cannot be played on the same target in response to the same triggering condition." Dark Fortune's triggering condition is, "...after you roll dice," so each for each instance of rolling dice, Dark Fortune allows you to reroll 1 die, once, and a second Dark Fortune cannot be played.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Martin
United States
Ellicott City
MD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.


THE OL CAN NOT BLOCK SWIMMERS IN THE SHADOW VAULT QUEST!

I asked the developers the following:

wrote:
Rule Question:

In Shadow Vault:

If there is a monster standing on the Stream space closest to the River's Edge, may a hero swim to the closest available stream space?

If so, what if the OL has blocked all four stream spaces?

I ask because of the ambiguity in the Quest Log language:

Quest Guide wrote:
"As an action, a figure may swim from any of the water spaces on the River's Edge tile to *THE* water space on the near edge of the Stream tile."


However, it goes on to say:

Quest Guide wrote:
"...he moves to *A* water space on the Stream tile closest to the River's Edge."


Note the difference in the articles THE vs. A.

On one hand, there are many times in the game where figures move to the closet empty space to the target space. On the other hand, the language always says as much when that is true.


Here is the answer I received:

Quote:
"A" implies that it could be any other spaces, but the space you move into is the water space closest to the River's Edge. Notice it doesn't say, "closest available or empty water space," which means that, regardless of "the" or "a," the one you swim to is the water space closest to the River's Edge. If something is blocking it, you follow normal rules of placing the figure in the closest empty space.

Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
jkemppainen@fantasyflightgames.com


I asked for a clarification:

Quote:
Thanks so much. If I understand correctly, this means that there is no way the OL can block heroes from swimming to the stream since they will always place themselves the closest available space. Correct?

I will post to BBG.com upon confirmation.


He replied:
Quote:
That's correct.


So there we have it!

7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dawid
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Surges order

Q: Assuming hero took fatigue equal to his stamina.
Can hero recover fatigue from surge and use it on another skill within the same attack?


Justin Kemppainen wrote:
Yes, a hero can recover fatigue with a surge and use that fatigue within the same attack if he has an applicable skill.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
[1]  Prev «  1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [10] | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.