$10.00
Dawid
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lucky Charm during a Travel
Q: Can Lucky Charm be used (how many times) during a Travel?

Justin Kemppainen wrote:
Lucky Charm would exhaust and would not refresh until the "1. Start of turn: II. Refresh cards" step of the hero's turn during the encounter.


3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dawid
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Berserker's Brute
Q: Are additional 2 life points recovered by 'Brute' skill associated with 'Stand Up action' and 'Revive Hero action'? Or maybe with Brute, berserker always recovers 2 more life, no matter what effect causes him to be revived?

Justin Kemppainen wrote:
A hero recovering Health by means of something like a Disciple's healing is not considered as a stand-up or revive action, so the ability on the Berserker's Brute would not apply in that case.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dawid
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Unused Movement Points at the moment of immobilization
Q: What happens to unused movement points at the moment of immobilization?
Justin Kemppainen wrote:
With the FAQ clarification, immobilization during a move action would end that move action, but movement points gained through fatigue, abilities such as Jain Fairwood's Heroic Feat, and others would be able to continue.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge B
Portugal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
By Justin:

Q: Does the overlord draw a card when he defeats/destroys a "hero" token (peasant, miner, etc) ?

No, unless a quest specifies otherwise, the overlord only draws a card when defeating a hero.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angus McKhager
Poland
Warsaw
flag msg tools
mbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Q: How to treat large monsters, when reduced to 1x1 during their movement - especially in context of pit spaces: If a “shrunken” large monster enters a pit space, does it suffer 2 damage and ends its movement or is it totally immune to the pit spaces while moving?

”Justin Kemppainen” wrote:
As written, a large monster whose movement is in process is not affected by pit spaces and can move through them as normal.


Discussion: here
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dawid
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Counting, Obstacles & Fly ability
Q: When counting range for an attack, is there any difference between spaces containing figure and obstacle-spaces? Is counting through obstacles forbidden?
Justin Kemppainen wrote:
Figures are not considered obstacles by the rules, so you could count through those spaces but not through obstacles.

Q: Can monsters with fly ability move over (through) obstacles?
Justin Kemppainen wrote:
Obstacles are considered terrain for the purposes of movement, so monsters with Fly can indeed ignore them when moving.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin REEVE
Switzerland
St-Légier
Vaud
flag msg tools
Looking for a game session in Switzerland? Send me a pm!
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Quote:
All monster's surge abilities get better in Act II except for the Ettin where they get worse.

In Act I the Ettins have:
Minion, 1 surge: +2 damage
Master, 1 surge: +3 damage

In Act II the Ettins have:
Minion, 1 surge: +1 damage
Master, 1 surge: +2 damage

Looking at the other monsters it seems like these two have been switched around. (and from my experience the Act I Ettins are now a bit overpowered)

Is this a misprint, or is it intentional?


Adam Sadler wrote:
This is not a typo. In Act II Ettins get an additional red die and playtesting showed that they needed toned down a bit in Act II. This is why their surge ability is reduced.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dawid
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Familiars treated as figures
According to rules, only 3 effects can affect Characters Treated As Heroes: monster attacks, hero abilities, and Overlord cards that target a hero.
What rules allows using skills (e.g. Oath of Honor) with them?
Can monster actions (e.g. Throw) affect them?

Justin Kemppainen wrote:
Since that is the way the rule are written, I'd be tempted to say that's the way to play it. However, the intent with that was very clear in that, Skill cards and monster abilities are able to affect "characters treated as heroes".

What about items (e.g. Stuff of Light [action])?
What about overlord cards: Word of Misery, Word of Pain, Word of Despair, Diabolic Power? Do they affect something treated like a hero?

Justin Kemppainen wrote:
Yes to Staff of Light (assuming quest rules allow any healing effects).

Word of Misery, Pain, Despair, all yes. Diabolic Power could be quite devastating to a group of NPCs, but affirmative to that as well.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Captain Frisk
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
MIND|GAMES
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Rule Question:
Can master ettins throw sir palamon?

The internet consensus seems to be that the letter of the rulebook says yes, but I'm hoping for a formal ruling before I have to abuse my party in an upcoming session.
Justin Kemppainen wrote:

Yep, the master ettins can throw Sir Palamon.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Morthai Saichor
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
my projects: The Silken Threads Descent Campaign; Dawn of Civilization Mod
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Rule Question:
The Shadow Ritual: what happens with Fleshmolders that are defeated in encounter 1 in the transition to encounter 2? Can the OL still place them anew in encounter 2? or does he have to play without killed fleshmolders?

Justin Kemppainen wrote:
Flesh moulders don't reinforce in Encounter 2, so whatever he has left from Encounter 1 is what he gets.


Rule Question:
The Shadow Ritual: What happens to conditions on Merric in the transition from encounter 1 to encounter 2? Does they stick on him?
Justin Kemppainen wrote:
Merick would not keep any conditions on him between the encounters. Unless otherwise specified, any lieutenant present in Encounter 1 and Encounter 2 starts without wounds or anything else.


Rule Question:
The Shadow Ritual: What happens with the Relic if the Overlord wins this quest? Does he keep it or will it be returned to the gamebox? The victory for the heroes says that the heroes recieve the Relic from the Overlord, but the Overlord does not have it explicitly in the first place under his pocession. Only during this quest Merric wields it, someone could read. So which side is correct? The Ol recieves it after winning this map pernamently or it is returned to the gamebox?

Justin Kemppainen wrote:

If the overlord did not receive the Staff of Shadows by winning "The Cardinal's Plight" in Act I, he is only able to gain the use of that relic during "The Ritual of Shadows" and does not receive it for winning.

The overlord may be "considered to have won" any quest not played in Act I, but that doesn't automatically grant him the rewards from those quests.

I'm saying he doesn't get to keep the Staff of Shadows to avoid having the overlord gain too much from winning a single quest as well as to most closely reflect the specific rules as written, which don't say he gets to obtain or keep it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Martin
United States
Ellicott City
MD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.

Rule Question:
The first sentence of One Fist's ability reads "You can only equip 1 hand icon worth of equipment." It does not say "You can only equip 1 hand icon worth of weapons" or "The combination of One Fist's equipped items may not have more than one hand icons in total" both of which would clearly indicate he can equip non-weapon equipment.

Since the ability says the only "equipment" he can equip is that which has one hand icon on it, and since "equipment" includes armor and "other" stuff, the reading seems to indicate he can't equip anything that is not a one-handed weapon.

May One First equip any non-weapon equipment?

FFG wrote:
One Fist has trouble dressing himself, eh?

No, he can still equip armor and accessories. "Only 1 hand" refers to, you guessed it, 1 hand of equipment instead of 2.

As far as an errata is concerned, we'll look at adding it in. Thanks!

Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Martin
United States
Ellicott City
MD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Rule Question:

[Must/May] one of the Kobolds that comes into play after the "Split" ability be placed in the space where the Master Kobold was standing when he died and triggered the Split?

FFG wrote:
The card does use the word "replace" in its text for Split, which is a simultaneous remove and place that utilizes the same space from which it was removed. 1 kobold minion would have to be placed in the space that the master occupied before defeated, and the other would be placed in the closest empty space.

Thanks,

Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Martin
United States
Ellicott City
MD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Rule Question:

May large monsters interrupt a move action with another action (e.g., open door, attack) after hey have shrunk to 1x1 but before they have spent a movement point so that they can expand in a direction different than their orientation before the move action?

See this post for description of proposed mechanic:
http://boardgamegeek.com/article/11060575#11060575

FFG wrote:
Allowed!

Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Martin
United States
Ellicott City
MD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Rule Question:

(1) Can Silhouette activate her Heroic Feat, and then, before performing any moves, search a token adjacent to her for free?

(2) Can Silhouette use her Heroic Feat to move ten spaces and THEN get a free search of an adjacent search token?

(3) Can she do both?

The real question behind these questions is:

What does "you move adjacent to [a token]" mean? Does it mean "when you enter a space adjacent to [a token]" or something else? if something else, what?

See an applicable diagram of the problem in my original post at http://boardgamegeek.com/article/11534679

FFG wrote:
In this case, "moved" is more or less equal to "entered," so she could search the token adjacent to her 10th space but not one that she began adjacent to (unless of course she moved into a different space adjacent to that token).

Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Martin
United States
Ellicott City
MD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
From this thread:

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/11537980#11537980

FFG wrote:
Unless the reroll skill/ability/etc specifically states that you can keep either the new result or the original, you have to keep the new results.

Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Martin
United States
Ellicott City
MD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.

Does Grey Ker get a complete second turn in the round in which he uses his heroic feat?

Quote:
Grey Ker does not get an entire turn structure for his second turn when using his hero ability. For his second turn, he only gets his second action.

Thanks,
Adam Sadler
Managing Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafal Areinu
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Rule Question:
f I use Defense Training instead of exhausting shield, can I still exhaust the same shield during the same attack? For example I would like to exhaust Defense Training to add +1 shield from Iron Shield, then exhaust Iron Shield to add another +1 shield.

If I roll 0 shields and overlord 3 hearts, and I'll use Defense Training instead of Shield of Dark God, and get 3 shields, can the overlord then play Dark Fortune to reroll one of his attack dice, to say, get 5? Can I then use Shield of Dark God to try and get 5 shields? Can the Overlord then respond by using Staff of Shadows to force me to reroll?

How long can we be rerolling? Is there any limit except Overlord being forbidden from playing two Dark Fortunes during single reroll? Do we have to declare all our rerolls before we start rerolling or can we add more rerolls as we see new results?


Quote:

Yes; there is nothing preventing the Knight from exhausting Defense Training and then exhausting the shield during the same attack.

Unless otherwise specified (as with Dark Fortune), there is no limit to the number of rerolls that can be applied to any given dice roll, and there's no need to "predeclare" how many rerolls you intend to use. If you need a specific order of effects and timing for when these rerolls must occur, refer to the Golden Rule. It's the active player's decision first.

If, for example, the active player chooses to pass, then the other player (in many cases the defender), may use his reroll. Then, if he wishes, he could reroll again assuming he had the ability to do so, or the active player could interrupt and force a reroll or reroll something of his own. Regardless any and all rerolls must be applied during the "Roll Dice" step. Yes, this means that, technically players wouldn't be able to check the range before deciding whether or not to reroll, but enforcement of such a thing seems a bit folly.

Rerolling does not necessarily need to be a specific back and forth, turn by turn affair. However, you could certainly impose that system (starting with a decision from the active player and alternating between the two players) if you wanted to if you're running into situations where players are getting into reroll chicken.

Hopefully this clears up some of the confusion.


Rule Question:
Familiar activation rules state:
"A hero player may activate each familiar his hero controls once during his hero turn (either before or after resolving all of his heroâ?Ts actions). Activating a familiar does not require an action, but it may not interrupt any other action. Essentially, a hero player with a familiar must choose whether to activate his hero first or his familiar first. Regardless, both may be activated during his turn."
What exactly is hero activation? It's never defined.

Is it possible to use fatigue points to move, then activate the familiar, then activate the hero to perform his 2 actions? Additional Movement section says only
"A hero may suffer fatigue to receive additional movement points during
his turn."
which leads me to believe heroes can do that during "Start of turn" or "Equip Items" steps.

Can hero use some abilities that are not actions before familiar's activation, then activate familiar, then activate himself?


Quote:

Yes. As long as the actions of the familiar and the actions of the hero player do not intermingle (unless otherwise specified in card effects), you would be able to use non-action skills or suffer fatigue before activating a familiar and then themselves.


Both from Justin Kemppainen.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Martin
United States
Ellicott City
MD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.

Here is a second reply from Just that has the same ruling, but slightly different language. Posting to help get more official language out there to explain.

QUESTION:

Given that the text of DT says you may exhaust the DT card *instead* of the shield, and given that the shields may be exhausted "after rolling defense dice," may a knight exhaust DT and then immediately exhaust the shield off of which DT was triggered during the same attack action?

Two different examples:

1) DT is used on iron shield to re-roll one defense die. Can the shield off of which DT was triggered be used to conduct a second reroll?

2) DT is used on wooden shield to add one shield to the results. Can the shield off of which DT was triggered be used to add another shield?

Sub-Questions:

A) Related to example 1, above, please explain the duration of the "after rolling [attack/defense] dice" condition in relationship to abilities that allow you to reroll some or all dice.

Specifically, does rerolling one or more of your defense/attack dice create a new "after rolling defense/attack dice" condition or is a reroll merely one event that happens during the "after rolling defense/attack dice" condition? (I.e., is "rerolling" the same as "rolling" or can we consider them as two different concepts so that a reroll does not create a new "after rolling" condition.)

B) Is there a way for one attack action to have more than one "after rolling the dice" condition/stage?

FFG's answer to a different question indicates that "rerolling" is not the same as "rolling" and that there is only ever ONE "after rolling dice" condition per attack action (barring any ability that creates a whole new "roll the dice anew" event):

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/11205601#11205601

Thanks for slogging through this one. I wanted to be detailed enough because the implications of this question are far-reaching.

For example, on the OL's turn, OL and Hero roll for an attack. 2 hearts and 2 shields show up. Then the OL uses Dark Fortune to re-roll an attack die to make it 3 hearts. If the rerolling of the attack dice by the OL creates a new "after rolling dice" condition, does that mean that the hero may not now use Wooden Shield whose triggering language is "after rolling *defense* dice" because on the last dice rolling event, only attack dice were rolled?

FFG wrote:
I just spent quite a while digging through this very same question from one of your fellow forum individuals.

Yes, there is nothing preventing Defense Training from being used to gain the effects of a shield twice in the same attack.

A) "After rolling dice" is a condition that persists throughout the "Roll Dice" step of combat, and there is a nice paragraph there that states that timing to be when players can apply rerolls. Now, this doesn't necessarily apply to situations outside of combat. (Healing rolls, etc), but in most cases that doesn't feature any sort of timing conflict. If it does, refer to the Golden Rule in which the active player decides.

B) Yes, unless otherwise specified (as in the case of Dark Fortune) different abilities/skills/etc can allow for multiple rerolls of the same die, and yes this *can* be a back and forth affair between the overlord and hero player. Any given reroll does not negate the timing window for other rerolls, but all of them must be decided upon and applied before moving on to the next step.

Yes, I understand this means that you technically need to decide to reroll before checking range, but for most gamers I believe this would be all-but impossible and perhaps a little silly to enforce.

Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin REEVE
Switzerland
St-Légier
Vaud
flag msg tools
Looking for a game session in Switzerland? Send me a pm!
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Monsters reinforcing at start of Overlord's turn time of activation
Question:
Only Fat Goblin's 1st encounter says that monsters reinforcing at the beginning of the Overlord's turn may be activated upon the turn they are placed on the map.
Does that apply to reinforcing monsters placed at the beginning of the Overlord's turn in all other quests (where nothing is said about when one can activate them)?

Answer (by Justin):
Unless otherwise mentioned, any group that reinforces at the start of the overlord's turn is able to activate during that turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Martin
United States
Ellicott City
MD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.

In the Shadow Vault quest, may the OL use "Unholy Ritual" on the monsters that are placed on the river edge when they cannot be activated?

Quote:
Yes, that is possible. Unfortunately, there is a fine distinction between "monsters that cannot activate" and "inactive monsters." Formal rules for inactive monsters (including an inability to play overlord cards on inactive monsters) were introduced in Lair of the Wyrm, and those rules apply during specified cases in those quests.

However, with the rules as written, there is nothing preventing the overlord from playing Unholy Ritual in cases such as the one found in "The Shadow Vault" quest.


From Justin at FFG.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sir slayer
msg tools
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Quote:
[Would 'Elder Mok' reover 1 damage/fatigue per hero affected? Ex. Staff of light.]
No. With his hero ability, Elder Mok recovers only 1 additional damage or fatigue even if 2 other heroes within 3 spaces would trigger the ability.

Quote:

[Does "Divine Fury" and "Holy Power" stack? Do both heroes get the yellow Dice?]
Yes, "Divine Fury" would stack with "Holy Power."


by Justin Kemppainen
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sir slayer
msg tools
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Conditions on blast ?
Quote:
Yes. If a surge is spent on blast and on a condition effect, then each figure affected by the attack would be affected by the condition as well (if the attack deals at least 1 damage after defense).


by Justin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sir slayer
msg tools
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Can the overlord hand back tier 1/2 cards while keeping the tier 3 card?
(Quest reward from act-2 quest)

Quote:
Yes, the requirement of having previous levels is only for the purchase of the level 3 overlord cards, not in keeping them. If the overlord wins that quest, he can keep a level 3 card while returning the lower level cards.


by Justin
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ND H
Indonesia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Q: What happens to Valor tokens between encounters? Or if the hero is KO'd? Do they stay or go?

Justin Kemppainen wrote:
Hey,

Valor tokens remain on a hero's Hero sheet between encounters but not between quests. They also remain if the hero is knocked out.

Thanks,
Justin Kemppainen
Creative Content Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoffrey Khoo
Singapore
flag msg tools
Re: "Adam and Justin Sez" thread - potentially official (not yet FAQ) answers to rules questions. READ FIRST POST for instructions, please.
Q: When Astarra moves using her ability, does she actually have to trace a path on the map to reach the target square, or just place herself adjacent to the hero?
Would monsters in between her and the hero block her movement? Would she suffer from effects such as lava or freezing? Can the OL pit trap her during this movement?

Justin Kemppainen wrote:
1) Astarra is removed and placed, so there are no terrain or obstacle effects to hinder that movement. However, she is entering an empty space, so the overlord could play a Pit Trap.


Q: Can Laughlin use his feat while stunned? Would he get 3 attacks or 2 attacks?

Justin Kemppainen wrote:
2) He would be able to use his Heroic Feat while Stunned, and he would get all 3 of the attacks. However, he would still have the Stunned condition and would have to perform an action to clear it at some later turn.


Q: What happens when a Summoned Stone or a Reanimate gets stunned?

Justin Kemppainen wrote:
3) As with anything else, a Summoned Stone or a Reanimate would have to spend an action to remove the Stunned condition. This might be the move action granted by familiar rules, or it might be the attack action granted by specific Skill cards.


Q: In a round hero A exhausts Mana Weave and trades it to hero B, who hasn't taken his turn yet. Would Mana Weave refresh on hero B's turn? By RAW Hero B is unable to equip the Mana Weave before it could refresh, but it is unclear if unequipped items refresh.

Justin Kemppainen wrote:
4) By the rules as written, the Mana Weave would refresh on hero B's turn.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
[1]  Prev «  1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [10] | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.