Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Patton's Best» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moving people around inside the tank rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony Cutcliffe
United Kingdom
Paignton
Devon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Is it possible to move the crew around inside the tank from one position to another, like it is in 'B-17, Queen of the Skies'? And if so, what effect does it have if the 'incorrect' crewman is at a new position?

For example, let's say the Driver isn't buttoned up and is hit by small-arms fire. Can the Assistant Driver move him out of the way and take over the driving?

[Edit] - Ah, just spotted Rule 19.22 - apparently the assistant driver can move around and do someone else's job but at half the rating. So, is he the only crewman that can move around?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Felipe Rodríguez Blázquez
Spain
Galapagar
28260 GALAPAGAR - SPAIN
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mmm I think there is no space in a sherman to move people around inside, and in the middle of the battle the situation is very caotic
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edwin David Bliss
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
mb
King_Drax_I wrote:
just spotted Rule 19.22 - apparently the assistant driver can move around and do someone else's job but at half the rating. So, is he the only crewman that can move around?


Apparently so ( in game terms ).

Given his Crew Action tasks and his job title, I believe he is the least required member of the Crew and therefore the best possible "Spare" crew member.

[ Perchance the Tank could operate without him at all, so long as no one gets injured / wounded, albeit the Bow MG would be useless. ]
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Orcinius Orca
England
flag msg tools
In Ken Tout's book Tank (required reading by the way) crew members swapped jobs.
The book is about 24 hours of battle in Normandy. Tout's tank starts off with 5 crew but the commander is wounded later in the battle. Tout is the gunner and as the next senior in rank become the commander. Now the assistant driver is supposed to come up and "gun". However he is useless at it. He closes his eyes just before he shoots! So the loader become the new gunner and the assitant driver becomes the new loader.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edwin David Bliss
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
mb
Interesting !

You note that the AD was the "first choice" sub. here, which agrees with the game initially / partially. As to the extra change-over re Gunner to Commander, and the subsequent further change-over, that's another story altogeather...

[ Perchance someone could come up with an optional rule or two re these anomalies ...? ]
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.