Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Age of Steam Expansion: Sun / London» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about Urbanization and FAQ rule #4. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
UA Darth
United States
Deerfield Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I plan to play London this week and I had 2 questions.

1. "4) Track builds may be started and/or ended by upgrading track in another player's track. It is not required that a track build be traceable through that SAME PLAYER'S track to a city. It is legal if the track traces back to a city via another player's track."

What exactly does this mean? If you upgrade another player's track into a complex route, how would that new route trace back anywhere unless you already had track leading up to it?

2. Urbanization can only be done if there is track on the town first. However, then it states, "(track may be built on the town in the same turn it is urbanised)."

How could it be done on the same turn? Urbanization happens before you build your track...

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
shadow9d9 wrote:
4) Track builds may be started and/or ended by
upgrading track in another player's track. It is not required that a
track build be traceable through that SAME PLAYER'S track to a city. It
is legal if the track traces back to a city via another player's track.


What exactly does this mean?


It is a rule from AoS:Sun, not AoS: London, and does not make sense without the rest of AoS:Sun's rules.

Quote:
2. Urbanization can only be done if there is track on the town first. However, then it states, "(track may be built on the town in the same turn it is urbanised)."

How could it be done on the same turn? Urbanization happens before you build your track...


There is no requirement in AoS as to when Urbanisation happens within the turn, or indeed that it happen at all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
UA Darth
United States
Deerfield Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
clearclaw wrote:
shadow9d9 wrote:
4) Track builds may be started and/or ended by upgrading track in another player's track. It is not required that a track build be traceable through that SAME PLAYER'S track to a city. It is legal if the track traces back to a city via another player's track.

What exactly does this mean?


It is a rule from AoS:Sun, not AoS: London, and does not make sense without the rest of AoS:Sun's rules.

Quote:
2. Urbanization can only be done if there is track on the town first. However, then it states, "(track may be built on the town in the same turn it is urbanised)."

How could it be done on the same turn? Urbanization happens before you build your track...


There is no requirement in AoS as to when Urbanisation happens within the turn, or indeed that it happen at all.



Regarding Urbanization:

From the AOS rules, 3rd edition, page 5: "This action allows this player to place one of the New City tiles on a Town before they build their track.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
AIR that limit is not present in the Winsome or Warfrog editions. The rule is written assuming that there is no ordering requirement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.