$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

The Napoleonic Wars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Interception after change of port control rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Sizemore
United States
Crown Point
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Section 13.9 states that if a port changes control, ships in the now enemy port put to sea where they are "subject to possible interception." This change of control can happen as an action during a nation's impulse or it could occur as the result of the attrition step after all impulses are concluded.

My question is this: Does this interception happen only during the (possibly subsequent) impulse of an active player? Or does any enemy ship in the sea zone adjacent to the port have the ability to intercept the ship leaving port as if this ship belong to the active player (Section 13.3)?

Example 1: The Russian player during his impulse uses his last CP to flag Rotterdam. A French ship is in the port of Rotterdam and is forced out of port into the North Sea where Russian, Swedish, and British ships (all members of the Coalition but not part of the same fleet) are waiting. Who can attempt intercept of the French ship and when?

Example 2: Same question as above, except the Russian formation in Rotterdam doesn't flag Rotterdam until the attrition phase after all impulses are over. Unless the intercept/naval battle occurs immediately, it seems that the French ships can escape any intercept in this case by simply leaving the sea zone when the next turn begins.

Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Shipley
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
the liberal unsavory type
mbmbmbmbmb
Intercepts are atempted as soon as a ship enters a sea zone. This is different from a patrol that happens on an active player's turn.

If the port is blockaded, the interceptor gets +1 on the roll. Evasion is not allowed. If the fleet forced out is intercepted and loses (or draws), it is always destroyed since it cannot return to the port.

1) In order of movement (starting with the current nation), the controlling power of each fleet/grand fleet in the sea zone gets an option to intercept (13.3).

2) It happens immediately, so it works the same way.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.