Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Angola» Forums » Rules

Subject: Switching column markers in the end phase of a turn? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Buhl
United States
Pittsfield
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
According to 8.1.3, I don't think you can swap column markers on the map (and thus, I've been playing the end phase wrong for a while), only combine columns or take a newly available off map column marker and place it. BUT, I think I read somewhere, either in a post here or errata, that it's actually OK to swap the markers. Can any one clarify that for me?

Thanks,
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordi Cairol
Australia
Brisbane
QLD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have the rules now but I would say you are right. At the end phase you can combine columns in the same area and put off-board column markers on units on map (including the new available from combining columns), but you cannot swap markers. Again, from memory, not having checked the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark of carnage
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
You can't do straight swaps of column markers but you can merge some or all forces and/or columns that are in the same region and remove column markers from the region to offmap when a merge is done. You can also place offmap columns onto forces in a region.

With some canny play it is possible in some situations to do these actions in such a way that you are essentially swapping column markers around. Doing this might be considered gamey by some but appears legit.

The column management reference sheet that Cisco posted gives a good summary of what you can and can't do.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, you can't directly swap column markers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.