Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Angola» Forums » Rules

Subject: Suppression rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jordi Cairol
Australia
Brisbane
QLD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In our last game, a question that never had had place before arouse. The situation, after one round and 'combat continues' choice, was that one faction had two units: a full strengh 5 brigade and a suppressed infantry.
In the second round, the enemy artillery remaining shot for one miss and one suppress results. The question is: can the already suppressed unit absorb the new suppress result (by the rule that 2 suppressions can be converted into one hit), or should the fresh unit be suppressed instead?
The discussion came while considering if the 2 suppression = 1 hit rule can be carried between two different rounds (or two different shots to generalise) or not, as it seems that nothing is said in the rules.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Gautier

Rhinebeck
New York
msg tools
The combat results are for that particular roll of the dice and cannot be carried over.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark of carnage
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Dieroll Honker wrote:
The combat results are for that particular roll of the dice and cannot be carried over.


Jon

Does what you have said mean that if you roll an air strike with 4 dice and get, for example, 3 suppresssions and a miss, you can take 1 hit and 1 suppression? Then, if in the same battle you roll 2 dice from an artillery strike and take only 1 suppression result, the suppression result must be taken on an unsuppressed unit and if all units are already suppressed has no effect?

I think, up till now, I've been playing this wrong by assuming that a suppressed unit can absorb a suppression as a hit even if it happens on a different dice roll as long as it is in the same battle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Gautier

Rhinebeck
New York
msg tools
You have been playing it wrong. Apply the results of each combat step (artillery, air strike, etc.) and move on. There is no memory from one step to the next.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.