Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Republic of Rome» Forums » Rules

Subject: RoR: beginner questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bill Olinger

Loma Linda
California
msg tools
I have a few questions after having played RoR a few times solo (Valley Games Edition).

Can a senator who is not in Rome (in battle or a governor of a Province out of Rome), be appointed to a major office or be made sponsor/cosponsor of a land bill? If, for example, a dictator was out to war the turn before but was not victorious in battle and was made a Proconsul, could he be reappointed dictator the turn after his defeat while he is not in Rome, all before being recalled so he can fight the war with his MIL Master of Horse?

If during the Senate Phase, a senator who was just made a major office position were assassinated (leaving no dictator, for example), is another senator immediately appointed to the vacant office (the same turn that the assassinated dictator was made dictator), or must a senator wait until the next Senate phase?

In the solitaire/two player sequence of play, some steps are removed that are in the normal play summary (moving imminent wars in the mortality phase and removing expired event cards in the Forum Phase are both omitted). Are they not needed or are their missing steps expected to still be performed?

How does the Sicilian Grain Concession card work?

What happens to a faction leader when he dies (family card and faction statesman)?

Is an unprosecuted war that was not defeated the turn after becoming unprosecuted but that now has the required minimum fleet support and legions and was fought, moved to the active war section, or is it once unprosecuted, always unprosecuted?

Where do eliminated wars go?

When becoming Proconsul, does the holder of the major office lose his former position (for example, an F. C. becoming Proconsul)?

Can anyone explain what 1.11.3 (declaration of Civil War) means when it says that “once a rebel is determined, no other player may revolt until that rebel has been defeated” after it says what to do if a new rebel comes along with a stronger force than a “previously declared rebel.” It says the initial rebel’s declaration is ignored if the faction that wishes to revolt fields a stronger force than that of a previously declared rebel. It makes no sense if once a rebel is determined, no other player may revolt. Are revolting and being a rebel two separate things?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Bachman
United States
Colonie
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bolinger1 wrote:
I have a few questions after having played RoR a few times solo (Valley Games Edition).

Can a senator who is not in Rome (in battle or a governor of a Province out of Rome), be appointed to a major office or be made sponsor/cosponsor of a land bill? If, for example, a dictator was out to war the turn before but was not victorious in battle and was made a Proconsul, could he be reappointed dictator the turn after his defeat while he is not in Rome, all before being recalled so he can fight the war with his MIL Master of Horse?

No, the Senator must be in Rome during the Senate phase to participate.

bolinger1 wrote:
If during the Senate Phase, a senator who was just made a major office position were assassinated (leaving no dictator, for example), is another senator immediately appointed to the vacant office (the same turn that the assassinated dictator was made dictator), or must a senator wait until the next Senate phase?

An office vacated by assassination is not filled until the following Senate phase.

bolinger1 wrote:
In the solitaire/two player sequence of play, some steps are removed that are in the normal play summary (moving imminent wars in the mortality phase and removing expired event cards in the Forum Phase are both omitted). Are they not needed or are their missing steps expected to still be performed?

I'm not sure why they would be omitted.

bolinger1 wrote:
How does the Sicilian Grain Concession card work?

Like all Concessions, money is collected during the Revenue phase. Droughts can cause an increase is revenue. Not sure what the exact question is though.

bolinger1 wrote:
What happens to a faction leader when he dies (family card and faction statesman)?

Statesmen are sent to the discard pile. Family cards are wiped clean and returned to the faction with original, printed values.

bolinger1 wrote:
Is an unprosecuted war that was not defeated the turn after becoming unprosecuted but that now has the required minimum fleet support and legions and was fought, moved to the active war section, or is it once unprosecuted, always unprosecuted?

A War is Unprosecuted when it is Active but not fought. Once it is assigned an army/navy to fight it, it becomes Active and Prosecuted as long as it had a force fighting it during the Combat phase.

bolinger1 wrote:
Where do eliminated wars go?

Discard pile.

bolinger1 wrote:
When becoming Proconsul, does the holder of the major office lose his former position (for example, an F. C. becoming Proconsul)?

Yes.

bolinger1 wrote:
Can anyone explain what 1.11.3 (declaration of Civil War) means when it says that “once a rebel is determined, no other player may revolt until that rebel has been defeated” after it says what to do if a new rebel comes along with a stronger force than a “previously declared rebel.” It says the initial rebel’s declaration is ignored if the faction that wishes to revolt fields a stronger force than that of a previously declared rebel. It makes no sense if once a rebel is determined, no other player may revolt. Are revolting and being a rebel two separate things?

A faction can only revolt if (a) there isn't an undefeated rebel from the prior turn; and (b) their force is stronger than any other revolting faction. If multiple factions revolt in the same turn, only the strongest becomes the rebel. Once that rebel is determined, no other faction - even with a stronger force - can revolt until the rebel is defeated.

Hope this helps. All of this is based off of the AH version. To the best of my knowledge, the answers are the same for the VG version.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Olinger

Loma Linda
California
msg tools
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your reply! My question about the "Sicilian grain" card as well as the "Egyptian grain" card (my question applies to both) is the text under the "XT/turn line." It says "voluntary x2 grain concession income and -2 popularity if drought in effect. +1 income multiplier and -1 popularity per additional drought effect." So if you would receive 4T during the revenue phase for the concession, is that multiplied to x2 voluntarily and you would receive -2 popularity if the drought is in effect? If that is correct you would gain 8T. What is the "l+1 income multiplier?" Would you then gain 9T and all other concessions gain +1T and each Senator gains +1T? What is the "-1 popularity for additional drought effect?" Are they in addition to the first drought (if say, three droughts were in effect), and the first drought caused -2 popularity already, and is the first drought that caused the -2 popularity applied only to the -2 popularity? Are all of the parts of the card voluntary in its entirety (for instance the x2 grain concession is voluntary and if you do take the x2 income you have to take the +1 income and additional -1 popularity), or is the only voluntary part the first sentence (x2 income and -2 popularity) and the +1 income and -1 popularity need not be used (you can do part if you choose)?

Thanks for your help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corbon Loughnan
Indonesia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bolinger1 wrote:
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your reply! My question about the "Sicilian grain" card as well as the "Egyptian grain" card (my question applies to both) is the text under the "XT/turn line." It says "voluntary x2 grain concession income and -2 popularity if drought in effect. +1 income multiplier and -1 popularity per additional drought effect." So if you would receive 4T during the revenue phase for the concession, is that multiplied to x2 voluntarily and you would receive -2 popularity if the drought is in effect? If that is correct you would gain 8T. What is the "l+1 income multiplier?" Would you then gain 9T and all other concessions gain +1T and each Senator gains +1T? What is the "-1 popularity for additional drought effect?" Are they in addition to the first drought (if say, three droughts were in effect), and the first drought caused -2 popularity already, and is the first drought that caused the -2 popularity applied only to the -2 popularity? Are all of the parts of the card voluntary in its entirety (for instance the x2 grain concession is voluntary and if you do take the x2 income you have to take the +1 income and additional -1 popularity), or is the only voluntary part the first sentence (x2 income and -2 popularity) and the +1 income and -1 popularity need not be used (you can do part if you choose)?

Thanks for your help!


You always get 4T during the revenue phase.
If there is a drought, for each drought (there can be several), you can choose to raise prices (supply and demand you know!) and get double, or triple your cash or more (an extra 4T per drought - its +1 to the multiplier, not +1)). But if you do that, you will of course be unpopular - the same negative popularity as the final multiplier yuou choose.

No Drought
4T, no pop penalty

1 drought
4T, no pop penalty OR 8T, -2 pop

2 droughts
4T, no pop penalty OR 12T, -3pop

3 droughts
4T, no pop penalty OR 16T, -4pop
...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Bachman
United States
Colonie
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Corbon. I had intended to revisit this thread to respond but it fell off the radar.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Olinger

Loma Linda
California
msg tools
Steve,

Thanks again, sorry it took so long for me to check back for your response.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.