Subject: 1st try, horrible failure rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aernout Casier
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello All,
I had been sitting on my copy of this game for roughly ten years when, last weekend, me and my mates finally decided to give it a try. It was, to put it mildly, not a huge success. We were defeated before we completed Helm's Deep.
Now we have been looking at the rules for an explanation (surely, we must have done something wrong) but cannot find it.
- There were 5 of us
- We kept turning over tiles until the current player was able to move on one of the tracks (but Sauron came close really quickly)
- We tried not to race down the centre path, but collect hearts/sons/rings
Where did we go wrong?
Thanks in advance!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
W M Shubert
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
KGS is the #1 web site for playing go over the internet. Visit now!
badge
Yes, I really am that awesome.
mbmbmbmbmb
AernoutMJC wrote:
Where did we go wrong?
There's your answer. Racing down the center path is a decent strategy. Missing a few hearts, suns, and rings is no big deal, but the later events on many boards are disasters. Move fast down the center path and you'll do a lot better.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wally Jones
United States
Windermere
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't feel too bad.

That is the normal for this game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly Bass
United States
Venice
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
On your first game, you would be disappointed if you won... I hope.

Agree with the advice about not worrying about every little Life Token (Ring, Sun, Heart). Just get through the scenarios. If you're doing terrible on a scenario (a bunch of Events come out first thing), consider getting through the scenario via 6 Events and on each turn just Draw 2 Hobbit cards or Heal.