$10.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Omba» Forums » Rules

Subject: Playing piece which is standing on top of another playing piece rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tiago Duarte
Portugal
2870-122 Montijo
flag msg tools
:-)))
badge
We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.
mbmbmbmbmb
If I have a playing piece which is standing on top of another playing piece, can I move it to the top of another playing piece passing through an empty space?

Take the following image as an example:

If I roll a 2 on the die, can I move the left white piece (the one that it is at the top of green piece) 2 spaces to the right ending on the top of the other white piece (the one at the right on the image)? Or do I have to move it one space to the right and one space down?

Thanks
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mousey
Netherlands
Santpoort-Zuid
a nice small town near the sea
flag msg tools
ESSEN The Game: SPIEL '13 Featuring Jonah
badge
RWC2015: Can't wait for it to start.
mbmbmbmbmb
No, with a 2 you could move it to the middle bottom empty space.
So, one right and one down.
to move to the other white piece you would need a 4.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hilko Drude
Germany
Goettingen
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
What are you doing!? I don't even know you!
mbmbmbmbmb
Mousey is correct, that is how it is played.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tiago Duarte
Portugal
2870-122 Montijo
flag msg tools
:-)))
badge
We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for your answers
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joacim Norberg
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Except that you can't get there with a four either, because it means that you must pass through the same area twice, which is not allowed by the rules!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martijn Althuizen
Netherlands
Helmond
Noord Brabant
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
@m_a_r_t_ij_n
badge
@m_a_r_t_ij_n
mbmbmbmbmb
Nintendogeek88 wrote:
Except that you can't get there with a four either, because it means that you must pass through the same area twice, which is not allowed by the rules!


This rule doesn't apply to 'floating positions', so moving onto the cube on the right is allowed.

The official rules state that the rule only applies to the squares of the board. We also apply it to positions on top of other cubes though, but not to floating positions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hilko Drude
Germany
Goettingen
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
What are you doing!? I don't even know you!
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed. You can enter a field, go down, then go up again and leave it. It is still the same field. You just cannot return once you left it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bishop of East Anglia
New Zealand
Christchurch
i actually live in Wellington
flag msg tools
I'm, I'm afraid there's been a mistake. The man who has been speaking to you is an impostor. He is not in fact the Bishop of East Anglia, but a man wanted by the police. I am the Bishop of East Anglia and anyone who doesn't believe me can look me up
badge
Golden Camel !!!
mbmbmbmbmb
I was excited to see this thread as I thought it was a the BGG chapter of the Royal Society for Putting Things On Top Of Other Things

2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike toober
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Mousey wrote:
No, with a 2 you could move it to the middle bottom empty space.
So, one right and one down.
to move to the other white piece you would need a 4.


But for shipping containers being moved by a crane, this goes against the Docker theme. A crane would naturally move the container across the empty space and into the next space without wasting time setting it down first.??
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hilko Drude
Germany
Goettingen
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
What are you doing!? I don't even know you!
mbmbmbmbmb
True. Well, we designed this as an abstract originally... just imagine there is a power-out and the workers move the crates by hand. Heavy stuff, need to put it down between stacks. Sorry for not having a better explanation. You are welcome to try it out with different rules and let us know the results, though!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.