Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Angola» Forums » Rules

Subject: Continuing combat and joint defense questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Igor Zacharjasz
Poland
Jablonna
Mazowieckie
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,
I have a question about combat continuation. Lets say that two factions are fighting and combat was not resolved. Both players decided to stay and continue the fight. During next card play one of the players played column movement and move some units to area where combat continues. How to resolve this second combat? Which forces will be taking part in new combat?

Second question - when two allied factions are defending should I add their combat strength or only one faction will conduct the defense?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. R. Tracy
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb


Igor, a given combat cannot end with opposing factions occupying the same area. If the 'Combat Continues' result occurs, the Attacker can either voluntarily end the combat by retreating, or eliminate an unsuppressed unit to keep fighting. If he chooses the latter, the Defender must do the same or retreat (this is all laid out in 9.11.8). Conceivably you could generate a series of Combat Continues results until the matter is resolved. Regardless, one side or the other will solely occupy the area before you move on to the next card play.

JR
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. R. Tracy
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Igorekz wrote:

Second question - when two allied factions are defending should I add their combat strength or only one faction will conduct the defense?



Sorry, missed this bit - all the defending units fight. Whichever faction has the most units conducts the defense, with FNLA and FAPLA winning ties (see 9.2).

JR
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Igor Zacharjasz
Poland
Jablonna
Mazowieckie
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Got it. Thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
Igorekz wrote:
Got it. Thanks.


Look at combat rules - each side that agrees to stay and fight loses a unit and then odds are re calculated and the battle resolved.
GREAT GAME!!!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Note also that if 2 factions defend together, the faction with the most units (FNLA and FPLA in case of ties) takes control of all the defenders, assigns losses, and decides whether to retreat when a combat continues result occurs.

The defending faction leader may change with the combat continues losses.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Mowat
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jrtracy wrote:
Igorekz wrote:

Second question - when two allied factions are defending should I add their combat strength or only one faction will conduct the defense?



Sorry, missed this bit - all the defending units fight. Whichever faction has the most units conducts the defense, with FNLA and FAPLA winning ties (see 9.2).

JR


Related to this question/answer. If you have two factions defending the same space and both have airpower, can both commit their air units to the battle even though only one member of the faction assumes the defense?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. R. Tracy
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DarkFib3r wrote:
jrtracy wrote:
Igorekz wrote:

Second question - when two allied factions are defending should I add their combat strength or only one faction will conduct the defense?



Sorry, missed this bit - all the defending units fight. Whichever faction has the most units conducts the defense, with FNLA and FAPLA winning ties (see 9.2).

JR


Related to this question/answer. If you have two factions defending the same space and both have airpower, can both commit their air units to the battle even though only one member of the faction assumes the defense?


Yes, both defenders can commit air groups if they have them available. See the last sentence of the first paragraph of 9.6.2.

JR
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Mowat
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick response. It's right there in 9.6.2:

Quote:
...if there are two Factions defending, both commit and reveal
airgroups following this procedure.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.