$10.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Venture» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reorging multiple times in a single turn rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rich Furst
United States
Deerfield
IL
flag msg tools
If you choose to re-org multiple times in a single turn, do you have to pay the re-org each time. What if a person has 10 corps, pays 10 mil to re-org, buys another corp from the middle and decides to re-org, in the same turn. He now has 11 corps, so would he have to pay 11 mil for the 11 corps, or 1 more mil added to the 10 he was already obliged to pay, for the 11th corp?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall Bart
United States
Winnetka
California
flag msg tools
designer
Baseball been bery bery good to me
badge
This is a picture of a published game designer
mbmbmbmbmb
You reorg once during your turn. You can reorg at any point, and the cost is the number of cards you have at that point. If you have nine cards, you could buy a card, reorg, then buy another card, laying that final card on top of an existing stack. That would cost $10 for the reorg, because you had 10 cards when you reorged.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron
United States
Huntington Beach
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Barticus88 wrote:
You reorg once during your turn. You can reorg at any point, and the cost is the number of cards you have at that point. If you have nine cards, you could buy a card, reorg, then buy another card, laying that final card on top of an existing stack. That would cost $10 for the reorg, because you had 10 cards when you reorged.


Why wouldn't anybody just spend $9 before he bought a new card?

And according to my rules you can reorg as many times as you want during your turn.

Are you saying that you can reorg as many times as you want but only have to pay for it once?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall Bart
United States
Winnetka
California
flag msg tools
designer
Baseball been bery bery good to me
badge
This is a picture of a published game designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Magrot wrote:
Why wouldn't anybody just spend $9 before he bought a new card?

If you buy the 10th card after the reorg it has to be laid on top. If you want to bury the new card under other cards, you need to buy it before the reorg.

Magrot wrote:
And according to my rules you can reorg as many times as you want during your turn.

When you reorg, you pick up all your cards and lay them down in the order you want. There is no plausible reason to do that twice in the same turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron
United States
Huntington Beach
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Barticus88 wrote:

When you reorg, you pick up all your cards and lay them down in the order you want. There is no plausible reason to do that twice in the same turn.


No plausible reason for it, but according to the rules you can. The rulebook makes it look like everything is laid out in steps or it's poorly written.

Quote:
During each turn, a player can make as many of these transactions he wishes and in any order.


Why not say taking corps, forming conglomerates and playing proxy fights, you can do as much as you want, but reorganizing you only do once.




 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan King (The Game Boy Geek)
United States
Gilbert
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The new Gryphon rules are not so clear here either:

Reorganization is the big profit maker. At any time during his turn, a player can reorganize his holdings in any way he chooses - providing all Corporations in each conglomerate are from different industries and have at least 1 letter in common. The cost of reorganization is 1 million for each corporation the player has at the time he reorganizes, regardless of how many changes he makes. (Thus a player with 13 Corporations pays 13 million to move only one card).

It could be read here that you can reorganize as many times, but you can only move 1 card for the price to re-org.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall Bart
United States
Winnetka
California
flag msg tools
designer
Baseball been bery bery good to me
badge
This is a picture of a published game designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule writers didn't go out of their way to specify that you can't do two reorgs in one turn, but there is no rational reason anyone would want to.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Caleb
United States
Seminole
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Barticus88 wrote:
The rule writers didn't go out of their way to specify that you can't do two reorgs in one turn, but there is no rational reason anyone would want to.


Right, because anything you paid for the FIRST re-org would be completely wasted, since you can move ALL your cards around every time you re-org.

If you're under the (incorrect) assumption that you can only move 1 card when re-orging, then I guess you might think it makes sense to re-org multiple times. But that's wrong since you can freely re-arrange ALL your cards with a single re-org.

It would be completely over-priced if you could only move 1 card around.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.