Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Saint Petersburg» Forums » Rules

Subject: Adding card to hand (upgrade phase) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andre Lucato
Brazil
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to rest assure, during upgrade phase, can I add a card to my hand as long as I displace an already placed card, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Bateson
United Kingdom
Ross-on-Wye
flag msg tools
Oi! Hands off...
mbmbmbmbmb
On your turn, you can add a card to your hand OR play out a card from your hand, paying its costs. You don't do both simultaneously.

You cannot just discard a card to make room for a new one. And of course you can never exceed the 3-card hand limit.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
ousgg wrote:
And of course you can never exceed the 3-card hand limit.


Unless you have bought and hold the Warehouse.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Bateson
United Kingdom
Ross-on-Wye
flag msg tools
Oi! Hands off...
mbmbmbmbmb
Big Bad Lex wrote:

Unless you have bought and hold the Warehouse.


I knew some pedant would say that.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andre Lucato
Brazil
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey guys! Sorry! I´d better rephrase the question.

I meant, during the TRADING PHASE, am I allowed to place a card from my hand to my player area by displacing to the discard pile one of my already placed cards (and also also paying the cost difference) ?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Bateson
United Kingdom
Ross-on-Wye
flag msg tools
Oi! Hands off...
mbmbmbmbmb
Only if the card you are playing is an Upgrade card (with the multi-coloured backs) of the appropriate colour.

You can never upgrade a 'normal' card to another 'normal' card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam O'Brien
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Even Cleverer Overtext
badge
The Hellfish Bonanza!!!
mbmbmbmbmb
ousgg wrote:
Only if the card you are playing is an Upgrade card (with the multi-coloured backs) of the appropriate colour.

You can never upgrade a 'normal' card to another 'normal' card.


Nor can you upgrade an "upgrade" card for another "upgrade" card
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andre Lucato
Brazil
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Ben!

And also have a great New Year everyone!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
ousgg wrote:
Big Bad Lex wrote:

Unless you have bought and hold the Warehouse.


I knew some pedant would say that.


Who needs rules in games huh?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Zaleski
United States
Wintersville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm more confused than I was before. Glad you're satisfied though
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Collins
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
During ANY phase, you can:

(a) buy an upgrade card from the board, and use it to replace a card of the same colour in your tableau, paying the difference in cost, OR

(b) buy an upgrade card from your hand, and use it to replace a card of the same colour in your tableau, paying the difference in cost

It doesn't matter if it's the upgrade phase or not; both these things are possible in any phase. You can buy any card during any phase, either from the board or from your hand.

As a third option, if it is the builder phase, and if you have an Observatory, you can:

(c) buy the top upgrade card from the draw pile of upgrade cards, and use it to replace a card of the same colour in your tableau, paying the difference in cost.
3 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andre Lucato
Brazil
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wait wait wait! Now I see it.
I though that during the reavealing of upgrade cards, this was considered an UPGRADE PHASE, where you were allowed ONLY to upgrade cards.
Now it all makes sense. I had been playing it completely wrong. blush

Thanks, Mike!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Collins
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
You're welcome Have fun!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.