$10.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Dominion: Dark Ages» Forums » Rules

Subject: confused about knights cards??? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jesse hicks
msg tools
it says only one knights card may be gained but then how do you trash other knights cards? is this just a misprint and you are allowed to get other knights cards? confused and just waiting to understand fully before i play a game with that card
THANKS

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Schumann
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Welcome aboard Jesse!

What says only one knights card may be gained?

The rules for the knights pile is that you shuffle them, place them face down with the other kingdom cards, and turn over the top one. You can't buy or gain anything but that top card, but once someone does, you turn over the next, so the pile can be emptied just like any other pile.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve L

Massachusetts
msg tools
When you gain a Knight card, you may only gain the TOP card from the Knights pile. You can't rummage through the whole stack of Knight cards and choose the Knight you like best. You have to wait to gain your favorite Knight until they reach the top, and someone else may be able to gain them before you have a chance to do so.

To use an analogy, if you're playing draw poker and choose to draw a card you'll receive whatever card is on top of the deck. You can't look through the deck and grab the ace of spades or whatever you need to get a really good hand.

Now once someone's gained the top card of the Knight stack, the card that's now at the top of the stack is turned over immediately and may be gained.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As to comments about rummaging through the Knight card pile and buy one directly not on top, I'm sure the other intention was that you're not allowed to peek at what's coming up from the 2nd card from the top and down. I'm sure some people would use knowledge that the 2VP knight is on the very bottom of the pile to determine what to do in the course of the game, which may slow things down.

jessehicks wrote:
it says only one knights card may be gained but then how do you trash other knights cards? is this just a misprint and you are allowed to get other knights cards? confused and just waiting to understand fully before i play a game with that card
THANKS


Subtext from a knight card... When you play a knight card, other players reveal 2 cards. If there's at least one card that costs 3-6, the attacked player chooses 1 of those cards to trash. If the trashed card was a knight, then the attacking player also trashes his own knight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benj Davis
Australia
Summer Hill
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can only gain the top card of the stack. You can't look at the other cards in the stack. I think it's as simple as that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennison Milenkaya
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jesse, it may help to know why the Knight card has that rule.

It is due to the normal Dominion rules not limiting this normally. You see, if you were to buy or otherwise gain a Militia from the supply, you could, if you desired, take the bottom card of the Militia pile. The rulebook only says you get one from the pile and doesn't specify which. That's because it doesn't really matter which one you get; they're all the same in every pile.

So Knights and Ruins, the only piles that have different cards within them, state this rule. Up until now, it never occurred, but we also tend to not notice that it was never specified because the natural impulse is to simply take the top card of any stack. It is easier, intuitive, and follows the rules for every other card-drawing game ever made.

But if Knights and Ruins didn't have this rule, someone would get real clever (or ornery, depending on your point-of-view) and gain a card from the middle of the stack. Being face-down and unsearchable isn't enough to stop people from drawing blindly, if they knew the top card wasn't what they want.

The short answer is, don't worry about that rule. If it seems weird to you, then you aren't the player it is intended to curb. Just play as you think you ought to be, because you are probably doing it right.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jesse hicks
msg tools
wowmeeple THANKS EVERYONE!!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.