We ran into this problem last night which is not mentioned in the rules. Two players finished tied in the Senate with the same total. One person started on the five space and had two votes in tokens for a total of 7. Another player was on the two space and had five votes in tokens. They are tied with seven. The question is who is on top and who is on the bottom. In what order are the pieces moved?
The pieces are not moved at all, you leave the two players on the 5 and 2 vote space on the senate track, but add the vote tiles to their totals. Both end up with 7 votes, so the winner is the person who was furthest advanced on the senate track (the player with 5 votes).