Imperial » Rules » Tax revenue and power points

Author: Psauberer
Are power points calculated from the gross tax revenue (as is the bonus for the government) or the net revenue (i.e. what is actually paid to the country's treasury?

If a country has a gross tax revenue of 10 and 4 military units in the field how many power points does it receive?
Sun Jan 21, 2007 6:01 am
Author: Great Dane
Tax Money and Power Points have nothing to do with each other (other than being effects of Taxation).

You will always increase your level of Power Points with the bonus (+n) listed on the level of Taxation.

Troop maintenance is from the Tax money before it is paid into the Treasury independant from the Power Points - or the player's Tax revenue bonus for that matter.


See the example in the rules, page 11, top
Sun Jan 21, 2007 9:01 am
Author: Psauberer
Thanks, Mik.

I just read a review that said, "In fact, you have to resist the temptation to play this as a wargame since building armies and fleets impacts negatively on your tax revenue slowing down a nation's advancement on the Counting chart and stunting the growth of Victory Points for investors in that power."

This seemed to imply that the net tax revenue was what counted for moving a country on the Counting chart and I was wondering if we had been playing it wrong. The example you refer to makes it clear that we were doing it correctly.
Sun Jan 21, 2007 2:35 pm
Author: out4blood
Just to clarify some terms.

Tax revenue. Calculated by adding factories and tax chips. This number is what moves the country's marker on the tax chart, enabling success bonus for good government, and for determing added power points. This is step A of Taxation. (Armies and navies have no impact on this number.)

Income. This is tax revenue minus maintenance costs for each army and navy ($1 million each). This is what is paid into the country's treasury. This is step B "collecting money".

Step C of Taxation is the addition of power points on the track, but you use the number from the tax chart determined in step A.



Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:55 pm
Author: MULRAH
Psauberer wrote:
Are power points calculated from the gross tax revenue (as is the bonus for the government) or the net revenue (i.e. what is actually paid to the country's treasury?

If a country has a gross tax revenue of 10 and 4 military units in the field how many power points does it receive?


Woe to those who get this wrong! We did, resulting in a couple excruciatingly long sessions as countries continually failed to move up on the Power Track even after several Taxations. I nearly gave up on this game. I wonder how many of the players who drop this game due to the length of their first play got this rule wrong.
Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:32 pm