Saint Petersburg » Rules » Observatory and Upgrade

Author: Charliechuckleberry
Can you use an observatory and after tapping it. Upgrade that same observatory?

I played that you cannot upgrade a tapped observatory.
Tue Mar 20, 2012 4:12 am
Author: JuliaZ
Charliechuckleberry wrote:
Can you use an observatory and after tapping it. Upgrade that same observatory?

I played that you cannot upgrade a tapped observatory.

Our house rule is that a tapped building of any kind can be upgraded at any time, but it has to be discarded afterwards. Tap it - use it - upgrade it - discard it (don't use it again!)
buildingtrade

I must admit though that upgrading an Observatory is considered suicide in our games of SP. They are probably the most hotly sought-after buildings!
JAZ

P.S. There's nothing in the rules to prohibit upgrading a tapped building, even in the same turn (by paying for an upgrade you've held in your hand from a previous round).
Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:12 am
Author: ZiggyZambo
"P.S. There's nothing in the rules to prohibit upgrading a tapped building, even in the same turn"

Actually there is, in newer printings. A special sheet is included with rule clarifications, and it is specifically forbidden.
Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:34 am
Author: JuliaZ
ZiggyZambo wrote:
"P.S. There's nothing in the rules to prohibit upgrading a tapped building, even in the same turn"

Actually there is, in newer printings. A special sheet is included with rule clarifications, and it is specifically forbidden.

Interesting! I think we have a first-run edition, which of course doesn't have that clarifications sheet. I'll have to see if I can find it and print it out, though, bummer. yuk

JAZ
Tue Mar 20, 2012 7:54 am
Author: drmark64
Thanks for pointing out the new printing. I am glad for that clarification.
Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:42 pm
Author: Masakari
Sorry, you played wrong. The rules says: "Eine umgedrehte Sternwarte kann nicht ausgetauscht werden." = A used Observatory cannot used for an exchange/upgrade." See http://www.hans-im-glueck.de/fileadmin/data_archive/Regeln/S..., penultimate sentence.

Same for "Schuldturm" = "Debtor's Prision"
Tue Apr 10, 2012 2:08 pm
Author: Barticus88
When is the observatory untapped? At the end of the building phase or at the beginning of the next one?
Tue Apr 10, 2012 4:59 pm
Author: UnknownParkerBrother
This is why you should follow the rules, which specifically tell you to turn the card over, not tap it. A card you can't see obviously can't be upgraded, since there's no visible cost any more.

Randall, it's next round.

Quote:
In each case, he turns the observatory card over and will score no points for it.

To begin the next round, he turns it face-up so it is again available for scoring or its special ability.
Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:34 pm
Author: Barticus88
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:
Randall, it's next round.

Round? So I tap turn the Observatory over in the building phase. In the subsequent upgrade phase, I pick up a building and put it in my hand. I can't upgrade the Observatory yet. Then we slide cards down, pass the gold tokens around untap turn the Observatory face up, and now I can upgrade the Observatory during the peasant worker phase. This is surprising behavior. Not that anyone in his right mind would upgrade an observatory.
Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:10 pm
Author: Charliechuckleberry
In yucata.de, it untaps after the building phase. This allows you to upgrade an observatory during the philosopher phase, or later. If by some crazy circumstance, there might be a reason to upgrade an observatory. 1 in a trillion games, NOPE, I actually lost that game when I did it.

Ok, silly rule, not worth fighting over. Let the fool upgrade his/her observatory during teh philosopher or square card phase.
Wed Apr 11, 2012 9:42 am
Author: Masakari
Each round has 4 phases: 1st Workers, 2nd Buildings, 3rd Aristocrates and 4rth Upgrade Cards. After finishing the 4rth phase all players give the startplayer-tokens to the next left, turn the buildings face up, if there are turned ones and the next round starts.

Very easy
Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:09 pm
Author: JeffyJeff
Charliechuckleberry wrote:
Can you use an observatory and after tapping it. Upgrade that same observatory?

note there was already a thread on this subject

upgrading the observatory
Tue Aug 14, 2012 4:16 pm