Snow Tails » Rules » Bonus movement and crashing into another sled

Author: 3eyedsnake
I know you either have to, use all of, or none of your bonus movement. But if another sled would prevent you from using all of your bonus, can you still crash into the back of it and not use your full bonus?
Thu Jun 14, 2012 1:52 pm
Author: Colorado_Jeff
The rule states "A player must decide whether to take all or none of the bonus- it cannot be partially taken."

If another sled blocks that full movement, it cannot be taken. We often position ourselves in front of other people to prevent their use of a bonus movement.

Thu Jun 14, 2012 2:02 pm
Author: chally
Colorado_Jeff wrote:
The rule states "A player must decide whether to take all or none of the bonus- it cannot be partially taken."

If another sled blocks that full movement, it cannot be taken. We often position ourselves in front of other people to prevent their use of a bonus movement.


Hmmm. It's been awhile since I have played, but I would have expected the opposite answer. I'll be interested to see if anyone chimes in with other interpretations.
Thu Jun 14, 2012 2:12 pm
Author: Colorado_Jeff
chally wrote:
Colorado_Jeff wrote:
The rule states "A player must decide whether to take all or none of the bonus- it cannot be partially taken."

If another sled blocks that full movement, it cannot be taken. We often position ourselves in front of other people to prevent their use of a bonus movement.


Hmmm. It's been awhile since I have played, but I would have expected the opposite answer. I'll be interested to see if anyone chimes in with other interpretations.


I'm curious why you'd expect something different. I can't find any exceptions at all to the bonus movement rule.
Thu Jun 14, 2012 2:18 pm
Author: Dystopian
Well, you have to use up all of your normal movement, but you can still voluntarily use another sled to stop beforehand. I don't see how it would be different for bonus movement.

While I can understand your interpretation based on the rules as written, I'm definitely leaning on the "allowed" side here.

In other words, you *are* using your full bonus of +3 movement, but due to external factors this bonus doesn't convert into as many spaces, same as when you crash against a wall/corner and your turn ends prematurely.
Thu Jun 14, 2012 3:09 pm
Author: ColtsFan76
Colorado_Jeff wrote:
The rule states "A player must decide whether to take all or none of the bonus- it cannot be partially taken."

If another sled blocks that full movement, it cannot be taken. We often position ourselves in front of other people to prevent their use of a bonus movement.


Disagree. The "all or nothing" is so that you cannot cheat by speed restrictions. You can't say "I am in third and entitled to 3 bonus spaces but I only want to take 1 extra so my speed stays at 4" (for example).

However, a sled in your way, just like the edge of the course in your way, stops you. So you either add in all the bonus or none of it to come up with your "speed" - but translating that into "movement" you may lose some because of obstacles.
Thu Jun 14, 2012 3:15 pm
Author: ColtsFan76
Colorado_Jeff wrote:
I'm curious why you'd expect something different. I can't find any exceptions at all to the bonus movement rule.

I have the Asmodee version but only have access to the Fragor rulebook at the moment. So the below are quoted from that and may vary based on your version.

From the rule summary on p. 20:

Quote:
- The speed is the dogs’ value added together minus the brake value.
...
- If the sled is balanced (both dogs have the same value) the player may take bonus movement.
...
- Bonus is added to the sled’s speed, and counts towards corner safety limits.


As you can see, the above adds to "speed." In addition, dent cards and safety limits on corners are based on "Speed" not movement:

Quote:
- Take a dent card for each point of speed over the safety limit
- Continue with sled’s movement and rest of turn


The above makes a point of distinction between speed and movement.

When you crash - whether into the side or another sled - your "movement" is what ends:

Quote:
-Sled’s movement and player’s turn ends immediately


All of this is mentioned in more detail within the rules but the summary had it nice and concise. In addition, the rules baout crashing on page 5 add this point:

Quote:
A player is not obliged to avoid a crash and may do so for tactical reasons.


Finally, this point about the difference between speed and movement also on Page 5:

Quote:
- The player completes the rest of their movement.
- They then draw 1 dent card for each point of speed they were over the safety speed (e.g. travelling at speed 5 over a speed limit of 3 means you draw 2 dent cards).
- Remember, bonus movement for balanced sleds counts towards the
sled’s speed.
- The safety speed only applies as a sled crosses the line. The corner has no further speed restrictions. Slow in - fast out!
- If the sled has also had a collision later in the turn then this is now resolved. If not, the player moves to step 3 of their turn (return hand size to 5 cards).


Speed is speed and doesn't change. But movement can be affected by crashing. Taking damage for speed is resolved first, then resolve crashes.
Thu Jun 14, 2012 3:41 pm