Search: Titles Only:
Article Edit | History | Editors

Descent Second Edition Unofficial FAQ

  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • This content started as a forum thread by Robin in the "FFG Sez" thread. As the popularity of the thread rose, it became apparent that an alternative method of organizing the information would be helpful - that's where this page comes in!

    This wiki page is a compilation of answers by Adam Sadler and Justin Kemppainen to questions regarding Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition). This page is not for discussion - all items should simply link to the appropriate source(s) where the rules were established. New answers provided by Adam and Justin should continue to be posted in the "FFG Sez" thread or the Labyrinth of Ruin "FFG Sez" thread for reference.

    Note: Please submit all meta comments/discussions about this page to the Descent Second Edition Unofficial FAQ Meta Thread.

    Disclaimer: All the answers contained herein are unofficial and are subject to change or further clarification. The official Descent Second Edition FAQ and Descent Second Edition Rulebook can be found on the official Descent Second Edition support page here.


    When adding to this page, please use the existing page style. If you think another formatting style would be better, please make a post to the Meta Thread!

    Each Q&A should be placed in the category that best describes the question. Often multiple categories can apply to a single question - if you're uncertain where it belongs you can place it in the Uncategorized section for someone else to categorize, or you can just use your best judgement and post an inquiry to the Meta Thread for another opinion. Please ask/discuss before adding additional categories!

    Frequently Asked Questions

    » General Rules

    Q: Many quests have townsfolk or NPCs that are treated as a "hero figure." Others, such as in the Cardinal's Plight quest, have NPC's that are treated as a "hero." What is the difference?

    A: There is no difference between the term "hero" and "hero figure" in the quest rules. (1) (2)

    Q: Can heroes trade with figures "treated like heroes"?

    A: No. Unless otherwise specified, anything treated as a hero (and therefore not actually a hero) can only be affected by monster attacks, hero abilities, and Overlord cards that target a hero. (1)

    Q: If the Overlord is dragging out an encounter that he is in a position to win (in order to beat up the heroes and draw more cards for the 2nd encounter), can the heroes choose to forfeit -- and end the encounter immediately -- or do they just have to take their lumps?

    A: Unfortunately, there is no way for the heroes to forfeit an encounter. (1)

    Q: Do NPCs that have no stamina convert any stamina loss suffered from an attack or an ability into damage?

    A: Yes, if they have no Stamina, all fatigue suffered is converted to damage. (1)

    Q: When either tokens treated as heroes or monsters have "only 1 move action", does that mean they can only perform 1 move action during their turn and absolutely nothing else? Or does it mean that they can spend their 2nd action to attack or remove stun, burning etc?

    A: It depends upon the specific wording in the quest. Some state that the figure cannot perform more than 1 move action, which leaves it (depending upon what it actually is) able to perform other actions. Others have figures only performing a single move action period (with no other abilities). (1)

    Q: Does the overlord draw a card when he defeats/destroys a "hero" token (peasant, miner, etc)?

    A: No, unless a quest specifies otherwise, the overlord only draws a card when defeating a hero. (1)

    Q: When heroes skip their first turn, it would mean they skip their entire turn structure, including start of turn refreshes, would that be right?

    A: Yes, if the heroes have to skip a turn, then they skip the entirety of that turn; meaning no refreshing or any other start, during, or end of turn effects. (1)

    Q: Since the transition between encounters did not specify that exhausted cards are to be refreshed, would that mean that exhausted cards carried over from the end of encounter 1 would remain exhausted until the respective players take their first turn?

    A: Yes. Exhausted cards would remain exhausted until refreshed at the start of the heroes' turn. (1)

    Q: Does refreshing occur before activating familiars? I.e. "Terracall" would no longer be considered exhausted (carried over from last turn) for the purpose of stone attacking, during the Geomancer's turn, even if he chooses to activate the stones first?

    A: Yes, refreshing would occur before activating familiars. (1)

    Q: When are the used Travel Event cards shuffled back into their deck?

    A: They are shuffled back at the end of each Campaign phase, except for cards which text instructs you to remove it from the game, like the "Lone Knight Challenge" card. (1)

    Q: When a Secret Room is in play is it considered to be part of the map? Or more specifically, is a hero on the Secret Room tile considered to be "on the map"?

    A: Once placed, secret rooms are considered part of the map. A hero on a Secret Room tile is on the map. (1)

    » Combat

    Q: Can you spend surges on a ranged "miss" to recover fatigue or activate other abilities?

    A: If an attack misses, then no surge abilities can be spent. This means that an X, insufficient range, or lacking a surge to spend for "Shadow" causes an attack to miss. If by some means you convert a miss into a hit, then you are free to spend surges as normal. (1)

    Q: Can you spend surges on a melee "miss" (fewer hearts than shields) to recover fatigue or activate other abilities?

    A: Yes, can spend the surges if you do not deal damage on the attack. Not dealing damage is not considered a miss. (1)

    Q: Assuming hero took fatigue equal to his stamina. Can hero recover fatigue from surge and use it on another skill within the same attack?

    A: Yes, a hero can recover fatigue with a surge and use that fatigue within the same attack if he has an applicable skill. (1)

    Q: Does blast propagate conditions to all affected?

    A: Yes. If a surge is spent on blast and on a condition effect, then each figure affected by the attack would be affected by the condition as well (if the attack deals at least 1 damage after defense). (1)

    Q: Do adjacent units targeted by an attack with Blast both take the extra blast damage in addition to the targeted damage?

    A: Blast isn't an ability characterized by initial damage + splash damage; it means the single attack affects multiple figures. If two figures are attacked with Widow Tarha's feat and happen to be adjacent (and Blast is triggered), there wouldn't be any additional affect. Excepting some very unique circumstances, being affected by an attack is either a yes or no situation, not a stacking one. (1) (2)

    `Q: When resolving "Blast" or "Fire Breath," is there an order choice in terms of resolving damage dealing/suffering? Specifically, say a Necromancer and Reanimate are both affected by the same attack on the OL's turn. Can the Overlord choose to "resolve damage" against the Reanimate first to prevent the use of "Dark Pact," or is the damage applied simultaneously, allowing the Necromancer to use the skill?

    A: In a timing conflict, the active player decides the order in which things resolve. Though technically all damage is dealt simultaneously, if there is an interfering trigger, such as the Necromancer looking to trigger Dark Pact, the overlord as the active player would then decide the order in which damage was resolved. In this case, to the Reanimate first to prevent the use of Dark Pact. (1)

    » Healing

    Q: KO'd heroes can only be targeted for healing. Can a hidden hero's token be targeted with healing or other abilities?

    A: No, unless otherwise specified a hero token cannot be targeted with healing unless that hero token represents a knocked out hero. (1)

    » Hero Skills

    Q: Can you use hero abilities like "Defend" on NPCs like the Cardinal and Sir Palamon?

    A: Yes, if they are treated as a hero. (1)

    -- Beastmaster

    Q: Does the Wolf gain a green die for attacking a monster adjacent to itself when using Feral Frenzy?
    A: Yes, the wolf rolls an extra green die for Feral Frenzy when it attacks a monster adjacent to itself or the Beastmaster. (1)

    -- Berserker

    Q: Does "Weapon Mastery" give surges before or after the dice are rolled?
    A: "Weapon Mastery" may be used after the dice are rolled. (1) (2)

    Q: Can Berserker use "Counter Attack" with a Melee weapon with Reach, against monster that attacked him with it's Reach attack, not from adjacent space?

    A: "Counter Attack" specifically refers to an adjacent monster. In this case no, the Berserker cannot use "Counter Attack" against a monster that attacked him with Reach. (1) (2)

    Q: Are additional 2 life points recovered by "Brute" skill associated with Stand Up action and Revive Hero action? Or maybe with "Brute," Berserker always recovers 2 more life, no matter what effect causes him to be revived?

    A: A hero recovering Health by means of something like a Disciple's healing is not considered as a stand-up or revive action, so the ability on the Berserker's "Brute" would not apply in that case. (1)

    -- Champion

    Q: Do the damage tokens acquired on "Valorous Strike" stay in between encounters? The rules state that valor is retained but says nothing of these damage tokens.
    A: Yes, damage tokens from "Valorous Strike" remain on the card between encounters, but are discarded at the end of a quest. (1)

    Q: What happens to Valor tokens between encounters? Or if the hero is KO'd? Do they stay or go?

    A: Valor tokens remain on a hero's Hero sheet between encounters but not between quests. They also remain if the hero is knocked out. (1)

    Q: If a Champion is knocked out, can other heroes still use valour tokens for "Valour of Heroes" (+1 damage) or "Glory of Battle" (+1 shield)?

    A: This is a little tricky, but yes. Since the hero is receiving a physical "thing" that doesn't rely on the Champion being on the map to trigger, another hero would be able to use valor when the Champion is knocked out. (1)

    -- Disciple

    Q: Does "Divine Fury" and "Holy Power" stack? Do both heroes get the yellow Dice?
    A: Yes, "Divine Fury" would stack with "Holy Power." (1)

    -- Knight

    Q: If a knight with "Shield Slam" attacks a shadow dragon and gets only one surge, can he spend the surge to stun the dragon or if he does that the attack miss?
    A: You are correct, the Knight could not spend the surge because the attack would be considered a miss. (1)

    Q: Can one use "Advance" when there's no enemy within 2 spaces of Knight just to get additional movement?

    A: Yes, the Knight may use "Advance" even when there's no enemy within the movement range. (1)

    Q: When monster uses skills like "Flail," "Leap," which target number of heroes, one of which is Knight, can Knight use "Defend"? What will the effect be? The figure cannot be attacked by the same attack twice, so does it cancel out one of targets?

    A: Yes, the Knight may use "Defend" against attacks that target multiple heroes. This is a fine distinction of nomenclature between "targeting" and "targeted by". Technically, the (let's say Merriod) Merriod is targeting 2 different heroes, one of which is the Knight. The Knight uses "Defend" to declare himself the target of the other attack as well, so both attacks affect him, and he rolls his defense dice once for each attack. (1)

    Q: If I use "Defense Training" instead of exhausting shield, can I still exhaust the same shield during the same attack?

    A: Yes; there is nothing preventing the Knight from exhausting "Defense Training" and then exhausting the shield during the same attack. (1)

    -- Hexer

    Q: Does the surge effect of Enfeebling Hex require at least 1 damage dealt before you are allowed to Hex a monster? Also, does it allow you to hex the target monster itself?

    A: No, it doesn't require damage to be dealt, and yes the monster itself can be hexed. (1)

    -- Necromancer

    Q: Regarding the skill "Vampiric Blood," does the Necromancer recover 1 fatigue for each monster killed?
    A: The Necromancer recovers 1 fatigue for each monster defeated. If he defeats 2 monsters in one attack, he would recover 2 fatigue. (1) (2)

    Q: If a Necromancer is surrounded and has no empty space adjacent to him, can he still summon his Reanimate? Does it spawn in the closest empty available space or is he completely barred from using the ability?

    A: It would be placed in the closest empty space. (1)

    -- Runemaster

    Q: Can the Runemaster skill "Ghost Armor" be used only once per attack or multiple times per attack?
    A: "Ghost Armor" can be used as many times as the Runemaster wishes, as long as he can suffer the fatigue in order to trigger it. (1)

    Q: Does "Break the Rune" target the runemaster?

    A: No. Answered in the official FAQ.

    Q: Can Runemaster hero use Runic Knowledge surge ability if he has no fatigue to suffer and suffer 1 damage instead?

    A: Yes he can. (1) (2)

    Q: Can the Runemaster exhaust Quick Casting after an attack to trigger exploding rune?

    A: No, Quick Casting rewards an extra normal attack, not an extra unique attack action. (1)

    -- Spiritspeaker

    Q: Can an ability that is triggered by an attack "before dice are rolled" (e.g. "Stoneskin") be used if a surge or other effect allows additional figures to be "affected"? Some argue that only the original target is attacked & others are merely "affected". Some argue that it has to be declared before the attack dice are rolled. Some say it should be allowed for any figure potentially taking damage, before rolling defense dice.
    A: The figure must be the target of an attack before dice are rolled to receive the "Stoneskin" ability. It cannot be used as a "just in case" for Blast or Firebreath. (1)

    Q: "Stoneskin" - When you add a gray dice exhausting this skill, how long does the added dice last ?? ( Only for the attack that allowed the use of stoneskin or until the skill is refreshed ? )

    A: "Stoneskin" is used once during a single attack and cannot be used again until the card refreshes. (1)

    Q: When you use a class skill that results in multiple monsters to suffer damage or heroes to recover damage and/or fatigue at the same time ( like tempest, vigor, share pain, and so on ) and you then exhaust "Ancestor Spirits," what is the result ? Are all the monsters poisoned or only one ? Same for Heroes, are all recovering additionnal damage and fatigue or only one ?

    A: With "Ancestor Spirits," any ability that damages multiple monsters will Poison each damaged monster, and any ability that allows damage or fatigue recovery for multiple heroes will recover 1 damage and 1 fatigue for each affected hero. (1)

    -- Wildlander

    Q: Can Wildlander's skills "Running Shot" and "First Strike" be combined? Can he move at all and when exactly (during Overlord's turn)?
    A: Yes, a Wildlander can use "Running Shot" and "First Strike" together. When used with "First Strike," the Wildlander must spend the movement points during the overlord's turn. (1) (2)

    Q: Can Wildlander use a "Nimble" skill when monster is 'expanding' to adjacent space (in order to attack Wildlander) and didn't actually used movement point to enter that space?

    A: No, the Wildlander cannot use "Nimble" in that situation because the monster only technically enters the one space chosen before it expands. (1) (2)

    Q: Is "Nimble" an interrupt? When the Wildlander wishes to trigger "Nimble" when a large monster moves adjacent to him, must the Overlord first expand the large monster (like against the "Knight's Guard")?

    A: "Nimble" is considered an interrupt, and a large monster would need to expand before the Wildlander would complete its movement. As with other interrupts, it's not eligible to perform against large monsters unless the large monster has the space to expand in the first place. (1)

    Q: Does Black Arrow deal 3 damage before or after surges are spent?

    A: Black Arrow is resolved after surges are spent.(1)

    » Hero Abilities and Feats

    -- Andira Runehand

    Q: Andira Runehand's hero ability reads: "Each time you suffer 1 or more damage from an adjacent figure, that figure suffers 1 damage." If Andira has fatigue equal to her stamina and suffers fatigue due to an ability of an adjacent monster, say an leech ability (or a master cave spider's web ability), does the monster take 1 damage from Andira?

    A: The damage in this case is suffered as the result of having suffered fatigue up to the hero's Stamina, so Andira Runehand's ability would not trigger. (1)

    -- Arvel Worldwalker

    Q: For Arvel Worldwalker and Hugo the Glorious, do their rerolls need to be kept or can they use the original roll?

    A: Unless the reroll skill/ability/etc specifically states that you can keep either the new result or the original, you have to keep the new results. (1)

    -- Astarra

    Q: When Astarra moves using her ability, does she actually have to trace a path on the map to reach the target square, or just place herself adjacent to the hero? Would monsters in between her and the hero block her movement? Would she suffer from effects such as lava or freezing? Can the OL pit trap her during this movement?

    A: Astarra is removed and placed, so there are no terrain or obstacle effects to hinder that movement. However, she is entering an empty space, so the overlord could play a Pit Trap. (1)

    -- Aurim

    Q: How do Power Potions work with Aurim?

    A: Aurim gains no additional benefits for using a power potion. (1)

    -- Elder Mok

    Q: Would 'Elder Mok' reover 1 damage/fatigue per hero affected? Ex. Staff of light.

    A: No. With his hero ability, Elder Mok recovers only 1 additional damage or fatigue even if 2 other heroes within 3 spaces would trigger the ability. (1)

    Q: Hello, I hope You can help in clarifying how to read revised Elder Mok's Ability.

    A: Once per turn (including the overlord’s!) when another hero within 3 spaces recovers 1 or more Heart or Fatigue, Elder Mok may recover either 1 Heart or 1 Fatigue, his choice. (1)

    -- Grey Ker

    Q: Does Grey Ker get a complete second turn in the round in which he uses his heroic feat?

    A: Grey Ker does not get an entire turn structure for his second turn when using his hero ability. For his second turn, he only gets his second action. (1)

    -- Ispher

    Q: One example would be Ispher's "At the start of your turn, recover 1 Health". Does Ispher Stand Up with 1 Health for free because of his ability?

    A: Ispher would not stand up for free, since he's not technically on the map and thus corresponding abilities would not be able to trigger. (1)

    -- Jain Fairwood

    Q: If Jain Fairwood uses her ability and converts all damage received to fatigue, does she still receive a condition that requires her to take 1 [heart]?

    A: Both Dark Pact and Jain Fairwood's heroic ability are applied when damage is dealt, which combat rules is the last phase of any given attack. The application of conditions occurs in the "spend surges" section. So, prior to any damage being dealt, assuming everything applies in regards to damage > defense, the effect of the condition will be applied during the Spend Surges phase, before the Deal Damage phase of the attack.
    Even if you could make an argument towards the Condition applying during the Deal Damage phase of the attack, any kind of timing conflicts *always* rule in favor of the active player, which in this case is the overlord. Since the overlord fulfills the requirements to inflict the condition (hearts > defense, surge: condition), he applies the condition to the player, and THEN the player may choose to redirect damage in whatever fashion he or she is able to. (1)

    Q: If Jain Fairwood converts all damage suffered to fatigue, do game effects triggered by damage still apply? The original question involved spending a surge to apply the Poison condition, but there are other effects as well. It was argued that because damage is step 5 of combat, the surge in step 4 would still be able to poison Jain because (potential) damage was rolled.

    A: Yes, Jain Fairwood would still be affected by game effects that trigger off of dealing damage. For example, a surge ability that gives poison would apply to a target as long as the attack dealt 1 damage, regardless of how much damage the target actually suffers. (1)

    -- Laughin

    Q: Can Laughin use his feat while stunned? Would he get 3 attacks or 2 attacks?

    A: He would be able to use his Heroic Feat while Stunned, and he would get all 3 of the attacks. However, he would still have the Stunned condition and would have to perform an action to clear it at some later turn. (1)

    -- Leoric

    Q: Regarding Leoric's heroic ability: "Each monster within 3 spaces of you receives -1 Wounds on all attack rolls (to a minimum of 1)." Is the -1 wound applied to the entire attack after surge abilities are determined or just to the actual wounds that are rolled on the dice?

    A: The effect of Leoric's Heroic Ability would be applied as soon as dice are rolled, before surges are spent. (1)

    -- Lord Hawthorne

    Q: Lord Hawthorne's heroic feat lets him perform an attack, move up to 2 spaces and then perform an attack again.

    Knight's Advance let's him move up to his speed(4) and attack again.

    If he uses his heroic feat and kills the monster and activates Advance what happens? Does he get 6 movement points in total and can attack twice after moving that much?

    I believe it works like this, let's name the space on which Lord Hawthorne is standing when doing first attack Starting Space.

    I believe he can move up to 2 from Starting Space then make and attack from Advance, then he can move up to 4 counting from Starting Space and attack from heroic feat. So that gives him max 4 movement, not 6. Is that right?

    A: Yes, Lord Hawthorne's heroic feat can be combined with Advance. Keep in mind that the monster has be defeated for Advance to trigger. However, each ability doesn't "gain movement points." So while yes, he may attack, move 2 spaces, attack and defeat a monster, then advance another 4 spaces (bringing him 6 spaces away from his starting space, assuming he didn't backtrack), he may not attack, attack, advance/attack, and then move six spaces. (1)

    -- Mad Carthos

    Q: Mad Carthos' hero ability says once per turn, when using a skill that costs 1 fatigue it will cost zero fatigue instead. It doesn't say "per round", it doesn't specify whose turn it should be. Does that mean I could possibly use 1 fatigue skill on my turn, then on each of other 3 heroes' turns, and on overlord's turn, each time for free?

    This also affects Sir Valadir and Astarra.

    Can Sir Valadir use his ability on his turn, then on overlord's turn if Sir Valadir counterattacks? Can Astarra use her ability to "teleport" with move action granted by Syndrael's feat, on Syndrael's turn, then "teleport" again on Astarra's turn?

    A: It does indeed say per turn and not per round. Each hero has a turn, and the overlord has a turn, so these abilities, by the rules currently written, are allowed to be used each turn. (1)

    -- One Fist

    Q: I have a question about One Fist, from Descent's Conversion Kit. It says One Fist can make a free Melee attack, no real problem with that. But does he count as "armed with a Melee weapon" for the purpose of all the skills that let a character "perform an attack with a melee weapon" (like Charge, Death Rage, Guard, etc...) or for skills that trigger when you have "2 Melee weapons with 1 hand icon each" (like Weapon Mastery) ?

    A: No, One Fist's free attack is not considered to be a melee weapon. He must still have a melee weapon equipped to trigger abilities requiring a melee weapon. (1)

    Q: The first sentence of One Fist's ability reads "You can only equip 1 hand icon worth of equipment." It does not say "You can only equip 1 hand icon worth of weapons" or "The combination of One Fist's equipped items may not have more than one hand icons in total" both of which would clearly indicate he can equip non-weapon equipment.

    Since the ability says the only "equipment" he can equip is that which has one hand icon on it, and since "equipment" includes armor and "other" stuff, the reading seems to indicate he can't equip anything that is not a one-handed weapon.

    May One First equip any non-weapon equipment?

    A: One Fist has trouble dressing himself, eh? No, he can still equip armor and accessories. "Only 1 hand" refers to, you guessed it, 1 hand of equipment instead of 2. (1)

    -- Sahla

    Q: Sahla's heroic feat allows him to use another heroes skill - If he had full fatigue could he use a skill like Iron Will to gain a stamina to use prayer of healing?

    A: Yes (1)

    -- Silhouette

    Q: Can Silhouette activate her Heroic Feat, and then, before performing any moves, search a token adjacent to her for free? Can Silhouette use her Heroic Feat to move ten spaces and THEN get a free search of an adjacent search token? Can she do both?

    The real question behind these questions is: What does "you move adjacent to [a token]" mean? Does it mean "when you enter a space adjacent to [a token]" or something else? if something else, what? See an applicable diagram of the problem in my original post at (1)

    A: In this case, "moved" is more or less equal to "entered," so she could search the token adjacent to her 10th space but not one that she began adjacent to (unless of course she moved into a different space adjacent to that token). (1)

    Q: Can Silhouette's Heroic Feat be used to search Challenge Tokens, or is she literally limited to just being able to search Search Tokens?

    A: No, Silhouette can only get search tokens with her Heroic Feat. (1)

    -- Tomble

    Q: If Tomble is carrying an objective token (Trueshot Bow, crop, Idol, etc.) and decides to use his heroic feat to vanish off of the board, does the objective token get dropped or does it disappear with him off of the board?

    A: Unless quest rules specify otherwise, he'd keep the objective token with him. (1)

    -- Valyndra

    Q: Does Valyndra's Hoarder ability activates on searching Challenge tokens?

    A: Yes. Hoarder triggers when a hero performs a search action, and a challenge tokens are revealed by a hero performing a search action. (1)

    -- Vyrah the Falconer

    Q: The Skye familiar states that an adjacent monster may be forced to reroll. If a monster occupies the same space as Skye is that still considered adjacent?

    A: No (1)

    -- Widow Tarha

    Q: What is the interaction of the Blast attack modifier with Widow Tarha's Feat?

    A: Widow Tarha's Heroic Feat can make use of Blast, and as such it would affect the two figures chosen for the attack as well as each other figure adjacent to them. (1) (2)

    -- Zyla

    Q: Can Zyla fly over the boulders in Death on the Wing?

    A: No, Zyla would not be able to move through spaces containing boulders, as they are not considered figures or terrain. (1)

    Q: Does Zyla suffer a fatigue when moving out of a space containing a master spider when she is moving through?

    A: Yes (1)

    » Allies

    -- Raythen (Labyrinth of Ruin)

    Q: Does Raythen's Investigate allow the Treasure Hunter to use Gold Rush if he/she is the closest hero?

    A: Yes. (1)

    » Traits

    -- Aura

    Q: Aura ability. Shadow don't stack, command don't stack…what about aura?

    A: Aura is cumulative. Shadow and command are not. (1) (2)

    -- Fly

    Q: Can monsters with Fly ability move over (through) obstacles?

    A: Obstacles are considered terrain for the purposes of movement, so monsters with Fly can indeed ignore them when moving. (1)

    Q: Can flying creature has its movement interrupted by skills like Knight's Guard or Thief's Caltrops or Wildlander's Nimble?

    A: Yes, a flying figure may be interrupted by certain effects, (Guard, Caltrops, Nimble). (1)

    Q: Does flying creature needs 2 movement points to end it's movement on the water? Does flying creature takes 1 damage from lava when it lands on lava?

    A: There is no distinction or definition of a flying monster "landing." Since flying has the "ignore" when the figure is moving, and water/pit/lava, effects trigger based upon moving and/or entering spaces, a flying figure would never have to use extra movement points or suffer damage for entering those spaces. (1)

    Q: Is flying creature defeated when ending it's activation on lava?

    A: Because secondary effects (speaking of pit spaces and lava spaces) trigger based upon other factors that are unrelated to a flying monster's movements, a flying monster that ends its activation in a lava space would be immediately defeated, and a flying monster that ends its activation in a pit must spend an action to climb out (or move out by some other means). (1)

    -- Shadow

    Q: Does the Shadow trait stack when a melee unit is adjacent to multiple Shadow units?

    A: 2 shadow abilities do not stack. A hero adjacent to 2 shadow dragons only needs to spend 1 surge to hit. (1) (2)

    Q: The Shadow ability on the Shadow Dragon specifically states that "a hero adjacent..." needs to expend a surge to have a successful attack.

    So if a Summoned Stone (treated as an obstacle, not treated as a figure) attacks an adjacent Shadow Dragon via Terracall, does it need a surge to get past Shadow?

    What about a hero attacking through the stone via something like Molten Fury?

    (And I suppose just to cover all the bases, does a Reanimate count as "a hero" for this purpose as well?")

    A: Since a Summoned Stone is treated as an obstacle and not a hero or monster figure, no abilities applying to heroes or monsters may be used. Thus, it wouldn't be affected by Shadow. However, any ability that allows you to attack through a Summoned Stone, if it's adjacent to a Shadow Dragon, is subject to the Shadow ability (since the hero is the one performing the attack).
    The Reanimate is treated as a hero figure, so it would be subject to Shadow.

    -- Split

    Q: [Must/May] one of the Kobolds that comes into play after the "Split" ability be placed in the space where the Master Kobold was standing when he died and triggered the Split?

    A: The card does use the word "replace" in its text for Split, which is a simultaneous remove and place that utilizes the same space from which it was removed. 1 kobold minion would have to be placed in the space that the master occupied before defeated, and the other would be placed in the closest empty space. (1)

    -- Stealthy

    Q: How much range is required to hit a Stealthy unit with a melee attack?

    A: The stealthy ability requires melee attacks to roll at least 3 range to hit. Melee attacks usually require 0 range (even with Reach), so 3 is all the range the attack would need. (1)

    -- Swallow

    Q: Does the Ice Wyrm's Swallow ability prevent standing up, or only revival?

    A: The Ice Wyrm Swallow ability only prevents revival, not a hero performing a stand up action. (1)

    -- Sweep

    Q: Does sweep affect all figures in range or is line of sight required also?

    A: Sweep requires line of sight to the target. (1)

    -- Web

    Q: Web: Do heroes have to pay one fatigue to move out of each and every square adjacent to the Master Cave Spider during their movement? For example a character attempting to run past a Master Cave Spider in a two square wide corridor (a hallway for instance) would end up paying a total of three fatigue to travel through the three squares adjacent to the spider in order to get completely past it.

    A: Yes. Any time a hero moves out of a space adjacent to the master cave spider, he has to suffer 1 fatigue. The master can block up travel paths pretty well like this, as a hero could suffer a lot of fatigue moving past it. (1)

    » Line of Sight and Adjacent Spaces

    Q: Line of sight is blocked when it "passes through the edge of a map tile, a door, or a blocked space" or "passes along the edge of a blocked space". Some people argue that it is not explicitly blocked if it passes along the edge of a map tile or a door, even though the topology is almost identical. Are you allowed to fire along a wall, but not past a figure or obstacle?

    A: ...The actual answer is that you cannot trace line of sight along the edge of a map tile or along the edge of a blocked space... (1)

    Q: When counting range for an attack, is there any difference between spaces containing figure and obstacle-spaces? Is counting through obstacles forbidden?

    A: Figures are not considered obstacles by the rules [when counting spaces for attack range or skills], so you could count through those spaces but not through obstacles. (1)
    [Note: Don't confuse counting spaces with drawing line of sight - Spaces containing figures cannot have line of sight drawn through them per the Line of Sight rules on page 12 of the Rulebook]

    Q: In regards to attribute tests in secret rooms, the special rules on two cards read "if he passes, he may search 1 challenge token in this room without performing an action". Is this irrespective of adjacency to the challenge token or does adjacency still apply?

    A: In this particular case, adjacency would not be necessary. (1)

    Q: Do the thick black borders on the outside edges of the tiles prevent line of sight from being traced to/from them, or in the case of single points at corners, through them? Here's the image people are arguing about, wondering whether the north Villager and/or the south Villager have line of sight to the Flesh Moulder:

    A: The answer is that it's a yes to both. The wall there is still considered to be a shared corner that line of sight can be traced to, from, and through. (1)

    Q: Can you confirm the Line of Sight examples in the following diagram, where red lines do not have LoS and blue lines do have LoS:

    A: (Confirmed by Justin per (1))

    » Conditions

    Q: If an ability allows you to inflict a condition on a figure that is not the target of the attack ("Shield Slam"), are you still required to inflict at least one damage on the target figure in order for the condition to apply to the other figure?

    A: "Shield Slam" does not require you to deal damage to the target. (1)

    -- Burning

    Q: I just have a rules question about the Burning condition. Does the damage apply at the end of the turn, even if the condition is eliminated previously?
    A: If the Burning condition is discarded before the end of that figure's turn, he does not suffer the damage. Since he does not have the card anymore, there is no longer an effect that triggers at the end of his turn. (1)

    -- Immobilize

    Q: Immobilize card says it only prevents hero from using Move action or fatigue to generate movement points. I'm aware it also stops movement action if someone gets immobilized during it's duration.

    Does Immobilize stop movement gained from other abilities that grand movement points or let hero move up to speed?

    A: Immobilize only prevents move actions and suffering fatigue. Gaining movement points while immobilized through some other means unrelated to a move action or suffering fatigue, "moving up to your speed" as the result of an ability, or being removed from the map and placed elsewhere is all allowed with immobilize as written. (1)

    » Items

    Q: Can the heroes buy Act II item cards after the interlude, or must they wait until after the first Act II quest?

    A: Heroes may not purchase Act II items until after the first Act II quest is completed. (1)

    Q: If the item search deck is depleted, do we simply reshuffle the discarded item cards to draw from? Such as discarded cards from appraise and any resolved "nothing" or "treasure chest" cards?

    A: The Search deck is reshuffled at the end of every quest. It is not reshuffled during a quest. (1) (2)

    Q: If only Zachareth can use "Shadow Rune" surges, why does the description read "each of your attacks gains" as opposed to the "Duskblade's" description of "each of this lieutenant's attacks gain"?

    A: We may look at adding this to the Errata or FAQ. "Your" in this case refers is equal to "this lieutenant" for the purposes of effects. (1)

    Q: Must potions be equipped before they can be used?

    A: Potions do not need to be equipped before they are used. A hero can trade for a potion during a move action (during his turn) and then immediately use it. (1) (2)

    -- Fortuna's Dice

    Q: Can "Fortuna's Die" be used on the Necromancer's ability, "Army of Death"?

    A: You CANNOT use "Fortuna's Dice" with "Army of Death." (1)

    -- Lucky Charm

    Q: Can "Lucky Charm" be used (how many times) during a Travel?

    A: "Lucky Charm" would exhaust and would not refresh until the "1. Start of turn: II. Refresh cards" step of the hero's turn during the encounter. (1)

    -- Mana Weave

    Q: In a round hero A exhausts "Mana Weave" and trades it to hero B, who hasn't taken his turn yet. Would "Mana Weave" refresh on hero B's turn? By RAW Hero B is unable to equip the "Mana Weave" before it could refresh, but it is unclear if unequipped items refresh.

    A: By the rules as written, the "Mana Weave" would refresh on hero B's turn. (1)

    -- Ring of Power

    Q: If the ring of power is traded while someone has full fatigue, thereby losing the +1 stamina do they suffer a heart too?

    A: A hero who trades the Ring of Power at his full (modified) Stamina does not suffer a damage. Instead the fatigue tokens remain on his hero sheet until removed by game effects. For example, if that hero performs an attack and uses a surge to recover a fatigue, he would remove the extra fatigue token. If he happened to rest, he'd clear all fatigue tokens. (1)

    -- Shield of the Dark God

    Q: In regards to "Shield of the Dark God," when the heroes decide to re-roll several defense die, are the results considered better individually per die or on a cumulative basis?

    A: Since it says "result" and not "results," it would be cumulative rather than individual. Much easier to keep track of, as you can have the total roll calculated at X compared to the total reroll at Y, instead of the roll A, B, C as compared to the reroll of D, E, F. (1)

    » Knocked Out Heroes

    Q: Does a knocked out hero recover health/fatigue between encounters?

    A: Between encounters, any knocked out hero may stand up for free. In addition, heroes that stand up also recover all fatigue as well. (1)

    Q: Can you trade with a hero token that represents either a knocked out or "hidden" hero?

    A: No, a hero cannot trade with a hero token. (1)

    Q: Do passive abilities of a hero work when he is knocked out? For example Avric Albright's ability that allows heroes within 3 spaces of him to use surge to recover 1 health point or "No Mercy" skill from Champion class.

    A: No, these abilities are not in effect when a hero is knocked out because the knocked out hero is not treated as if he was on the map. (1)

    Q: If the Overlord plays a trap card in response to a hero performing a Search action, and the trap ends up defeating the hero, does the hero player still get to draw a search card?

    A: Yes, the Search action is still completed if the hero is knocked out. (1)

    » Movement

    Q: When, exactly, is a "move action" considered to end?

    A: A move action ends when the hero spends his last movement point granted to him through his Speed. (1)

    Q: Can excessive movement points be carried from turn to turn?

    A: Movement points cannot be carried from turn to turn. (1) (2)

    Q: What's the deal with Movement Points, when can you use them?

    A: Think of movement points like a pool you have available to a figure during its turn. When you take a move action, you're adding movement points equal to your Speed to that pool. You can also suffer fatigue to add movement points in the same way. There is no restriction on when you can use these movement points (before, during, or after your actions), but you have to keep track of and declare when you're using fatigue to move.
    Also keep in mind that the rule requires you to suffer fatigue to gain movement points. If you're worried about something like a pit traps, you are absolutely free to suffer 2 fatigue to gain that extra movement point that would normally land you in a stun. (1)

    -- Large monster movement

    Q: If the movement of a large monster is interrupted (e.g: with caltrops) and there is no space to "expand" it, how do you proceed?

    A: You cannot interrupt large monster movement in a space in which it cannot expand. (1)

    Q: How does interrupting movement to attack interact with large monster movement?

    A: When moving with a large monster, you always choose 1 space it occupies to count movement. If you interrupt movement to attack, you choose any space it occupies to continue movement. This could result in additional spaces moved during the movement. (1) (2)

    Q: May large monsters interrupt a move action with another action (e.g., open door, attack) after hey have shrunk to 1x1 but before they have spent a movement point so that they can expand in a direction different than their orientation before the move action? See post for description of proposed mechanic: (1)

    A: Allowed! (1)

    Q: How to treat large monsters, when reduced to 1x1 during their movement - especially in context of pit spaces: If a “shrunken” large monster enters a pit space, does it suffer 2 damage and ends its movement or is it totally immune to the pit spaces while moving?

    A: As written, a large monster whose movement is in process is not affected by pit spaces and can move through them as normal. (1)

    » Familiars

    Q: According to rules, only 3 effects can affect Characters Treated As Heroes: monster attacks, hero abilities, and Overlord cards that target a hero. What rules allows using skills (e.g. Oath of Honor) with them? Can monster actions (e.g. Throw) affect them?

    A: Since that is the way the rule are written, I'd be tempted to say that's the way to play it. However, the intent with that was very clear in that, Skill cards and monster abilities are able to affect "characters treated as heroes". (1)

    Q: What about items (e.g. "Staff of Light" [action])? What about overlord cards: "Word of Misery," "Word of Pain," "Word of Despair," "Diabolic Power"? Do they affect something treated like a hero?

    A: Yes to "Staff of Light" (assuming quest rules allow any healing effects). "Word of Misery," "Pain," "Despair," all yes. "Diabolic Power" could be quite devastating to a group of NPCs, but affirmative to that as well. (1)

    Q: Familiar activation rules state: "A hero player may activate each familiar his hero controls once during his hero turn (either before or after resolving all of his heroâ?Ts actions). Activating a familiar does not require an action, but it may not interrupt any other action. Essentially, a hero player with a familiar must choose whether to activate his hero first or his familiar first. Regardless, both may be activated during his turn." What exactly is hero activation? It's never defined.

    Is it possible to use fatigue points to move, then activate the familiar, then activate the hero to perform his 2 actions? Additional Movement section says only "A hero may suffer fatigue to receive additional movement points during his turn." which leads me to believe heroes can do that during "Start of turn" or "Equip Items" steps.

    Can hero use some abilities that are not actions before familiar's activation, then activate familiar, then activate himself?

    A: Yes. As long as the actions of the familiar and the actions of the hero player do not intermingle (unless otherwise specified in card effects), you would be able to use non-action skills or suffer fatigue before activating a familiar and then themselves. (1)

    Q: What happens when a Summoned Stone or a Reanimate gets stunned?

    A: As with anything else, a Summoned Stone or a Reanimate would have to spend an action to remove the Stunned condition. This might be the move action granted by familiar rules, or it might be the attack action granted by specific Skill cards. (1)

    Q: When a familiar (e.g. Skye) is below another monster (1 space big) is its "adjacency" requirement fulfilled?

    A: When occupying the same space as a monster, it is unfortunately not the same thing as being adjacent. (1)

    Q: When familiar (e.g. Skye) is below a large monster which occupies more fields, is it adjacent?

    A: Yes. (1)

    » Monsters

    Q: Only Fat Goblin's 1st encounter says that monsters reinforcing at the beginning of the Overlord's turn may be activated upon the turn they are placed on the map. Does that apply to reinforcing monsters placed at the beginning of the Overlord's turn in all other quests (where nothing is said about when one can activate them)?

    A: Unless otherwise mentioned, any group that reinforces at the start of the overlord's turn is able to activate during that turn. (1)

    Q: I have a question about the crossbow and large monsters: How does the 1 space movement work for large monsters? Does the hero get to shrink the monster to 1 space, move it 1 space, and then expand it in any direction the hero chooses?

    A: Yes, the attacking hero chooses how the large monster moves. The large monster does indeed shrink and expand following normal monster movement. The monster shrinks from the targeted space. (1)

    Q: What defines a monster "attack"? Players have proposed various tests: (a) does it do damage, (b) does it use the word "attack" on the card, (c) does it involve rolling the blue attack die? Is Bash considered an attack? It meets (a), but not (b) or (c).

    A: A monster may either perform a "standard" attack action. Any other lieutenant or monster ability that allows an attack explicitly states that it is an attack. For example, Bash deals damage but isn't an attack, so a troll could Sweep and Bash on the same activation. (1)

    Q: Flame Breath (and similar powers). As we understand things, it can trace its path around corners and through obstacles like boulders (but not doors) because LOS is irrelevant to it since it is not implicitly stated to require it and it's not actually moving in such a way that obstacles would impeded it.

    A: Yes. Flame breath doesn't need to be traced in a straight line or follow LoS rules. (1)

    Q: When the overlord is reinforcing for the turn does he choose the master monster or minion monster his choice while respecting group limits?

    A: He can choose which figure to reinforce. (1)

    Q: In the conversion kit, the Act I Skeleton Archer minion requires no surge for its Pierce 1 ability, but the Act II minion requires a surge for its Pierce 2 ability. Is this correct, or should the Pierce 2 ability for the Act II minion be surge-free?

    A: Yes, the ability on the card is correct. (1)

    Q: If I have 7 Minions on field, thanks to split, can I reinforce another Master ? (potentially gaining more minions)

    A: It's quite all right. With abilities like Split or Undying, you're still limited by the number of figures available. If all minions are on the map, or if quest rules have monsters set aside, you wouldn't be able to take advantage of that monster ability. (1)

    Q: All monster's surge abilities get better in Act II except for the Ettin where they get worse. Is this a misprint, or is it intentional?

    A: This is not a typo. In Act II Ettins get an additional red die and playtesting showed that they needed toned down a bit in Act II. This is why their surge ability is reduced. (1)

    Q: I still have some confusion over the correct functioning of Undying (and by extension, Split). Let's take Ogres as an example. Assuming one has Descent, there are two minion figures and one master figure available, with a group limit in D2E of 1/1. Say I have a master and a minion Ogre on the board in a four-hero game. If the master is killed before the minion, what happens?

    A: So, "ignoring group limits" for 4-hero games really only applies to anything that came in the Conversion Kit, where certain monster groups actually have more figures than the group limits on the card would suggest. In your particular example, in a 4-hero game, when placing reinforcments, you may have up to 1 master and 1 minion on the map. If you have 2 minions and no master, you can place the master. (1)

    » Overlord Cards

    Q: When can we play "Dash" or "Frenzy"? When we first activate the monster before we take actions? Or at any time while we are still activating said monster?

    A: Those Overlord cards may be played at any point during a monster's activation. (1)

    Q: Can you spend the additional attack granted by "Frenzy" on a monster action that provokes an attack (assuming action limits are respected)? E.g: can an elemental do (Fire, Fire) with "Frenzy"?

    A: No, "Frenzy" grants a normal attack action and not a monster action. (1)

    Q: Can the Overlord play two "Dark Fortune" cards on a single defense roll? Can he play it on two different dice in a defense roll? Can he play it on one die twice in a row?

    A: Page 16 of the Core Rulebook, under Overlord Cards: "Two Overlord cards with the same name cannot be played on the same target in response to the same triggering condition." Dark Fortune's triggering condition is, "...after you roll dice," so each for each instance of rolling dice, Dark Fortune allows you to reroll 1 die, once, and a second Dark Fortune cannot be played. (1)

    Q: Can the Overlord card Mimic be played when a hero uses a search action to uncover a Challenge token on a Secret Room tile?

    A: No, Mimic cannot be played when a hero uses a search action to reveal a challenge token on a Secret Room tile. (1)

    -- Dark Charm

    Q: Say the Runemaster is affected by "Dark Charm" and makes an attack, and the dice rolled displays a surge. May the runemaster use the surge for applying "Runic Knowledge", thus suffering himself +1 fatigue?

    A: When using "Dark Charm," the overlord performs the attack as if the hero was one of his monsters. This means that the overlord chooses how the surges are spent during the attack. However, since the overlord cannot force the hero to suffer fatigue, this is intended to prevent the overlord from using the hero's class skills. This includes "Runic Knowledge." The overlord cannot use "Runic Knowledge" when using "Dark Charm" on the Runemaster. (1)

    Q: Does this action must be performed immediately or can other monsters be activated first?

    A: The action must be performed immediately. (1)

    Q: Can charmed hero move through monsters figures? Heroes figures?

    A: The charmed hero is treated as a monster for the duration that the card is in play (which is for the move or attack), so if he moves, he cannot move through heroes but can move through monsters. (1)

    Q: Can monsters attack charmed hero?

    A: The hero is no longer considered "charmed" after the attack or move, so monsters may attack him. (1)

    Q: Can Overlord play Overlord Cards on charmed hero? Especially can traps be played as if he were hero? Can "Frenzy" be played as if he were monster?

    A: Overlord cards for the most part cannot chain during the "Dark Charm" move. Since he is treated as a monster, you could not pit trap him. Since his status of being "charmed" ends as soon as his attack resolves, he could not frenzy. However, something like "Dark Might" or "Critical Blow" would be perfectly viable. (1)

    Q: When Leoric is affected by "Dark Charm," are his own attacks reduced by one heart, due to his hero's ability (in other words, as a hero is considered as a monster, does he loose all his heroic abilities, including the 'passive' ones)?

    A: Yes, since he is treated as a monster, any attack he performs would have its damage reduced by 1. A hero is treated as a monster but is still, deep down, heroic at heart =) (1)

    Q: During "Dark Charm," the only restriction is not spending fatigue, so: Can the OL use Bow/Rune/Weapon Mastery and/or "Mana Weave"? Can the OL spend Valour? If attacking themselves, can the hero spend Valour? Can the OL use "Valorous Strike"?

    A: The overlord cannot force a hero to exhaust or use Skill cards, and he cannot force the hero to exhaust "Mana Weave." (1)

    Q: When a hero fails the "Dark Charm" test and the Overlord forces him to attack himself,

    1. Is defence die still rolled by that hero?
    2. Can hero use items, such as shield to add to defence roll or reroll defence die?
    3. Can OL use weapon surge abilities?
    4. Can OL use skills, such as Weapon Mastery?

    A: 1. Yes, 2. Yes, 3. Yes and 4. No (1)

    -- Flurry (Labyrinth of Ruin)

    Q: The OL card Flurry says "additional attack" as opposed to the older Frenzy which says "additional attack action". Is Flurry meant to be an additional attack action, or can Flurry also allow for a special action that includes an attack, such as Skirmish or Sweep?""

    A: It is intended to be "additional attack action." (1)

    -- Reflective Ward (Labyrinth of Ruin)

    Q: On the OL card Reflective Ward, what exactly does "hearts dealt" mean?
    For example: 8 hearts against 2 shields on a monster with only 5 health -- Is "hearts dealt" 8, 6, or 5?

    A: The hero rolls his own defense dice to mitigate the amount of damage he dealt to the monster (and only the damage, no conditions). To your example, it would be: 8 - defense roll. Essentially, the hero must also take the attack, and the intent behind the somewhat strange wording is to prevent odd interactions with conditions, knockback effects, etc. (1)

    » Quest Guide

    • Campaign: The Shadow Rune

    -- The Cardinal's Plight

    Q: In "The Cardinal's Plight" can the Cardinal be diseased when does he start testing it? While the door is sealed or when the library is open? Also in respect to the Cardinal is he effected by attacks that do no target him but do damage IE blast or howl?

    A: Yes, the Cardinal can be diseased, and he tests for it when he is activated. No, the cardinal may only suffer damage from zombie attacks. (1)

    Q: Do objective token IE the altar in "The Cardinal's Plight" block los / movement and can you end your movement on the altar?

    A: No, the altar does not block line of sight or movement. (1)

    Q: Quest book reads: "Frederick immediately moves his Speed and performs 1 attack, then the hero resumes." Does he have to move? Does he have to move full speed? Does he have to move so he can attack? Does he have to attack?

    A: When the door is opened, Frederick is treated as a monster under the overlord's control. As such, the overlord makes all decisions in regards to the move and attack. (1)

    -- Castle Daerion

    Q: In "Castle Daerion," can master ettins throw Sir Palamon?

    A: Yep, the master ettins can throw Sir Palamon. (1)

    Q: Castle Daerion En2 - Does a villager that has a valor token at the end of Encounter 1, carry over that valor token to Encounter 2

    A: No. While thematically they're the same people, mechanically they're a completely new set of figures. (1)

    -- The Dawnblade

    Q: In "The Dawnblade" and "The Desecrated Tomb," when the quest book says that a hero or Sir Alric is carrying the Dawnblade/Duskblade, is that character actually wielding the item and allowed to use the abilities associated with the relic? If this is the case, is Sir Alric allowed to have two relics in these quests? For example, could he begin the encounter with the Shield of Zorek's favor and then later pick up the Duskblade?

    A: No, carrying the Dawn/Duskblade doesn't give you access to its Relic card abilities; it only functions as an item-objective within the confines of the quest. It also does not count toward Alric's relic limit. (1)

    Q: In Dawnblade Encounter 1, can the Overlord (draw a card and/or) play Dark Charm before the Ray of Sunlight moves and force a hero off of Arcite's Tomb? Or does the Ray of Sunlight move before ANYTHING else the Overlord can do?

    A: Since it's a timing conflict for start of turn overlord effects, he would still draw his card and could play something like Dark Charm to attempt to move the hero away. (1)

    -- The Desecrated Tomb

    Q: In the Desecrated Tomb Encounter 2, the quest guide is quite clear on how Khorayt moves and who he attacks, but who gets to determine how he will spend surges (if there is a choice) and how flame breath would travel?

    A: The overlord has control over anything unspecified in the quest. However, he must spend all surges rolled, and, if using Fire Breath, must attack in a manner that will affect the figure carrying the Dawnblade (if possible). Otherwise, any other choices on how it functions is up to the overlord to decide. (1)

    Q: In the Desecrated Tomb Encounter 2, can Khorayt take damage from heroes, or only Alric?

    A: Only Sir Alric can deal damage to Khorayt. (1)

    -- The Frozen Spire

    Q: Can Ruin attack in the "The Frozen Spire" scenario?

    A: Yes, Ruin can attack. (1)

    Q: Can Ruin be immobilized by a Hero?

    A: Yes, Ruin can be immobilized. (1)

    Q: Ruin has a speed of 1 and is a large monster. By applying the large monster movement rules, he would actualy move 1 space, and then since it's base is 2 width he could be positioned so that essentialy he moved 2 spaces. Is that correct?

    A: Ruin does not follow large monster movement. He moves 1 space at a time, sliding the figure along the bridge. (1)

    -- The Masquerade Ball

    Q: Can "The Masquerade Ball" encounter one victory roll be affected by "Dark Fortune" or "Staff of Shadows" (if Eliza is on the map still)?

    A: "Dark Fortune" is a no, since it applies to the overlord's dice. "Staff of Shadows," however, is a yes, since it applies to forcing heroes to re-roll a die. (1)

    Q: In Encounter 2 of "The Masquerade Ball," would Eliza's movement trigger the open group to be placed in Goblin's Cave?

    A: Yes the group would be placed in that particular instance. (1)

    Q: In Encounter 2 of "The Masquerade Ball," would a door which was closed after it was opened require a test to smash/answer riddle/pick lock again? Or can the door be treated like normal? Similarly, does the stuck door in "The Shadow Vault" require Might testing every time to open it?

    A: It would appear that there are a few different answers to your question here. For the doors in "Masquerade," a successful Might test removes the door from the map entirely, meaning it is set aside and cannot be closed again. Obviously, the Knowledge test does nothing with the door itself, but the Awareness test only opens it, meaning it's free to be closed again and would require one of the tests to get through.
    The same applies to the door in "The Shadow Vault," but in this case the Might test only opens the door, leaving it able to be closed again and thus requiring another successful Might test to open. (1)

    Q: In Encounter 2, can you use two actions to test two separate doors?

    A: Each figure is only allowed to test any doors once per turn, so a figure wouldn't be allowed to use two actions to test two separate doors. (1)

    Q: In Encounter 2, do the heroes win if they get one hero off the exit or all?

    A: In this particular quest, each hero would need to move off the map through the Exit. (1)

    -- The Monster's Hoard

    Q: In "The Monster's Hoard" quest, encounter 1, the reinforcement rule says that the Overlord may not place a monster that does not fit on the Entrance. Is that restriction only about the moster's size (i.e. as explained in the Monsters paragraph: a six-space large monster cannot be used) or does it extend to the situation where the Entrance is occupied by another monster (e.g. a Merriod) which would lead one to place the reinforcement monster in the nearest possible space?

    A: This restriction simply limits the use of the six-space large monsters. For example, if a hero decided to stay on the Entrance tile, the overlord could still place his reinforcement monster in the nearest empty space. (1)

    -- The Ritual of Shadows

    Q: The Shadow Ritual: what happens with Fleshmolders that are defeated in encounter 1 in the transition to encounter 2? Can the OL still place them anew in encounter 2? or does he have to play without killed fleshmolders?

    A: Flesh moulders don't reinforce in Encounter 2, so whatever he has left from Encounter 1 is what he gets. (1)

    Q: The Shadow Ritual: What happens to conditions on Merric in the transition from encounter 1 to encounter 2? Does they stick on him?

    A: Merick would not keep any conditions on him between the encounters. Unless otherwise specified, any lieutenant present in Encounter 1 and Encounter 2 starts without wounds or anything else. (1)

    Q: The Shadow Ritual: What happens with the Relic if the Overlord wins this quest? Does he keep it or will it be returned to the gamebox? The victory for the heroes says that the heroes recieve the Relic from the Overlord, but the Overlord does not have it explicitly in the first place under his pocession. Only during this quest Merric wields it, someone could read. So which side is correct? The Ol recieves it after winning this map pernamently or it is returned to the gamebox?

    A: If the overlord did not receive the Staff of Shadows by winning "The Cardinal's Plight" in Act I, he is only able to gain the use of that relic during "The Ritual of Shadows" and does not receive it for winning.
    The overlord may be "considered to have won" any quest not played in Act I, but that doesn't automatically grant him the rewards from those quests.
    I'm saying he doesn't get to keep the Staff of Shadows to avoid having the overlord gain too much from winning a single quest as well as to most closely reflect the specific rules as written, which don't say he gets to obtain or keep it. (1)

    Q: It was mentioned in a previous ruling that the Overlord cannot win Staff of Shadows in the quest: Ritual of Shadows, if he did not originally own it. However, may heroes win Staff of Light, as per Rewards section?

    A: Yes, the heroes can win the Staff of Light in that quest, regardless of whether or not the overlord owned that relic going into the quest. (1)

    Q: In the Ritual of Shadows, when transiting to encounter 2, it is possible that there are flesh moulders or even Lord Merick himself at the exit (due to Crossbow or Trueshot not dealing damage, just moving him in encounter 1). Does that mean that some heroes will be placed in the nearest empty squares for those cases?

    A: Yes, this is technically possible. (1)

    Q: The odd case in the above question could be that Lord Merick could be at the innermost part of the exit, blocked by 3 heroes. Would that waste the fatigue he earned in encounter 1?

    A: No, this would be pretty seriously against the intent of the quest, so even if surrounded (in what I would suggest would be a rare case to begin with), he would be able to move through the heroes. (1)

    Q: Can Blood Rage be used on Lord Merick in encounter 1? It would create the odd scenario where neither side could win because they cannot fulfill the victory condition. And if it can be played, does Lord Merick get 2 attacks, given that he is only able to perform the ritual, according to the quest guide?

    A: That is an issue with the quest that will be clarified in a future errata. The victory condition for the heroes should instead read, "If Lord Merick Farrow suffers any amount of damage or is defeated, read the following aloud:" This also covers any odd possibilities of him being suffering a condition without having to be damaged first, and some other strange interactions. (1)

    Q: If the Overlord wins this quest, can the overlord hand back tier 1/2 cards while keeping the tier 3 card?

    A: Yes, the requirement of having previous levels is only for the purchase of the level 3 overlord cards, not in keeping them. If the overlord wins that quest, he can keep a level 3 card while returning the lower level cards. (1)

    -- The Shadow Vault

    Q: In "Shadow Vault," if there is a monster standing on the Stream space closest to the River's Edge, may a hero swim to the closest available stream space? ...

    A: ...If something is blocking it, you follow normal rules of placing the figure in the closest empty space. (1)

    Q: In the Shadow Vault quest, may the OL use "Unholy Ritual" on the monsters that are placed on the river edge when they cannot be activated?

    A: Yes, that is possible. With the rules as written, there is nothing preventing the overlord from playing Unholy Ritual in cases such as the one found in "The Shadow Vault" quest. (1)

    Q: Is the Overlord able to block the heroes from using the stairs (red tokens) by having Zachareth standing on the red token in the cave behind the locked door?

    A: Yes, the overlord could block heroes from using the stairs by having Zachareth standing on the red token behind the locked door. (1)

    -- The Twin Idols

    Q: In the twin idols, how is a monster who is carrying the idol affected by a stun condition? (the quest rules say he can only take one action, either move or drop the idol) Does he remove the stun and end his turn, or can he still move like a normal monster after removing the stun?

    A: He would remove the Stun and end his turn. (1)

    -- The Wyrm Turns

    Q: In "The Wyrm Turns", Encounter 1, Belthir can perform 1 move action and another action that isn't a move. Can Belthir spend this second action to do his special action "Cry Havoc" to gain more distance?

    A: No, Belthir cannot use Cry Havoc in the same turn he performs a move action during The Wyrm Turns because it allows him to perform a second move action. However, he may use Cry Havoc if he doesn't perform another move action during his turn. I hope this helps! (1)

    • Expansion/Mini-campaign: Lair of the Wyrm

    Q: Do the Lair of the Wyrm quests such as "Gold Digger," "Rude Awakening," and "What's Yours Is Mine" award one xp per player at completion?

    A: The Lair of the Wyrm quests do not award any XP if they're played in a full campaign as rumors, mostly because adding too much extra XP could cause unfortunate math issues (as you clearly saw). They do, however, award XP if played as a mini campaign (rules are online if you hadn't seen them). (1)

    -- At the Forge

    Q: In "At the Forge" encounter 1, the Shadow Dragons "cannot be moved by any game effect which would allow them to move additional steps". However, can they be moved by Crossbow/Trueshot?

    A: In this particular case, no, they wouldn't be able to be moved by the Crossbow or Trueshot. (1)

    Q: In "At the Forge" encounter 2, can Shadow Dragons be chosen as one of the open group, regardless of whether any dragon escaped encounter 1? Can Reinforce be played on Shadow Dragons if they are not chosen as an Open Group (because they are stated in the "Monster" section of that quest?

    A: Yes, you could choose shadow dragons as an open group if none of them moved off the map, but no, Reinforce could not be used in this case, since the overlord only receives shadow dragons as a monster group if he wins the encounter. (1)

    -- What's Yours is Mine

    Q: Can I use dark priest's "Dark Prayer" to give the fatigue token to Jorem? Or is it just by damage alone?

    A: The answer is no for 2 reasons, actually. First, Dark Prayer is not an attack (and Jorem Tolk is a figure that can be targeted and affected by attacks with nothing else mentioned). Second, Jorem Tolk is not treated as a hero figure, so Dark Prayer would have no effect on him. (1)

    Q: Can the Master Ettin "Throw" Jorem?

    A: Since Jorem Tolk is not treated as a "hero" figure, the master ettin could not Throw him. (1)

    • Expansion/Campaign: Labyrinth of Ruin

    -- Gathering Foretold

    Q: What happen if the quest allow some monster to exit the map before the encounter end and they can carrying the sunstone? For example Gathering Foretold encounter. Spling Reclamation, monster carrying the talisman and the sunstone. Do they drop the sunstone at the last space of the exit or it count as overlord gaining the sunstone.

    A: It would count as the overlord gaining the sunstone. (1)

    -- Honor Among Thieves

    Q: In Honor Among Thieves E2, does Raythen's Investigate apply when he checks an objective token that is revealed to be a search token?

    A: Yes. (1)

    Q: In Honor Among Thieves E2, can the OL card Mimic be played when an objective token is revealed to be a search token?

    A: Yes, the token would be revealed, and before a Search card is drawn, the overlord could play Mimic. After (if) the "reaver" is defeated, the closest hero would finally draw the Search card and discard the green obj. token. (1)

    -- Tipping the Scales

    Q: Can a hero pick up and carry more than 1 objective token at a time? Is this generally true of other quests where heroes can pick up objective tokens?

    A: Each quest should state if more than one token can be picked up. If it is not stated, usually that means there is not limit. Unfortunately, that general rule does not apply in this case. Although it is not stated, the intent of Tipping the Scales is that only one weight can be carried at a time. (1)

    -- Through The Mist

    Q: It says that the heroes are lost if they are not within 3 spaces of the Will-o-wisp or within 3 spaces of a hero that can see the will-o-wisp. Can the heroes chain this: Hero A can see Wisp, Hero B can see Hero A, and Hero C can see Hero B? Or does it only have 1 link?

    A: No, heroes cannot chain seeing the wisp as in your example. “If a hero or ally cannot measure line of sight to the wisp and they are not within 3 spaces of a hero or ally that can measure line of sight to the wisp, they are lost.” (1)

    » Uncategorized

    -- there are currently no items in this category --

    [What Links Here]
    Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
    Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.