500 1000 1500 2000 2500 3000 3500 4000 4500 5000 5500 6000 6500 7000 7500 8000 8500 9000 9500 10000 10500 11000
Announcement – 2015 Support Drive – Ending in:
424 supporters - GeekGold Bonus for All 2015 Supporters: 4.24 + 0.16 = 4.4
Search: Titles Only:
Article Edit | History | Editors

Mykerinos FAQ

This is a collection of all the answers to all the rules questions from the Mykerinos forum. Feel free to fix things or add new rules questions as you see them.

List of game FAQs


Q. Does the first player get to choose how the tiles are laid out, or which way up they are placed?
A. No. After shuffling, the tiles should be laid out directly into the setup grid without being examined. This is most easily done by placing them in complete rows from side to side.

Phase 1. A New Season

Q. How many cards are laid out each season?
A. 8 cards in 4 regions of 2 card each are laid out in seasons 1, 2, and 3. 12 cards in 6 regions of 2 cards each are laid out in season 4.

Q. How many cubes does each player take?
A. in a 3-player game, each player takes 11 cubes. In a 4 player game, they each take 8 cubes from the general stock. If the general stock doesn't have enough cubes, the players take all the cubes that are there. If the players have cubes from a previous season, they keep them and still take their full number of cubes.

Phase 2. Excavations

Q. Can I place a cube on a space with a pyramid?
A. Usually no, but you may place one cube on a pyramid space on a turn where you used Lord Lemon as a patron.

Q. May a start a new excavation (place just one cube) adjacant to one of my existing excavations?
A. Yes. You may start a new excavation on any non-occupied, non-pyramid space, even one adjacent to your cubes.

Q. When expanding an excavation, where can I place my first cube?
A. You may place it on any empty, non-pyramid space which is orthogonally adjacent to one of your existing cubes. (exception: Lord Lemon)

Q. How about the second expansion cube?
A. The second cube must be placed orthogonally adjacent to the first cube, in an empty, non-pyramid space. (exception: Lord Lemon)

Q. When expanding an excavation, can I expand between regions?
A. Yes. As illustrated in the rules, the gaps between regions are only to help people visualise the regions for scoring. Adjacency behaves as if all the regions were pushed together and touching.

Q. Can I play more than one patron in a turn?
A. No. Only one patron can be used per turn. The patron card you used is turned to the side and may not be used again this season.

Q. When am I forced to pass?
A. You are forced to pass when you have no cubes (or special cards) remaining, or if everyone else has already passed and you have already taken your final action.

Q. Must I pass if I have no cubes, but a Lady Violet remaining?
A. No. If you have cubes in the general supply, you can still use Lady Violet to get one of those cubes and then carry out a new excavation action.

Q. Does anyone skip playing a pass marker?
A. No. At the end of the round, every played will have placed a pass marker, either by choosing the Pass action, or being forced to pass. Both cause them to place their pass marker.

Q. If I play my last cube, do I pass automatically and place my pass marker?
A. No. You will be forced to pass when it is next your turn.


Q. What does Lord Lemon allow me to do?
A. You may take a normal start an excavation or expand an excavation action and you may place one of your cubes on a space containing a pyramid. If you are expanding, you may not place both cubes on spaces with pyramids.

Phase 3. Survey

Q. Can a player choose to go to the museum if they have no cubes in the general supply, but some in their player supply?
A. No. Only cubes from the general supply can be placed in the museum

Q. Are cubes from the regions placed back into the general supply before the next region is evaluated?
A. Yes! Cubes from each region are returned to the general supply after it has been completely evaluated. They cannot be used to place in the museum as a result of evaluating this region, but may be available to place when evaluating a later region.

Q. Can players choose the order of evaluation?
A. No. The rulebook gives a numbered diagram which specifies the exact order of region evaluation.

Museum placement

Q. Can a place a cube in any room in the museum?
A. You may always place a cube in an unoccupied 2- or 3-point room. You may place a cube in an unoccupied 5-point room provided that you already have a cube in one of the adjoining 2- or 3-point rooms.

Q. When the 5-point room in a wing is claimed, are the other rooms still available?
A. Yes. Once a room has a cube in it, that room is longer available to any other players, but other empty rooms are still available by the normal placement rules.

End of the phases

Q. What happens to unclaimed tiles?
A. They are removed from the game and set aside.

Q. Who becomes the first player?
A. The person who passed last. All players will have chosen to pass or have been forced to pass.

Q. How is the player order determined?
A. Starting with the first player (see last question) play proceeds clockwise around the table.

End of the Game (Scoring)

Q. How do I score cards for a patron if I have cubes in both adjacent 2-point rooms?
A. You always score cards according to the single highest point-value room. The highest of two 2-point rooms is 2.

Q. What if I have cubes in the 5 and the 3 point rooms?
A. You only score the highest of the rooms. You will score 5 points for this patron's cards.

Q. What if my only cube for two patrons is the 2-point room between them?
A. The in-between rooms can count for both patrons, so you will score 2 points for both.

2 Player Rules

Q. If a player passes, can they still place neutral cubes?
A. No. Once they take the pass action, they no nothing further in the Excavation phase, including placing neutral cubes.

Q. After the first player passes, the other player takes 1 more turn. Can they still play neutral cubes?
A. Yes. It is a normal turn.

Q. May a player still place neutral cubes after choosing the Patron action.
A. Yes. Even if the patron action does not let them place any of their own cubes, they may still place neutral cubes in the second part of their turn.

[What Links Here]
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.