Reviews by Scott (but not THAT Scott)
Scott Sexton
United States
Silver Lake
66539
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Recommend
62 
 Thumb up
8.00
 tip
 Hide
Greetings and salutations! My name is Scott Sexton and I like to write board game reviews. I'm not particularly funny. I'm not some analytical authority on games either. My skills as a writer and editor are at least suspect, so please, don't feel like you need to remind me of my shortcomings. Cool?

This GeekList is a place for me to collect my reviews so that at the very least I can remind myself that some of my reviews are particularly awful and I don't want to repeat those mistakes. A keen eyed observer may point out that I haven't linked 4 reviews I wrote to this list. These 4 reviews aren't worthy of your time and if I could change the past ... well you get the point. We all have regrets. In each entry I'll give you a couple quick thoughts and link you directly to the original review.

I'm going to indulge in a bit of self aggrandizement for just one moment. I wish more reviewers would share their "Gaming CV". My interest stems more from wanting to better understand a given reviewer's taste and perspective to see if they in any way match up with mine. After all, why should you listen to me if you want an opinion about stuff I hate or have no experience with?

I was born in 1978. I am old enough that I remember watching The Empire Strikes Back in the theater. The first time it was in theaters.

My first glimpse into the greater world of tabletop gaming (not including mass market stuff) was a collection of D&D Choose Your Own Adventures (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Endless_Quest) hidden away in my cousin's room. I fell in love with the swords & sorcery setting of D&D although, I've never played it. Fast forward five years or so and I found HeroQuest, which in turn led me to Battlemasters, which segued nicely into the Mutant Chronicle's Seige of the Citadel (1st edition). Oh yeah, and there was also a brief detour into Magic, Star Wars CCG, Doomtown, Lord of the Rings CCG and Jedi Knights TCG that lasted the better part of a decade. I had a truly epic complete collection of Heroscape which I had to sell just before my kids were born. I actually had a BGG account back then, but somehow I've managed to loose that avatar to the mists of time. Gaming took a back seat to parenting for a few years, but eventually, my kids gave me plenty of great excuses to get back into gaming.

I consider myself an omnigamer, but my tastes skew in favor of Ameritrash and games that embrace setting and narrative (or at least try to tell a good story). I am a firm believer that good games should try to empower gamers, give them rewarding choices, and offer positive feedback loops whenever possible.

I have 3 gaming groups. My pre-teen twins (son & daughter - they play whatever I force them to play, and they like it dammit). My meet-up group (we play anything). A private group (we meet for heavier, meatier games).

One last thing I want to mention. My reviews exist in part because I was inspired by three authors who write reviews that I particularly enjoy:

Charlie Theel
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


Daniel Thurot
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


Raf Cordero
United States
Bolingbrook
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


Do yourself a favor and check out their excellent work.

I hope you find some games on this list worth checking out!

PS- I've been asked several times about the meaning of my Avatar's badge, "Follow your bliss." You can learn more about the philosophy of Joseph Campbell here:

https://www.brainpickings.org/2015/04/09/find-your-bliss-jos...
Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
  • [+] Dice rolls
1. Board Game: Valley of the Kings added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-15 15:36:43
2. Board Game: Neuroshima: Convoy added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-17 12:21:22
3. Board Game: The New Era added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-17 12:34:59
4. Board Game: Magnum Opus added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-17 12:44:22
5. Board Game: Spell Saga added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-17 12:53:52
6. Board Game: The Valkyrie Incident added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-17 13:02:48
7. Board Game: Fallen added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-17 13:31:47
8. Board Game: Baseball Highlights: 2045 added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-17 13:40:18
9. Board Game: Omen: A Reign of War added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 10:36:40
10. Board Game: Lords of War: Templars versus Undead added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 10:46:40
11. Board Game: World of Tanks: Rush added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 10:54:38
12. Board Game: Demonslayer: Siege of Mt. Kunlun added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 11:02:17
13. Board Game: Eminent Domain: Microcosm added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 11:06:11
14. Board Game: Soulfall added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 11:18:13
15. Board Game: Warband: Against the Darkness added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 11:20:54
16. Board Game: Hostage Negotiator added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 11:28:03
17. Board Game: Baseball Highlights: 2045 added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 11:30:52
18. Board Game: Fleet Wharfside added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 11:34:46
19. Board Game: Xenon Profiteer added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 11:40:06
20. Board Game: Kingdom Death: Monster added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 11:46:13
21. Board Game: Battle For Souls added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 11:49:10
22. Board Game: Zombicide: Black Plague added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 11:51:15
23. Board Game: Salvation Road added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 11:59:17
24. Board Game: Princes of the Dragon Throne added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 12:03:34
25. Board Game: Camp Grizzly added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 13:16:15
26. Board Game: Deep Space D-6 added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 13:20:24
27. Board Game: Mystic Vale added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 15:27:15
28. Board Game: Mansions of Madness: Second Edition added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 15:54:18
29. Board Game: Grifters added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 16:40:11
30. Board Game: Tyrants of the Underdark added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-22 16:57:11
31. Board Game: Mythos Tales added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-27 17:17:29
32. Board Game: Terraforming Mars added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-27 17:22:51
33. Board Game: Nexus Ops added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-27 17:31:21
34. Board Game: Clockwork Wars added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-27 17:37:25
35. Board Game: Argent: The Consortium added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-27 17:44:23
36. Board Game: Dominare added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-29 09:49:03
37. Board Game: Clank!: A Deck-Building Adventure added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-29 09:53:57
38. Board Game: Istanbul added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-29 10:01:56
39. Board Game: Inis added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-29 10:04:09
40. Board Game: Omen: Edge of the Aegean added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-29 10:38:16
41. Board Game: Fields of Green added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-29 10:40:38
42. Board Game: XenoShyft: Dreadmire added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-29 10:44:46
43. Board Game: Villages of Valeria added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-29 10:47:18
44. Board Game: Gloomhaven added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-29 10:54:36
45. Board Game: Eclipse added by scottatlaw on 2017-03-29 10:58:41
46. Board Game: Grimslingers added by scottatlaw on 2017-04-11 09:45:37
47. Board Game: Ethnos added by scottatlaw on 2017-06-06 14:51:47
48. Board Game: Viticulture Essential Edition added by scottatlaw on 2017-06-06 16:29:32
49. Board Game: Gloom of Kilforth: A Fantasy Quest Game added by scottatlaw on 2017-06-13 10:00:44
50. Board Game: Nemo's War (second edition) added by scottatlaw on 2017-06-23 18:08:55
51. Board Game: Secrets of the Lost Tomb added by scottatlaw on 2017-06-27 14:11:47
52. Board Game: Star Wars: Destiny added by scottatlaw on 2017-09-07 09:57:40
53. Board Game: Eschaton added by scottatlaw on 2017-09-15 12:34:05
54. Board Game: The 7th Continent added by scottatlaw on 2017-09-22 12:51:36
55. Board Game: Folklore: The Affliction added by scottatlaw on 2017-10-26 11:01:57
56. Board Game: Warhammer Underworlds: Shadespire added by scottatlaw on 2017-11-20 10:45:30
57. Board Game: Legacy of Dragonholt added by scottatlaw on 2017-12-05 08:43:30
58. Board Game: Path of Light and Shadow added by scottatlaw on 2017-12-20 16:56:55
59. Board Game: Escape the Dark Castle added by scottatlaw on 2018-01-19 11:05:23
60. Board Game: Dinosaur Island added by scottatlaw on 2018-02-09 10:59:21
61. Board Game: Lords of Hellas added by scottatlaw on 2018-03-07 09:02:51
62. Board Game: Thunderstone Quest added by scottatlaw on 2018-03-19 14:37:16
63. Board Game: Hoplomachus: The Lost Cities added by scottatlaw on 2018-06-26 15:26:47
64. Board Game: Too Many Bones added by scottatlaw on 2018-07-19 14:51:32
65. Board Game: Warhammer 40,000: Heroes of Black Reach added by scottatlaw on 2018-12-11 10:12:02
66. Board Game: Fleet: The Dice Game added by scottatlaw on 2018-12-18 08:13:08
67. Board Game: Obsession added by scottatlaw on 2018-12-27 08:33:01
68. Board Game: Blitz Bowl added by scottatlaw on 2018-12-27 08:41:39
69. Board Game: Coma Ward added by scottatlaw on 2019-01-16 18:22:44
70. Board Game: Hand of Fate: Ordeals added by scottatlaw on 2019-01-17 08:39:56
71. Board Game: HATE added by scottatlaw on 2019-03-11 22:07:06
72. Board Game: Sorcerer added by scottatlaw on 2019-05-08 16:34:11
73. Board Game: Run Fight or Die: Reloaded added by scottatlaw on 2019-08-14 17:58:43