The Gloomhaven Rules Quiz
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Recommend
397 
 Thumb up
180
 tip
 Hide
If you are just starting Gloomhaven, I highly recommend answering basic questions on monster AI I collected in this PDF and maybe come back afterwards:

Basic Monster AI Questions

In contrast, the quiz below tests your in-depth knowledge of the current rule-set of Gloomhaven. It includes many special questions that are irrelevant for everyday game play as corresponding situations are unlikely to occur. Essentially, it's a quiz for people who like to know every nut and every bolt of the rule-set.

The Geeklist includes all questions and explanations originally posted by Broaster House in this thread. I corrected questions and answers that were affected by a recent FAQ. All questions and explanations should therefore reflect the current rule-set.

There are two great programs out which might generally be very helpful for many users who are interested in the intricacies of monster movement/focus: Gloomhaven AI and Monster Mover Web App


Have fun!
Sadgit
Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: Gloomhaven [+] gh [+] [View All]
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »    |  
1. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #1
by Broaster House

Quiz
M1 is up and has Move 1, Attack. How does it move?
From gallery of Broaster House
    23353 answers
Quiz created by Broaster House

M = Monster; C = Player character; Brown hex = Obstacle; Green "T" hex = damage trap; Black = wall; White = empty hex

Explanation:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
To get to its target, M1 has to move 3 hexes to either the hex NW or NE of C1. Moving to "a" or "b" shortens that path to 2 hexes, so it does so.
Hex "a" and "b" are equivalent so players can choose which one it goes to.
47 
 Thumb up
5.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
2. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #2
by Broaster House
Quiz
Question 2
M1 is up and has Move 1, Attack. How does it move?
From gallery of Broaster House
    22471 answers
Quiz created by Broaster House

M = Monster; C = Player character; Brown hex = Obstacle; Green "T" hex = damage trap; Black = wall; White = empty hex

Explanation:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
What makes this different than question 1 is that the shortest path for M1 to attack its target is to move 3 hexes through its allies to the hex directly north of C1. Moving to "a" or "b" results in it still being 3 hexes away from its target. Since this is no closer (and it can't land on the hex with M2) it doesn't move.
60 
 Thumb up
0.06
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
3. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #3
by Broaster House
Quiz
Question 3
M1 is up and has Move 2, Attack. What does it do?
From gallery of Broaster House
    22103 answers
Quiz created by Broaster House

EDIT: Initiative order is: Start of Round > C1 > C2 > C3 > End of Round

M = Monster; C = Player character; Brown hex = Obstacle; Green "T" hex = damage trap; Black = wall; White = empty hex

Explanation:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
M1 first chooses its focus. It takes 2 movement to get to either C1 or C2, so the tie-breaker is whichever enemy is closer "by the crow flies", not counting obstacles. C2 is closer by this measure, so M1 focuses on C2. (Initiative is only used as a second tie-breaker, which isn't needed here.) Since "a" and "b" are equivalent, players choose.
38 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
4. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #4
by Broaster House
Quiz
Question 4
M1 is up and has Move 2, Attack. How does it move?
From gallery of Broaster House
    21383 answers
Quiz created by Broaster House

M = Monster; C = Player character; Brown hex = Obstacle; Green "T" hex = damage trap; Black = wall; White = empty hex

Explanation:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The shortest path for M1 to get to its target (and also the only path that doesn't spring a trap) is to move 3 hexes through its allies to the hex north of C1. Since it can't get there, or even shorten that path, with the 2 movement it has, it stays put.
23 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
5. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #5
by Broaster House
Quiz
Question 5
M1 is up and has Move 3, Attack. How does it move?
From gallery of Broaster House
    20979 answers
Quiz created by Broaster House

M = Monster; C = Player character; Brown hex = Obstacle; Green "T" hex = damage trap; Black = wall; White = empty hex

Explanation:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
M1 cannot move through its enemy C1. Nor can it stand where M3 is to attack. So its only path to the target is the long way around through the trap. It shortens that path as much as it can with its movement, which puts it on the trap. Sorry about that, M1.
28 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
6. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #6
by Broaster House
Quiz
Question 6
M1 has Move 2, Attack. How does it move?
From gallery of Broaster House
    19836 answers
Quiz created by Broaster House

M = Monster; C = Player character; Brown hex = Obstacle; Green "T" hex = damage trap; Black = wall; White = empty hex

Explanation:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
This is similar to the previous question in that there is no path for M1 to get to its target other than the long way around. Again M3 is in its way. So rather than heading in a direction that it can't attack from
("c"), it embarks on the long journey around the obstacles. Since both the east and west route are 11 hexes long, they are equivalent and players can choose which path it takes.
14 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
7. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #7
by Broaster House
Quiz
Question 7
M1 is up and has Move 2, Attack Range 2. How does it move?
From gallery of Broaster House
    19281 answers
Quiz created by Broaster House

M = Monster; C = Player character; Brown hex = Obstacle; Green "T" hex = damage trap; Black = wall; White = empty hex

Explanation:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
This setup is superficially similar to question 4, with the key difference that the path through M1's allies is now blocked by an obstacle. The only hex from which M1 can attack is 2 hexes north of C1, from where it can range C1 across the obstacle. And the only path to get to that spot is through the trap.
23 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
8. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #8
by Broaster House
Quiz
Question 8
M1 is up and has Move 2, Attack Range 2, Target 3. What does it do?
From gallery of Broaster House
    18516 answers
Quiz created by Broaster House

Initiative order is: Start of Round > C1 > C2 > C3 > End of Round
M = Monster; C = Player character; Brown hex = Obstacle; Green "T" hex = damage trap; Black = wall; White = empty hex

Explanation:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The rules state that a monster will maximize its attack on its primary target before worrying about other targets. In this case its primary focus is C2, since C2 is closest to it. M1 will therefore prioritize attacking C2 without disadvantage over being able to hit a third target (C3). The only way for M1 to hit all three targets AND make sure it hits C2 without disadvantage is to stand on the trap. However, monsters will only stand on a trap if there is no other way to focus on an enemy, which doesn't apply here. So M1 gives up on hitting C3 this time. As for C1 and C2, there is only one spot where M1 can attack both of them without disadvantage and that is "b".
29 
 Thumb up
1.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
9. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #9
by Broaster House

Monster ability card
Move 2
Attack Range 2
Target 3.

Initiative order is: Start of Round > C1 > C2 > C3 > End of Round
M1 is also Muddled.

From gallery of Broaster House

Quiz
What does M1 do?
    13505 answers
Quiz created by Sadgit

M = Monster; C = Player character; Brown hex = Obstacle; Green "T" hex = damage trap; Black = wall; White = empty hex

Explanation:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The whole reason that M1 did not attack C3 in the previous question was to make sure it didn't have disadvantage when attacking its primary target, C2. Now that M1 is Muddled, it can move to "f" and still attack C2 with maximum effect. It will have disadvantage no matter how it attacks C2. Therefore "f" becomes the attractive destination, from which M1 can attack 3 targets.

A simpler and more common application of this idea would be when a Muddled monster with a ranged attack is adjacent to its focus, it would not move back they way it would if were not Muddled.
24 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
10. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #10
by Broaster House

M1 ability card
Move 2
Attack 1
Range 2
Target 3

Initiative order
Start of Round > C1 > C2 > C3 > End of Round
M1 also has Flying.

From gallery of Broaster House

Quiz
What does M1 do?
    13070 answers
Quiz created by Sadgit

M = Monster; C = Player character; Brown hex = Obstacle; Green "T" hex = damage trap; Black = wall; White = empty hex

Explanation:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
I'll start by saying this question has generated considerable debate.
Monsters prioritize the following before moving:
1st - Lose disadvantage on its primary focus
2nd - Gain as many extra targets as possible using the focus rules from its current position to determine each target's priority
3rd - Lose disadvantage on the extra targets (all equal priority, players decide ties)

Thus, M1 moves over the trap (without springing it) and attacks C2, attacks C1 with disadvantage, and attacks C3
22 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
11. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #11
by Broaster House
Quiz
Question 11
M1 is up and has Move 1, Attack Range 2. What does it do?
From gallery of Broaster House
    15895 answers
Quiz created by Broaster House

Initiative order
Start of Round > C1 > C2 > End of Round

M = Monster; C = Player character; Brown hex = Obstacle; Green "T" hex = damage trap; Black = wall; White = empty hex

Explanation:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Since M1 can focus on a target without stepping on the trap, it won't step on the trap. It's focus is C2 since C2 is closest to it. Since there is no way to avoid disadvantage with only 1 movement, it accepts disadvantage and stays put.
18 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
12. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #12
by Broaster House

M1 ability card:
Move 2
Attack 1
Range 2
Target 2

EDIT: Initiative order
Start of Round > C1 > C2 > C3 > C4 > End of Round

From gallery of Broaster House

M = Monster; C = Player character; Brown hex = Obstacle; Green "T" hex = damage trap; Black = wall; White = empty hex
Quiz
What does M1 do?
    12447 answers
Quiz created by Sadgit


Explanation:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
M1 focuses on either C2 or C3 depending on initiative order. M1 chooses its second target before moving to lose disadvantage on its focused target. Thus, this would be either C2 or C3 (depending on its focus). In order lose Disadvantage on its focus and still be able to attack its second target, M1 needs to move to either "a" or "b".
21 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
13. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #13
by Broaster House
Quiz
Question 13
M1 is up and has Move 3, Attack. What does it do?
From gallery of Broaster House
    14794 answers
Quiz created by Broaster House

Initiative order
Start of Round > C1 > C2 > C3 > C4 > End of Round

M = Monster; C = Player character; Brown hex = Obstacle; Green "T" hex = damage trap; Black = wall; White = empty hex

Explanation:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
M1 first finds its focus. There is no need to step on a trap since there is a path to an enemy without doing so. Therefore the trap is effectively an obstacle. This means that the path to C3 is 5 hexes. The path to C1 to move 4 hexes, including through M2. The path to C2 is also 4 hexes, passing through M2 and M3. C1 and C2 are then tied for shortest path. The tie-breaker then goes to C2 since it is closer "by the crow flies" (not counting obstacles). So M1 will focus on C2 and move along that path. But its third and final movement is blocked by M3 so it stops short of that at "c". Using the last movement to reach "d" does not get it any close to its target C2.
27 
 Thumb up
2.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
14. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #14
by Sadgit

M1 ability card:
Move 1
Attack 1
Range 2
Target 2

From gallery of Sadgit

Quiz
What does M1 do?
    11537 answers
Quiz created by Sadgit


Explanation
Spoiler (click to reveal)
M1 focuses C3 based on proximity (=1). Its second priority is to lose Disadvantage, which is only possible by moving to "a". From "a" it can attack C2 and C1. Both are tied for movement path length (=0) and proximity (=2) counting from "a". Thus, the common misconception is that initiative order is the tie-breaker and M1 should attack C3 and C2. However, the second target is identified based on the position of the monster before moving. This results in M1 focusing on C3, choosing "a" as the hex to move to but choosing C1 as a second target based on movement path length from its current position (0 hexes for C1 vs. 1 hex for C2).
30 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
15. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #15
by Sadgit

M1 ability card:
Move 2
Attack 1
Range 3
Target 3

C3 is taking a long rest,
EDIT: C1 is not resting.


From gallery of Sadgit

Quiz
What does M1 do?
    10489 answers
Quiz created by Sadgit


Explanation
Spoiler (click to reveal)
M1 focuses C2 over C3 based on initiative order. M1 can hit two additional targets by moving two hexes (to b) and it can reach every enemy from there. Hence, all additional targets are tied for movement distance. We move on to the first tie breaker, and C3 is chosen as the second target based on proximity. As a third target C1 is chosen based on initiative order, as resting heroes go last and summons directly before their controller, thus initiative order is C2>C1>S3>C3.
27 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
16. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #16
by Dan Baker (dbaker)

M1 ability card:
Move 4
Attack 1
Target 3

From gallery of Sadgit

Quiz
What does M1 do?
    8915 answers
Quiz created by Sadgit

Explanation
Spoiler (click to reveal)
M will focus on character 2, then move to (d) and attack 2, 4, and 3, as that’s the only place it can reach to attack its focus and two others.
16 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
17. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #17
by Dan Baker (dbaker)

M1 ability card:
Move 4
Attack 1
Target 3

From gallery of Sadgit

Quiz
What will M1 do?
    8667 answers
Quiz created by Sadgit

Explanation
Spoiler (click to reveal)
M will focus on character 1, then move to (a) and attack 1 and 2. It would like to find a third target to attack, but cannot do so this turn while still attacking its focus.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
18. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #18
by Dan Baker (dbaker)

M1 ability card:
Move 4
Attack 1 as an area effect
From gallery of Sadgit


From gallery of Sadgit

Quiz
What will M1 do?
    6253 answers
Quiz created by Marty78


This question has been updated according to a new FAQ on 10/07/2018. Comments with earlier time-stamps below might refer to the previous version of this question.

Explanation
Spoiler (click to reveal)
M will focus on C2. This means that M will make sure it attacks atleast C2. As second priority it will try and attack as many targets as possible. As third priority it wants to move as short as possible. This means M will move to (a) and attack C2 and C3.
16 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
19. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #19
by Dan Baker (dbaker)

M1 ability card:
Move 6
Attack 1
Target 3

From gallery of Sadgit

Quiz
What will M1 do?
    6116 answers
Quiz created by Marty78


This question has been updated according to a new FAQ on 10/07/2018. Comments with earlier time-stamps below might refer to the previous version of this question.

Explanation
Spoiler (click to reveal)
M will focus on C2. This means that M will make sure it attacks atleast C2. As second priority it will try and attack as many targets as possible. As third priority it wants to move as short as possible. This means M will move to (d) and attack C2, C3 and C4.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
20. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #20
by Sadgit as suggested by N/A

M1 ability card:
Move 2
Attack 1

From gallery of Sadgit

Quiz
What will M1 do?
    8313 answers
Quiz created by Sadgit

Explanation
Spoiler (click to reveal)
M1 will focus on C1 (based on proximity to its current position), the only available attack-hex is c. It will move to b triggering the trap as there is no other path to c available
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
21. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #21
by Marty78

From gallery of Marty78

Numbers = Initiative

Red 1 is up and has Move 2 (Jump), Attack

Quiz
What will Red 1 do?
    5609 answers
Quiz created by Marty78

Brown Hex = Obstacle; Gray Hex (or Thick Line) = Wall; Green Hex = Trap; Purple Hex = Difficult Terrain

Explanation
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Red 1 has Jump, so based on infinite movement the closest hex it can attack from (the destination hex) will be the hex just west of Blue 1, which would require 3 movement points to reach (with Jump the difficult terrain hex costs only 1 movement point to move through). But Red 1 only has Move 2 which means it will not be able to reach the destination hex, but will instead try and get as close to it as possible. It will not be able to end its movement on the difficult terrain hex since despite having Jump, landing ON the difficult terrain hex would cost its regular amount of movement points for that hex - ie it would cost a total of 3 movement points to land on the difficult terrain hex. Moving to either (a), (b) or (c) would leave Red 1 with 2 movement points left to reach the destination hex, but since (b) and (c) (which would require 2 movement points to reach) does not put it any closer to the destination hex than moving to (a) would (which only requires 1 movement point) Red 1 moves to (a).
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
22. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #22
by Marty78

From gallery of Marty78

Numbers = Initiative

Red 1 is up and has Move 2 (Jump), Attack

Quiz
What will Red 1 do?
    5298 answers
Quiz created by Marty78

Brown Hex = Obstacle; Gray Hex (or Thick Line) = Wall; Green Hex = Trap; Purple Hex = Difficult Terrain

Explanation
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Although Red 1 has Jump it does not matter in this case since it would need to land ON the difficult terrain hex to attack Blue 1. The cost for moving there would require 3 movement points no matter what. The hex northwest of Blue 1 and the hex southwest of Blue 1 are also legal destination hexes that requires 3 movement points to reach. That means that the players can decide that Red 1 can try and reach any of these 3 hexes. Depending on which one they choose Red 1 will move either to (a) which will put Red 1 as close as it can to the hex west of Blue 1, or (b) which will put Red 1 as close as it can to the hex northwest of Blue, or (c) which will put Red 1 as close as it can to the hex southwest of Blue 1.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
23. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #23
by Marty78

From gallery of Marty78

Numbers = Initiative

Red 1 is up and has Move 2 (Jump), Attack

Quiz
What will Red 1 do?
    4886 answers
Quiz created by Marty78

Brown Hex = Obstacle; Gray Hex (or Thick Line) = Wall; Green Hex = Trap; Purple Hex = Difficult Terrain

Explanation
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Red 1 has Jump, so based on infinite movement the closest hex it can attack from (the destination hex) will be the hex just west of Blue 1, which would require 3 movement points to reach (with Jump the trap would not trigger unless it lands on it). But Red 1 only has Move 2 which means it will not be able to reach the destination hex, but will instead try and get as close to it as possible. It will not end its movement on the trap since that would trigger the trap. Moving to (a) or (b) would result in moving further away from the destination hex while moving to (c) would move it 1 step closer to the destination hex (this is true because of Jump, although Red 1 might not have Jump in a later turn it still bases its decisions on the idea that it will) so Red 1 will move to (c).
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
24. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #24
by Marty78

From gallery of Marty78

Numbers = Initiative

Red 1 is up and has Move 3, Attack Range 3, Target 3

Quiz
What will Red 1 do?
    4681 answers
Quiz created by Marty78

Brown Hex = Obstacle; Gray Hex (or Thick Line) = Wall; Green Hex = Trap; Purple Hex = Difficult Terrain

Explanation
Spoiler (click to reveal)
- Red 1 finds its focus. All enemies can be reached without moving, so the tie is broken based on proximity and Blue 2 becomes the focus.
- Red 1 has a ranged attack, so it will avoid disadvantage on its focus if possible. Therefore the destination hex cannot be adjacent to Blue 2.
- Red will now try to target as many targets as possible, three in this case (e.g. from (a)).
- Since there are multiple possible sets of 3 targets which include the focus, the monster now ranks the additional targets by the focus rules:
- Since all monsters can be reached from (a), movement distance is the same for all of them and we move on to the proximity tie breaker.
- Blue 1 is closest to the monster, so it becomes the secondary priority, narrowing down the possible target sets to 1-2-3 and 1-2-4. However, 3 and 4 are both the same distance from the monster, so we move on to initiative as the final tie breaker.
- Blue 3 has the lower initiative, so it becomes the tertiary target.
- Quick recap: the monster will definitely attack 1, 2, and 3, avoiding disadvantage on 2.
- Now the monster will avoid disadvantage on as many additional targets as possible (they all have equal priority for this). With Move 3 it's not possible to avoid disadvantage on both 1 and 3, but it can avoid disadvantage on one of them.
- Finally, the monster will move as little as possible within the above constraints, which results in (a) as the unique destination hex.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
25. Board Game: Gloomhaven [Average Rating:8.81 Overall Rank:1] [Average Rating:8.81 Unranked]
Board Game: Gloomhaven
Guido Hansen
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Citizenship Recognition - Level II - If I have seen further, it's only by standing on the apex of other's dice.Microbadge: Geek RegularMicrobadge: Geek of the WeekMicrobadge: I finished Gloomhaven!Microbadge: Descent 2nd Edition fan
Question #25
by Marty78

From gallery of Marty78

Numbers = Initiative

Red 1 is up and has Move 4, Attack, Target 2

Quiz
What will Red 1 do?
    4565 answers
Quiz created by Marty78

Brown Hex = Obstacle; Gray Hex (or Thick Line) = Wall; Green Hex = Trap; Purple Hex = Difficult Terrain

Explanation
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Red 1 will focus on Blue 1 (Blue 3 requires 3 movement points to get to a hex from where it can be attacked, Blue 1 requires 3 movement points to get to a hex from where it can be attacked, Blue 2 requires 4 movement points to get to a hex from where it can be attacked. Blue 1 and Blue 3 both have a proximity of 4 so in the end Blue 1 "wins" because of initiative) which means it will make sure to attack at least Blue 1. As its second priority it will try and attack as many targets as possible and as its third priority it will choose the second target based on 1) shortest distance to attack the focus and the secondary target (this still makes both "b" and "c" valid destination hexes; they are both 4 movements points away) 2) proximity (Both Blue 2 and Blue 3 have a proximity of 4) so it comes down to 3) initiative, where 2 "wins" over 3. This means that Red 1 will move to (c) and attack Blue 1 and Blue 2.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
1 , 2  Next »    |  
Loading... | Locked Hide Show Unlock Lock Comment     View Previous {{limitCount(numprevitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
{{error.message}}
{{comment.error.message}}
    View More Comments {{limitCount(numnextitems_calculated,commentParams.showcount)}} / {{numnextitems_calculated}} 1 « Pg. {{commentParams.pageid}} » {{data.config.endpage}}
1 , 2  Next »    |