Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

BANG!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Order of play rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Dossett
msg tools
The debates in our group always revolve around the order cards are played in and the order in which effects take place, especially when 'hit everyone' cards are played, like Indians and Gatling.

My question is this:
Do you fully resolve, in order clockwise, each 'attack' starting from the player to the current player's left?

A couple examples:
1) Gatling is played. Starting with the player on the attacking player's left: player 1 (Any char) has a barrel, player 2 (Suzy) only has a missed, player 3 has no cards and one life. Does player 3 die before player 1's barrel goes into effect? Does suzy play her missed first and get the top card, or does the barrel get played first? Does Suzy get her card before the attacking player gets 3 cards if player 3 dies and is an outlaw?

2) Indians is played. Starting with the player on the attacking player's left: player 1 (any char) has one life and no bangs, player 2 has a bang, player 3 is Herb Hunter with one life and no bangs. Does Herb die before he gets two cards for player 1 dying? Or does he get the two cards first?

Basically, the question is, can things happen 'simultaneously' in Bang, or does everything have to be resolved in order for each player before continuing?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Fully resolved in clockwise order.

So in your example 1, player 1 resolves barrel first, then plays missed cards (if needed). When complete, Player 2 then resolves Gatling completely next. When complete, Player 3 resolves Gatling next.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Ransford
United States
Jeffersonville
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Based on my recollection of the rules, the shooter gets to choose the order of attacks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Dossett
msg tools
RPardoe wrote:
Fully resolved in clockwise order.

So in your example 1, player 1 resolves barrel first, then plays missed cards (if needed). When complete, Player 2 then resolves Gatling completely next. When complete, Player 3 resolves Gatling next.


So to be clear, in example 2, Herb Hunter would get his two cards (for the resolution of player 1 dying) before he dies (from not having a bang), thereby getting a chance to draw a bang?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Tholén
Sweden
Norsborg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
spoonsjtd wrote:

So to be clear, in example 2, Herb Hunter would get his two cards (for the resolution of player 1 dying) before he dies (from not having a bang), thereby getting a chance to draw a bang?


Yes. I'm quite sure there's a thread here somwhere with the designer discussing this very thing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bad News [bnw] wrote:
spoonsjtd wrote:

So to be clear, in example 2, Herb Hunter would get his two cards (for the resolution of player 1 dying) before he dies (from not having a bang), thereby getting a chance to draw a bang?


Yes. I'm quite sure there's a thread here somwhere with the designer discussing this very thing.

Yes, there is thread about it, but you're wrong. The cards effect (gatling, injuns) are resolvet in clockwise order (playing bang!s, missed, barrels, etc), but post-effects are resolved later. So Herb Hunter can get his 2 cards after the gatling/injuns card so he is dead, and cannot draw.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.