Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Tzolk'in: The Mayan Calendar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Turn Order rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Williams
United Kingdom
Beckenham, KENT
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Hi

My group has now played this great, great game twice, and we are enjoying it immensely.

However, a few questions popped up both times which we resolved quickly at the time, with the intention of checking later. One such question concerns the turn order and the start player marker. We fully understand how to get the marker and what it does, but we're a little less sure about the after effect.

Does it alter the turn order, thereby meaning some players miss a turn? eg in a 4 player game, playing in order 1,2,3,4 if player 3 takes the marker, does the current turn end at 4, then restart at 3 and go round from there, ie 3,4,1,2 etc? Having now read the example in the rulebook I believe this to be correct but I want to double check

This is not how we played it in our first game, but it is how we played in our second, with neither way being agreed on by everyone. The reason some people disagreed is because it causes some players to "miss" a turn; eg in the above example, players 1 & 2 "miss" their turn in the sense that players 3 and 4 get to go again before they do. With us all being new players no one could state definitely if this was the intention or not.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Kayati
United States
Worthington
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nobody loses a turn.

This is why you leave your worker on the Start Player space and don't take the Start Player marker until the end of the round when all players have had their turn.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Yaure
United States
Plymouth Meeting
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jeff is correct, although based on your description osme of the players thought this was equivalent to missing a turn. Each turn of the game everyone gets a turn; the Start Player simply changes who the first player of that (and subsequent turns) is.

I am curious how the protesters thought the Start Player would be applied.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Williams
United Kingdom
Beckenham, KENT
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Hi and thanks.

When I say miss a turn I realise that no one actually misses a turn, come game end everyone will have had the same number of turns. I mean "miss" in the sense that if player 3 chooses the marker, then player 3 (and 4) will get to play again before players 1 & 2.

Christopher - In our first game, because we were unsure, we played it differently (and it was still immensely enjoyable so no great harm was done). When the marker was taken turn order was always maintained, so it always went player 1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4 etc etc, the only difference being to change the end of turn (and thus the turn of the gear).

So for example, if player 3 took the token, the turn did not end until after player 2 had moved, so the turn would be player 1,2,3 (takes turn marker),4,1,2 (turn ends, move gear). This had the effect of enlarging some rounds and compressing others, based on who took the marker.

On a related point - the rules state that corn is placed on the cog when it turns if no one has placed a piece on the first turn marker. So it is correct to say that the player placing here does not get the 1 (or 2) corn pieces when he or she advances the gear by 1 or 2 at the end of the turn. But is the corn still placed? ie Do those gear clicks still get corn on them which goes to the next player who takes this action?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Your second play was correct.

Round 1: 1, 2, 3, 4. Player 3 takes start player.
Round 2: 3, 4, 1, 2.

As for your second question: No corn is placed on the cog at the end of any round where someone has chosen start player.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Williams
United Kingdom
Beckenham, KENT
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Thanks for helping out. This will make the next game even more interesting.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Larkin
England
Brighton
Sussex
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each turn everyone takes an action (putting workers on or taking them off).

If no one has placed a worker on the start player action one corn is put on the cog tooth and the cog is turned one notch

If someone has placed a worker on the start player action, then (when everyone has completed their action for that turn) they get their worker back and take all the corn (if any) on the cog. The cog is then moved on one notch, the player who played the worker can choose to rotate the cog another notch if they haven't turned to the dark side.

The player who took the start player action goes first in the next round unless they were start player, in which case the player after them becomes start player and goes first.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Yaure
United States
Plymouth Meeting
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Zark wrote:
Each turn everyone takes an action (putting workers on or taking them off).

If no one has placed a worker on the start player action one corn is put on the cog tooth and the cog is turned one notch

If someone has placed a worker on the start player action, then (when everyone has completed their action for that turn) they get their worker back and take all the corn (if any) on the cog. The cog is then moved on one notch, the player who played the worker can choose to rotate the cog another notch if they haven't turned to the dark side.

The player who took the start player action goes first in the next round unless they were start player, in which case the player after them becomes start player and goes first.

A bit of clarification: the player who placed a worker on the start player action receives the corn at the end of their turn, but all of the other events (receive worker back, receive Start Player marker, choose whether to advance calendar one or two cogs) happen in the Calendar Advance phase. The timing is significant because the player can use this food to pay for an end of age dining phase, but NOT for actions on the current turn. (My group has been plaing this last issue incorrectly, permitting players touse the food from the start player action on their current turn.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls