Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Sekigahara: The Unification of Japan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Movement Stack Rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jody
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
sometimes i think people let me win just so they can hear my lengthy victory speeches
Avatar
mb
Been reading up on the Stack Rules and posts, and am still a bit confused.

From the Q/A doc.
Quote:
When you 'fork' your move,..every block's movement limit is determined by the size of the largest stack with which it travels during the turn ..-- even if later the stack gets smaller due to forking or dropping off blocks.


So My Example Q, hopefully it makes sense:
I play 0 movement cards, allowing 1 movement stack on my turn.

Let's say there are 25 units in the Japanese city of Cleveland.

I need to move 9 units to the south, 3 units east, 5 units west and 1 unit north.



The way i am reading it is:

It would be a stack size of 18 that is forking off immediately, and since it started as a group of 18, every group(direction) would get be absorbing a -4 movement penalty.

A MUCH better move is to burn 2 cards so i can move as much as i want independently (this, way the stack going west would get hit with -1 penalty, the south -2, and both east and north would move just dandy)

Thanks!





 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Williams
United States
Doral
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope, the three and one unit stacks have no penalty, the fiver has a -1, and the, Hey what the hell are the Japanese doing in Cleveland?!?!?
7 
 Thumb up
3.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jody
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
sometimes i think people let me win just so they can hear my lengthy victory speeches
Avatar
mb
I see. However, the nine units moving south, if they continued off 3 goes SE, 5 going SW, and 1 going SSW would each continue to have the 9Stack penalty as they all started in a group of 9 blocks.


Quote:
..the hell are the Japanese doing in Cleveland?!?!?

I put that in there just to make sure people were paying attention. There are no invasion plans to invade Cleveland or Charlotte..

Thanks for the answer!




2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Williams
United States
Doral
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, I think you have the concept. If I understand your second question, if the stack moves once with more than four blocks all of those blocks are subject to the appropriate movement penalty, but they can fork off.
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.