Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tobin Farslayers Hero ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nathan Miclette
United States
Delaware
flag msg tools
It states "Each of your attacks that targets a monster that is at least 3 spaces away from you gains surge=2+damage"

Now my question is does that mean there has to be three empty spaces between you and the monster, or is it 2 empty spaces and the monster can occupy that 3rd space.

Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Bocketti
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it means 2 empty spaces and the monster occupies the 3rd space.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dawid
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Darkunit wrote:
Now my question is does that mean there has to be three empty spaces between you and the monster, or is it 2 empty spaces and the monster can occupy that 3rd space.
What it means is that range must be at least 3 in order to trigger the ability.
So it will be the second
Darkunit wrote:
2 empty spaces and the monster can occupy that 3rd space.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Miclette
United States
Delaware
flag msg tools
Thanks guys.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For rule book confirmation, check the Combat Example on Page 14 of the rule book. It shows Tomble attacking a Zombie that is considered to be three spaces away from him. There are two empty spaces between Tomble and the Zombie.

Note that you're treading into somewhat muddy terminology territory, because a lot of game effects negate the need for the spaces to be *empty spaces*, which is a term strictly defined in the rule book.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls