GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,823 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
15 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Guns of Gettysburg» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two Obstructions in an Area rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Claudio
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lets say I'm on 30/21. What is the cost to move through 30 to 43/42?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich James
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It costs 3 steps. 1 step to go across 30, plus 1 step for the obstructions to get to 30/42. Then another 1 step to go across 42 to 42/43. Obstructions only count if they are in the area you are crossing and you only pay one +1 penalty for obstructions within a given area.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Only one obstructed penalty per area ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich James
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From rule 10, under Movement Paths (page 6):

Quote:
A block moves from position to position, crossing one area at a time. Movement distance is counted in steps. It costs 1 step to cross an area. There is a +1 additional step penalty if there is an obstructed symbol on the position the block is leaving or the position it is entering. The penalty is only if the symbol is inside the area being crossed. If there are obstructed symbols on both positions, the penalty is still only +1.


Also, read the Note: that comes after the above. It explains that the blocks front and rear positions don't matter in calculating movement costs. You are traversing from one position to another across areas. The obstructed symbols only apply if they are in the area you are crossing.

Edit: just to further illustrate, say you were on 117/138 and wanted to move to 158/176. That would cost you 4 steps: 1 for each area crossed plus a +1 penalty in each area due to obstructions in those areas at positions you left/entered.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rachel Simmons
United States
Los Altos
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
arjisme wrote:
It costs 3 steps. 1 step to go across 30, plus 1 step for the obstructions to get to 30/42. Then another 1 step to go across 42 to 42/43. Obstructions only count if they are in the area you are crossing and you only pay one +1 penalty for obstructions within a given area.


Correct.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Claudio
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bowen wrote:
arjisme wrote:
It costs 3 steps. 1 step to go across 30, plus 1 step for the obstructions to get to 30/42. Then another 1 step to go across 42 to 42/43. Obstructions only count if they are in the area you are crossing and you only pay one +1 penalty for obstructions within a given area.


Correct.

Excellent. Thanks. We played correctly (thanks to me badgering my opponent and rereading that passage five or so time. )
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.