GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,364 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

D-Day at Omaha Beach» Forums » General

Subject: would someone help with the VPs? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bill Severn
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Would someone help me and tell me how many VPs are won in this pic of Easy Fox completion of turn 16 scenario?

any help and explanation would help me understand how to award VPs

thanks so much

Bill
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jeff
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think I get 20... but I'm out of practice I might be wrong.

I cannot explain it better than the rules can. See entire section 12, 13.2 and 20.2

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Albritton
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I count 20 as well. If you have specific questions about the scoring, please ask.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Albritton
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, make sure you are not attacking the same target twice in one turn or barrage-attacking the same target in the same turn. Double check that you are only activating two stacks per turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gaz Man
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok I'm confused. The two draws would be worth 10 so sort of see how you get to 20 but ..... It appears from my reading of the rules that not all the hexes are under control in draw e3 so no 5 points

And draw e1 is under fire so no control either

So I get 8. Um now I'm confused

Good question
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jeff
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gazman2 wrote:
Ok I'm confused. The two draws would be worth 10 so sort of see how you get to 20 but ..... It appears from my reading of the rules that not all the hexes are under control in draw e3 so no 5 points

And draw e1 is under fire so no control either

So I get 8. Um now I'm confused

Good question


Hmmm at first glance I thought e3 was in your control because no lines of German communication can be drawn to it. Which would make it behind your lines and in your control. Which you would also add the points for all the reinforcement positions there too.

But after looking closer I think communication can come though the 2 German positions at e1 making your front line broken and not held...

Anyone agree?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pablo Klinkisch
Germany
Heidelberg
Baden-Württemberg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I count:

One draw controlled: 5 VPs (the left one is not controlled).

WN: 61, 62S, 62N

Reinf Positions: 12

Total: 12 + 3 + 5 = 20
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pablo Klinkisch
Germany
Heidelberg
Baden-Württemberg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Impressive, btw: you didn't get too many reinforcements, it seems.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gaz Man
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok see the 3 WN's and 12 reinforce

On draw E1. I see the us unit is in comms as the field of fire doesn't cross the line to the beach got it. Was reading rule 13.22 too literally. Ie unit is in field of fire but it refers to the blocking of the us line of comms


Thanks. This has been really useful
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan
France
flag msg tools
mb
There's a trick. The answer is zero. devil
Cause you have 4 units lost and 4 units on the mid tide at the end of the high tide turn. 4 + 4 = 8, you lost.... devil
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Albritton
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aubinouk wrote:
There's a trick. The answer is zero. devil
Cause you have 4 units lost and 4 units on the mid tide at the end of the high tide turn. 4 + 4 = 8, you lost.... devil


Only (non-Ranger) infantry units count towards catastrophic loss.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jeff
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AvidHunter wrote:


But after looking closer I think communication can come though the 2 German positions at e1 making your front line broken and not held...

Anyone agree?



This is still bugging me... can someone take a good close look at the two WN positions at e1?

I think lines of German communication can be drawn through there to the empty reinforcement positions behind the line. Which would in turn make all those positions including the draw not valid for points.

If those units do not allow lines of German communication to be drawn, can someone please explain and reference rules for your point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jeff
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ohh wait never mind... now I see it as I originally did. b/1/16 and c/1/16 are creating the front line going through the draw.

The disrupted unit is actually behind the lines of the allies.

These are fun to look at and good practice. Their tough for me to get though cause it's not physically right in front of me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.