Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Palazzo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rebuilding rule - why discard? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave OConnor
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
Played this for the first time last night and thought it was pretty good. One rule question came up though.
The rebuilding action states that you may either remove a tile from a palazzo and put it in front of you, place a tile in front of you onto a palazzo, or discard a tile in front of you. We couldn't see a reason for option #3 as the scoring says nothing about having to score the tile in front of you at the end of the game (thereby giving you -5 points). This means that you could just leave any undesired tiles sitting in front of you the whole game for no penalty.
We decided to impose a limit of one tile in front of you so if you removed a tile from a palazzo and put it in front of you but you didn't want it, you would have to discard it on a future rebuild action if you ever wanted to rebuild again. I couldn't find anything in the English translation that says there is only one tile allowed in front of you either, but I assume there must be a limit or a scoring penalty... can anyone shed some light on this?
Thanks!
DaveO
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marshall P.
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
"Nothing in Biology Makes Sense Except in the Light of Evolution" - Theodosius Dobzhansky
badge
There is grandeur in this view of life, whilst this planet has gone cycling on according to the fixed law of gravity, from so simple a beginning endless forms most beautiful and most wonderful have been, and are being, evolved.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no such thing as a "tile in front of you". Everything in front of you is a Palazzo by definition. At the end of the game you must score ALL Palazzos, including those of only one story (for -5 points). That's why you might want to use a rebuilding action to discard them near the end of the game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kane Klenko
United States
Ridgeway
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yah, I've seen people have this issue before. It's just a case of sort of unclear rules. Single tiles "in front of you" are 1 story Palazzos and would therefore score negative points. Everything in front of you is a Palazzo.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.