Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Lost Cities» Forums » Rules

Subject: i have 2 questions about lost cities rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
nate ben-porat
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
hello. i have 2 questions about the game after reading the rules on the web. 1. when you start a journey, can the other player start a journey of the same color? so if you start journey in blue and you placed 2 on your side of the board can the other player place 3 blue? 2. i didn't understand why would you want to discard a card. it will only give a chance to the opponent to get that card, why would you want to do that then?

thanks
nate
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve K
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
...
badge
...
Avatar
Yes, you both play all colours.

As for discards ... You must play a card before picking up a new card. Sometimes you don't really want to play a colour card your side (maybe you don't want to start a new colour, maybe you don't want to skip a range of numbers in a colour, etc) so you discard instead. When discarding, you need to consider how useful that card will be to the other player. Putting down a 10 is never a good idea, putting down a card that the other play can't use because he's already put down a higher number is safe. Putting down a small number or a doubler to tempt him into starting a colour when you have all the big numbers is fun.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nate ben-porat
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
SteveK2 wrote:
Yes, you both play all colours.

As for discards ... You must play a card before picking up a new card. Sometimes you don't really want to play a colour card your side (maybe you don't want to start a new colour, maybe you don't want to skip a range of numbers in a colour, etc) so you discard instead. When discarding, you need to consider how useful that card will be to the other player. Putting down a 10 is never a good idea, putting down a card that the other play can't use because he's already put down a higher number is safe. Putting down a small number or a doubler to tempt him into starting a colour when you have all the big numbers is fun.


thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, you are in no way constrained by your opponent's play. If your opponent starts a green expedition with the 4 you can still play the 2 and 3 on your own side.

However if you were to discard those cards, your opponent could not play them - that is typically the type of cards one chooses to discard.

-MMM
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.