12 Posts

Magic: The Gathering» Forums » Rules

Subject: Complete beginner question here ! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jam Inajar
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Hi..just started playing this week ! why do spells go into a stack and get played in reverse order out ?? And when exactly and by whom can they be played ?? Thankyou in advance for any help
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Regs
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Instants can be cast whenever you have priority. Priority is itself another issue entirely. Suffice to say that each player gets priority in each phase and step, and also after each spell is cast.

Sorceries, creatures, artifacts, enchantments, and planeswalkers can be cast when you have priority in your main phase when the stack is otherwise empty.

As for why the stack exists. It's really the simplest way to allow players to play spells 'in response' to other spells - or in response to everything else that uses the stack like triggered or activated abilities.

It's also infinitely easier on judges and players than the 'Batch' system that was used before it - but that's going back to prior to 6th edition.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Maloney
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
"If trees could scream, would we be so cavalier about cutting them down? We might, if they screamed all the time, for no good reason." -Jack Handey
mbmbmbmbmb
One of the things that makes Magic much better than other CCGs and LCGs is the ability to respond to what your opponent does.

Many of these games force you to watch the other players turn and make limited (or even no) decisions during this time.

In Magic, many effects are able to be played during your opponent's turn. More specifically, they are able to be played in response to your opponents action. Primarily, these are spells that say Instant and abilities printed on permanents in play (such as artifacts and creatures).