GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,578 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Via Appia» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moving "Forward" Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Roger Howell
United States
Lenexa
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
During our first game I attempted to move one space backwards so I could take another path. My opponent questioned me on that so we looked at the rules. Rules state players move forward. So in our next game my opponent attempted to move sideways to another path. But that was not a "forward" move. So can you move sideways?

There are a couple of spaces on the board where you can move sideways and a couple of spaces where you can move sideways but very slightly forward. I am wondering if the word "forward" in the rules wasn't thought out. Perhaps if a player wants to spend movement to move backwards he can? If not then can he move sideways?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike DiLisio
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My interpretation of the rules is that only forward movement is legal. Also, "sideways" movement is only legal when the two stones have a connected line.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew S. Fischer
United States
Devon
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
I would say that you can move sideways or backwards if desired.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger Howell
United States
Lenexa
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I like the idea of letting players moving backwards, glad you agree. It might help end our end game problem that I posted here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike DiLisio
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Obviously you could play the game any way you like, but I double checked the rules, and it very specifically states you "move forward 1,2, or 3 spaces". In the situation you describe, I guess I just look at it as a situation where it was poor planning to start down a road where you don't have multiple paths to the destination city. In that case, I'd just suck it up and take the loss. As I said though, I have no allusions that my way is the right way, it's just the way I choose to play because I am always very hesitant to house rule games.
5 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yves Baguet
Belgium
antwerp
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
THE rulebook states

The player moves his player piece 1, 2, or 3 tiles
forward. This costs him 1, 3, or 6 sesterces.
The player piece may move only on or over spaces
covered with a tile. Furthermore, the piece may only
move along connecting lines between the tiles.

But in the example we see a green arrow sideways



So i think you van move sideways
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike DiLisio
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Baguety wrote:
THE rulebook states

The player moves his player piece 1, 2, or 3 tiles
forward. This costs him 1, 3, or 6 sesterces.
The player piece may move only on or over spaces
covered with a tile. Furthermore, the piece may only
move along connecting lines between the tiles.

But in the example we see a green arrow sideways



So i think you van move sideways


As I mentioned above, as long as there is a connected line, sideways movement is permitted.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.