Popular Tags: [View All]
Rich Hart
England
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I just attempted my first real game of this. I'm a veteran of POG and love that game dearly and so a GMT C.D.G of the pacific campaign got me very excited

But what.the.hell is going on with this game? The rules are just a jumble and I could not make any headway. They suggest you "play through" the example but I just felt like I was watching the game play itself.

Does anyone out there have any simple advice to help me get some kind of foothold on this game?

thanks

Rich

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Moody
United States
Edmond
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The example of play had some errors in it that have thrown others off. The latest living rules have the corrections.

YMMV, but we found the game to be easier to play than the rules indicated.

Best advice on how to play would be to play against someone who knows the game and is using the latest rules.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Toppen
United States
Gallup
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Preorder Navajo Wars by GMT Games
mbmbmbmbmb

Empire of the Sun is NOTHING like Paths of Glory or Barbarossa to Berlin. If you approach the rules with this understanding, you will find it easier going. To get started, I suggest you download the latest rules (v. 1.4).

There's a lot of important little details in EoTS so learning on your own can take a bit of practice. Key rules to help give you a "foothold" is the section dealing with the Offensives Phase (4.2). This is where the cards are played. Then Sections 5-8 pretty much give you the heart of what takes place during the Offensives Phase. I think if you start here you can get a grip of how the game works. Then, turning to the comprehensive example will make more sense.

Here is the link to GMT's Living Rules page where you can find the v. 1.4 rules: http://www.gmtgames.com/living_rules/living_rules.html