Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Risk 2210 A.D.» Forums » Variants

Subject: Risk 2210 "Rebellion" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mr X
United States
Milwaukie
Oregon
flag msg tools
I decided to see how much I could spice up (and unfortunately complicate) the rules of Risk 2210. Many (if not all) of these rules have not been properly game tested so any objective criticism is of course welcome. These rules are being played on the assumed variants found here: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/802499#802499 unless otherwise noted.

NEW COMMAND STRUCTURE - FASTER KILLING
The amount of dice rolled during an invasion or defense is equal to the number of "troops" on your side. With a maximum of five dice being rolled.

For Example: If an invader is attacking the defender with four "troops" total, s/he'd roll four dice. If the defender was defending with six "troops" s/he'd roll five dice, because five is the absolute maximum allowed.

Your side only kills an enemy "troop" for every five or higher you roll on a single die. No adding dice together.

The 1.0 MOD equals one troop. The 3.0 MOD equals three troops. The 5.0 MOD equals a "Leader".

The Leader adds a 1D8 die to the dice roll. You can have as many Leaders per territory as you'd like but only one 1D8 per dice roll is allowed. Leaders can only be bought through energy at the begining of your turn. A leader costs three energy each.

A Commander adds one "reroll" ability. No matter how many Commanders are in one territory only one reroll is allowed.

COMMANDERS CAN BE CAPTURED
If an invader takes control of an enemies colony and defeats a Commander there, s/he has the option of abducting that Commander INSTEAD OF killing him. Why would you want to abduct the Commander instead of executing him? Because as long as he remains in your custody your enemy cannot make a new Commander of that type.

To determine what happens after a territory falls during the leadership of a Commander the invader rolls a 1D6 (one six-sided die).

If the die rolls a five or six the invader has successfully captured the Commander! Capturing a Commander means he now belongs to your side. He moves around just as your own Commanders do. Meaning if you want to bring him back to the heart of your Empire you'll probably have to "free move" him back. He will not fight for you and does not give you any bonuses. He's simply a pawn now.

If the die rolls a four, three or two then the Commander died in battle or killed himself before you could get to him.

If the die rolls a one, the Commander escaped in an underground railroad! Remove the Commander from the board. He remains "missing" like this until that Commander's Controller's next turn. The controller of the Commander may re-place him on any colonies he or she owns. But even though the Commander has successfully escaped capture and has resurfaced does NOT mean he's ready to lead another battle just yet. The commander may not add any offensive bonuses until that player's next turn. The Commander can still add defensive bonuses. In other words until the Commander's Controller's next turn, the Commander is the equivalent of a Diplomat. This grace period does not apply to the Nuclear Commander.

SABOTAGE
Once per round everyone draws straws (or energy chips all of which are "1" save one of them being a "5"). Keep who draws what a secret. Whoever draws the "5", once that round, may choose to sabotage something of their enemy. You may sabotage one of his/her command cards, energy tokens, troop garrison, dice roll or Stronghold/Lunar Launcher.

This is done by announcing you've hired a professional saboteur to destroy something of your opponents and revealing the "5" you've secretly drawn earlier. You then roll a 1D8 (one eight-sided die). If you roll an eight you may destroy their Stronghold/Lunar Launcher. If you roll a seven you can destroy a command card of theirs. If you roll a six you sabotage some of their energy. A five is troop garrison and a four is their dice roll. A roll of three or below means the saboteur cannot get to the target and has failed for this round.

If you sabotage your enemy Stronghold/Lunar Launcher you may choose one of theirs to destroy. If you destroy their command card you may choose one at random to discard. If you sabotage their energy they discard two energy. If you sabotage their troops then choose one territory your opponent controls and destroy three of their units (Commanders cannot be destroyed this way). Sabotaging their dice roll means you can have them roll two less dice then they normally would, with no less then one dice being rolled. This only happens once.

MERCENARIES
(NOTE: This requires extra game pieces not supplied with Avalon Hill's Risk. Consider using original Risk pieces if you don't have anything else or borrowing from another game such as ZOMBIES!!!)

Mercenaries start out neutral and are placed randomly on the board. The number of Mercenaries depends on how many people are playing. There is always the same plus one the amount of players playing. If three people were playing there would be four Mercs, four people playing would be five Mercs, etc.

Mercenaries never die.

Mercenaries can be "won" by taking over a colony/territory a mercenary is on, then bought. This applies even if your opponent already controlled the mercenary (much like how commanders can be captured). If an opponent controls a Mercenary but loses control of the territory it is on, both invading and defending player secretly bid X amount of energy chips. They reveal at the same time, player with the highest bid keeps the Mercenary. Ties are given to the defender. Winning player "spends" the amount of energy they bid. If the invading player loses the bet (but still has the mercenary in his territory) the defending player (the winner) has to move the Merc to the closest territory s/he owns. If no one controls the territory the Merc is on (and therefore no one controls the Mercenary) then one must take over that territory and pay a flat fee of three energy.

Mercenaries are essentially wild cards. They can offer a +1 to sabotage, +1 to commander abduction, take on the role of a leader in battle OR "recruit" new troops to your cause. However they can only do one of these things once per round per Merc. Never more then one of these and never more then once a round per Merc. Sabotage and Abduction bonuses cost one energy each to use.

Recruitment means the Mercenary creates two 1.0 Mods once a round at the territory it is located at. This can only be done during the Mercenary controller's turn.

ESPIONAGE / BLACK PROPAGANDA / CONFUSION OF RANKS
(NOTE: This requires extra game pieces not supplied with Avalon Hill's Risk. Consider using original Risk pieces if you don't have anything else or borrowing from another game such as ZOMBIES!!!)

Spies can sneak past enemy territories and either gather intelligence on the enemy, create confusion among the army of an enemy or spread black propaganda and incite riots in the opponents heartland.

Spy pieces cost two energy. Only one spy may be "bought" per turn. A spy cannot do anything the same turn it was brought out. Players can not control more then three spies each.

A spy can engage in espionage by first entering enemy territory then expending two energy and rolling a 1D8 (one eight-sided die). If you roll a seven or higher the spy succeeds! Look at a random command card of target player. The player who revealed their card may then roll a 1D6 (one six-sided die). A roll of 6 means he or she has captured the spy and executed it.

To incite riots a spy must first move to the enemy territory the spy wishes to disrupt. Roll a 1D6. A roll of 1-2 means the spy may move one space this turn. A roll of 3-4 means the spy may move two spaces this turn. A roll of 5-6 means the spy may move three spaces this turn. A spy can move freely in an enemy territory.

For every space a spy moves behind enemy lines the opponent gets to roll 1D6. A roll of 6 means the spy has been captured and executed.

Once the spy has reached his choosen location he may then (next turn) begin spreading black propaganda in hopes of starting a riot. Once per turn the spy may place a marker (just use energy chips) on the colony he is at. Once the markers exceed the number of enemy troops stationed there the country becomes dangerous and is no longer under the control of the enemy (much like how Iraq is now). Every time a marker is added to the territory the opponent may roll a 1D6. A roll of 6 means the spy has been captured and executed. In order to restore order to a colony in rebellion the owner of the territory must reinforce it with more troops or capture and kill the spy. A spy cannot move and begin starting a riot on the same turn. If a spy submerges a country in riot and martial law he cannot continue to add Riot markers until order has been restored.

Spreading confusion among ranks of an enemy army is much the same as starting a riot. The spy moves to the location he wishes to spread confusion. Then, each turn he is there, a marker is added (be sure to make a distinction between riot markers and confusion markers, such as turning one set or markers upside-down). A spy may "free move" one less troops then there are markers from either the territory the spy is at to an adjacent territory or from an adjacent territory to the one the spy is stationed at. This does not count as anyone's actual free move.

Example: A spy is in an enemy territory with an accumulation of three confusion markers. The spy's controller may then free move two enemy troops to any adjacent colony.

A spy cannot create confusion among the ranks in a colony where a Commander is stationed. A leader is last to be free moved in this manner. A spy cannot move and begin confusion on the same turn.

If a spy is executed the controller of the colony must wait until their next turn before removing any Riot or Confusion markers.

Multiple spies may operate in the same territory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.