Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Flying Colors» Forums » Rules

Subject: Noob questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mistmatz Mistmatz
msg tools
mb
Hi,

I recently picked up Flying Colors/Ship of the Line and am playing around a little bit against myself. Here are some questions that I came up with:

If a ship looses enough movement to get a -2 modifier while beating does that mean it cannot move at all in subsequent turns (unless the wind direction changes)?

It appears it wouldn't be subject to drift but as it has no movement left its literally a sitting duck, isn't it?

How about tacking? Can a ship with no movement tack and hope for a lucky roll where it gets enough movement points to make it into a reaching position?

Can you tack only at the beginning of a ships movement or can you tack at anytime during the movement? In the latter case, are the results from the tacking table added to the remaining movement points or do they replace the remaining movement points?



1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt R
United States
DFW
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Checkout the "sternway" movement rules to see how to move a ship that could move otherwise but cannot due to being "in irons" by facing its bow into the wind.
3 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Doane
United States
Walpole
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
If a ship looses enough movement to get a -2 modifier while beating does that mean it cannot move at all in subsequent turns (unless the wind direction changes)?


On its next activation, it can roll on the sternway table (see 3.6.9) which allows it to rotate to a new heading and get underway once again.

Quote:
How about tacking? Can a ship with no movement tack and hope for a lucky roll where it gets enough movement points to make it into a reaching position?


No, a ship that has no MPs owing to rigging damage can only roll on the sternway table.

Quote:
Can you tack only at the beginning of a ships movement or can you tack at anytime during the movement?


Only at the beginning of its movement. See the next to last sentence in 3.6.6.
4 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mistmatz Mistmatz
msg tools
mb
Got it.

Thank you both for your quick replies!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.