Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Glen More» Forums » Rules

Subject: Loch Shiel with Loch Ness rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Will Yum
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
mb
If you get Loch Shiel and use it to put a resource on each of your empty resource tiles, can you also use Loch Ness (assuming it is already part of your city) to activate one of your resource tiles?

The wording of Loch Shiel in the English edition does not say anything about actually activating your tiles.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EXTRA AVOCADO! Sonderegger
United States
Folsom
CA
flag msg tools
designer
Shall I compare thee to a chevrolet?
badge
...the headlamps of your eyes will make them dream.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you only do what it says. Stop reading more into it, Scalia.

Totally forgot what Loch Ness was.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan Robbins
United States
Elgin
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm going to disagree. From the rules.

Quote:
Loch Shiel: the player immediately places 1 matching resource from the
supply on each of his empty production tiles (i.e., stone quarries, forests,
meadows, pastures, wheat fields). If he also owns the Iona Abbey and it is
empty, he may place any 1 resource on it as well.
Tip: before taking resources, the player may sell as many resources as he
likes to the warehouse, within legal limits.


It doesn't say activate each empty production tile, so I'm pretty sure they can all still be activated. So for example if I place Loch Shiel next to 3 empty production square. I can place one cube on all of them, then activate them one at a time so I end up with 2 cubes on each of the production spaces adjacent Loch Shiel. If you also have Loch Ness you can activate another production square, but remember that you can't activate a tile more than once per turn (Loch Shiel doesn't count as activation) so you couldn't go from 0 cubes to 3 cubes on one turn.
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EXTRA AVOCADO! Sonderegger
United States
Folsom
CA
flag msg tools
designer
Shall I compare thee to a chevrolet?
badge
...the headlamps of your eyes will make them dream.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joro30 wrote:
I'm going to disagree. From the rules.

Quote:
Loch Shiel: the player immediately places 1 matching resource from the
supply on each of his empty production tiles (i.e., stone quarries, forests,
meadows, pastures, wheat fields). If he also owns the Iona Abbey and it is
empty, he may place any 1 resource on it as well.
Tip: before taking resources, the player may sell as many resources as he
likes to the warehouse, within legal limits.


It doesn't say activate each empty production tile, so I'm pretty sure they can all still be activated. So for example if I place Loch Shiel next to 3 empty production square. I can place one cube on all of them, then activate them one at a time so I end up with 2 cubes on each of the production spaces adjacent Loch Shiel. If you also have Loch Ness you can activate another production square, but remember that you can't activate a tile more than once per turn (Loch Shiel doesn't count as activation) so you couldn't go from 0 cubes to 3 cubes on one turn.


Yeah duh! I totally forgot which one Loch Ness was. Yes you're right, you use it every turn, and the refill is not an activation. I thought he was asking whether Loch Shiel activated non-adjacent tiles.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Bateson
United Kingdom
Ross-on-Wye
flag msg tools
badge
Oi! Hands off...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lochs only have a one-off activation when placed, so no - you cannot do this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Murphy
Australia
Pyrmont
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ousgg wrote:
Lochs only have a one-off activation when placed, so no - you cannot do this.


Lochs other than Loch Ness, you mean?

B>
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Bateson
United Kingdom
Ross-on-Wye
flag msg tools
badge
Oi! Hands off...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Technically, that's a one-off activation as well; it just happens to occur every round. You don't re-activate the actual Loch tile itself ever again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Murphy
Australia
Pyrmont
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ousgg wrote:
Technically, that's a one-off activation as well; it just happens to occur every round. You don't re-activate the actual Loch tile itself ever again.


You don't ever activate the Loch. It grants you a special power when you own its tile. That special power triggers every round.

Also, the answer to the OPs question is "yes", because you can absolutely do the one-off-but-really-every-round activation of Loch Ness after the placement activation of the Loch Shiel (with its distant effect on other production tiles)

B>
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.