Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Quick NATO question. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jacob Gowans
United States
OMAHA
NE
flag msg tools
LONG LIVE SAMMY!
badge
Have you read the Psion series?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm playing USSR, and I have NATO. Neither the events for Warsaw Pact or Marshall Plan have been activated, which means NATO event can't be triggered. Can I play NATO for the ops and get a free pass on the event?

Edit: Thanks in advance for any help! I did search the Rules Forum for an answer before posting. I"m pretty sure the answer is yes, I can play the card w/o worry. Just wanted to check as I'm planning my next turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the event doesn't trigger. Just remember that the card goes to the discard pile, not out of the game since the event did not trigger.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ahmed Hadzi
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule 5.2 second bullet

If a card play triggers an opponent’s Event, but that Event
cannot occur because a prerequisite card has not been played,
or a condition expressed in the Event has not been met, the
Event does not occur. In this instance, cards with an asterisk
Event (marked *) are returned to the discard pile, not removed
from the game.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Gowans
United States
OMAHA
NE
flag msg tools
LONG LIVE SAMMY!
badge
Have you read the Psion series?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. Don't have my rule book with me. At work playing by email.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ahmed Hadzi
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jacobugath wrote:
Thanks. Don't have my rule book with me. At work playing by email.


You can d'load all the rulebooks from GMT website in pdf, and keep them in dropbox, that's what I do. And voila! all the rules in one place.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.