Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

RoboRally» Forums » General

Subject: Option card question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Daneman
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question about one of the option cards. I can't recall its name, but it allows you to lock your choice of one of the target robot's registers when you hit him with your laser. How exactly does this work? Do you put a damage marker on the locked register? Let's say the target robot already has a few damage points when he's hit, and the shooter decides to lock his 1st register. Then when the target robot repairs damage (such as from stopping on a wrench space), can he choose to remove any damage marker, or does he have to remove all the markers to the right before he can unlock the 1st register?

Thanks in advance for your help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
LotB 2002
Netherlands
Utrecht
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Hi Mike,

You are talking about the option card FIRE CONTROL.
With this option, you are able to lock a register of your choice OR to destroy a option of your choice.

based on my knowledge of the 2nd editon (Wizards of the Coast), you may choose which point of damage you want to repair. So it is wise to choose the locked register, to get rid of the locked card.

Another difficulty with the fire control is this :
I believe the card or the rulebook of the WotC edition state the lock from the fire control does lock a register, however it does not count as a point of damage ! Which means with 1 point of damage and 1 firecontrolled locked register, you still receive 8 programming cards.

From the FAQ at http://roborally.gamerz.net/faq.htm

Q: When targetting a register, is a point of damage done as well as locking the register?
A: No. The option card says "When scoring damage, you may: lock register, destroy option, or do normal damage." Use an inverted damage chit to designate a locked register without damage.

another FAQ site is :
http://www.roborally.com/faq.htm

JeVo

PS. April 22nd 2006, Utrecht Holland, the 5th Open Roborally tournement organized by the Capgemini Academy ! Free participation. Have a look in the anouncement forum here at the roborally page at BGG.
For information, mail roborally.nl@capgemini.com


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JeVo wrote:


That's just some random person's opinion.

IMHO it's extremely obvious that the register locked by Fire Control is just the same as any other point of damage. Any claim to the contrary is specious.

If it's not a point of damage, are you going to argue that it can't be repaired??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Of course it's damage, as David says.

AH rulebook, page 10: "Mark a locked register by placing the Damage token above the register on your Program Sheet."

"Once a register is locked, the Program card in that register stays there until the damage locking the register
is repaired. When that happens, discard both the Damage token and the Program card."

To answer the other part, when repairing damage, you must unlock the lowest numbered locked register first. From that same section of the rules: "You must unlock registers in reverse order, from lowest (register 1) to highest (register 5)."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mi Myma
United States
Fountain Valley
California
flag msg tools
Why is there no Word Games Forum or Subdomain?
badge
There should be a Word Games Subdomain, or at least a Word Games Forum!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rulemonger wrote:
AH rulebook, page 10: "To answer the other part, when repairing damage, you must unlock the lowest numbered locked register first. From that same section of the rules: "You must unlock registers in reverse order, from lowest (register 1) to highest (register 5)."

IIRC, that is a change in the AH edition. In the original, you can repair damage in any order, although doing so in order is often the best choice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.