OK, the rules and the example contradict so I need clarification. The rules define 4 areas on the scoreboard (0, 1-3, 4-6, 7-10.) They then clearly state that you can't move into 4-6 until every peg is in 1-3, and you can't move into 7-10 until every peg is in 4-6.
However in the visual scoring example on Page 6 they show three scoring pegs already in 4-6 even though the yellow scoring peg is still on 0. Then it says in the explanation of the example that they can't advance to column 7 because he still had a scoring peg in the first area (previously identified as 0.)
So which is right? Is the restriction no moving 2 areas ahead, or no moving 3 areas ahead?