Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Duel of Ages II» Forums » Rules

Subject: Characters use free actions before deployment? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Johnson
United States
Charlottesville
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Are characters allowed to use free actions before they are deployed on the map? For example, can Seven Eyes peek at decks before he's on the map?

I would assume not, but reading Dr. Menmar confuses the issue. If he cannot check luck during his free action before being deployed, how do I know which stats to use between the time he is deployed and his next free action phase?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Mesich
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Horta chortles.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GenuineSmile29 wrote:
Are characters allowed to use free actions before they are deployed on the map? For example, can Seven Eyes peek at decks before he's on the map?

I would assume not, but reading Dr. Menmar confuses the issue. If he cannot check luck during his free action before being deployed, how do I know which stats to use between the time he is deployed and his next free action phase?


If you are using Distance, they start on the map before the Free Action phase. If you aren't, they hit the map in the Reinforce phase at the end of a turn.

Free actions can only be used in the Free Action phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Murrell
United States
Boise
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Characters not yet on the board can do nothgin and have no effect on the game.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Johnson
United States
Charlottesville
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmb
So should Dr. Menmar default to his left side stats?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baz Hemmons
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GenuineSmile29 wrote:
So should Dr. Menmar default to his left side stats?


He shouldn't have to default to anything - in both the examples given by Michael above there would be a Free Action phase before he needs the stats (either immediately in the case of Distance deployment, or at the start of the player's next turn in the case of Reinforcement)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Murrell
United States
Boise
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You got it Stephen -- for those characters with split stats, use Respect on the left-hand stats for Respect entry.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baz Hemmons
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh yeah, the respect... Oops, my bad...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SpitfireIXA wrote:
You got it Stephen -- for those characters with split stats, use Respect on the left-hand stats for Respect entry.


Are you going to add this to the living rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mac
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
SpitfireIXA wrote:
You got it Stephen -- for those characters with split stats, use Respect on the left-hand stats for Respect entry.


Are you going to add this to the living rules?


It already is there int the Reinforce Phase section.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Macs wrote:
DaviddesJ wrote:
SpitfireIXA wrote:
You got it Stephen -- for those characters with split stats, use Respect on the left-hand stats for Respect entry.


Are you going to add this to the living rules?


It already is there int the Reinforce Phase section.


Yes, if you're using the Reinforce Phase entry then it says to use the left-hand stats. But if you're using "Distance" entry, that section of the rules doesn't say anything about characters with variable stats.

And if you use Distance entry, it's not just Respect that's relevant, you also have to know what the other stats are for Team Black characters that start on the map but may be involved in combat before Team Black's first Free Action phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.