Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

War and Peace» Forums » General

Subject: TSBEF - force March rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
G W
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mb
When rolling 1 die for force march involving a mixed force that have different die modifiers I understand the movement point success can be different depending on the type of force. But are the strength point losses decided by group? Example - roll a 4 on +3mp...4-1=3 so the French lose a SP. The Allies with the French just use the 4, but 4 also is a strength loss. Are 2 sp lost or just 1?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McG
Australia
Penshurst
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, the whole force uses just the worst drm. A mixed force uses the +0 drm for the entire force Forced March

The rule reads
5. The die roll used to determine the result of an attempted forced march is cumulatively modified by the following criteria:
a. (-2) if the moving strength points are all French Guard units.
b. (-1) if the moving strength points are all French units.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bindusri de Silva
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Minedog,

See the example at the end of K.5.f

Example: During the French player's Movement Phase, Napoleon is being moved accompanied by three French Guard strength points, two French infantry strength points, and one Bavarian (French satellite) infantry strength point. After Napoleon expends three movement points, the French player announces he wishes to attempt to force march this group two additional movement points. He then rolls the die and the result is a “5”. This result is modified to a “3”, for the French Guard strength points, a “4” for the French infantry strength points, and remains a “5” for the Bavarian infantry (which received a “0” on the Forced March Table); Napoleon could then expend one additional movement point accompanied by both the Guard and regular French infantry, and after dropping off all of the regular French infantry, Napoleon could expend one additional movement point accompanied by the Guard strength points. Finally, the French player must eliminate one strength point of regular French infantry because a “4” die roll on the Forced March Table includes an asterisk. Remember, it is not mandatory to expend forced march points as depicted in this example..

This does seem to contradict your interpretation. However the non-mandatory aspect of the French and French Guard bonuses allows you to do as you have said but it is not compulsory to do so.

"These modifiers are not mandatory and the decision to use or to not use them must be made prior to the die roll."

cheers Lakers24
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Gant
United States
Wakefield
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Important:

"These modifiers are not mandatory and the decision to use or to not use them must be made prior to the die roll."

--JokerRulez
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.