Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

RoboRally» Forums » Rules

Subject: Touching flags and power down restarts rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kyle Owens
United States
Ithaca
NY
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have two questions. Neither of these seem to make sense, but the rules seem to imply the following.
New AH rules
On page 8 under E. Touch Flags & Repair Sites:
The rules say, “Any robot that’s survived the mayhem to this point and is on a flag ‘touches’ that flag. Starting next turn, it can move on to the next flag, in order.” This seems to imply that once you touch a flag, you are done until the next turn. So even if it is register phase two, the last three are not executed. If this is correct, can the robot be pushed, shot, or destroyed while waiting for the turn to end; or do they execute the remaining registers?

Next on page 9 under Cleanup:
The rules say, “Players whose robots were powered down this turn announce whether their robots will remain powered down on the next turn.
Each robot that was destroyed this turn reenters play in the space containing its Archive marker. The Player chooses which direction the robot faces.
Robots reentering the race receive 2 damage tokens (plus any damage tokens taken while powered down).” This seems to imply that powered down robots take two damage when they restart.

Am I interpreting these rules correctly or am I missing something?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Jones
United States
Germantown
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once you end movement on a flag in any phase, you may move on to the next flag. It's poorly worded in the rules. You do not lose the rest of the phases on a turn when you touch the flag.

Destroyed robots come back onto the field with 2 damage points. This is to provide some downside to damaged robots getting themselves killed on purpose.

Powered down robots don't "reenter" the board. They were there, albeit helpless. Robots that power back up are completely healed, minus any damage they took while powered down.

Bob
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
LotB 2002
Netherlands
Utrecht
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I second the warlord here.

first of all you execute your program for the rest of the turn. Don't forget to move your archive marker to the just touched flag (it is a repair site !)

Destroyed robots return with 2 damage points at their archive point, representing the inferiour RAM copy of their memory.

However a robot may choose to return powered down, to get rid of these damage points.

A powered down robots hands in his damage points at the beginning of the powered down turn, but has to suffer new damage points if he will be shot during his powered down turn as sitting duck.

JeVo

PS In the Anouncement forum of Roborally here at the BGG, a Real Life Roborally tournement is announced. April 22nd, Utrecht, The Netherlands, check it out or mail roborally.nl@capgemini.com
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.