Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Merchants & Marauders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does player captains also get a Man-o-War in case of war ?? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonas Bang Christensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
Its about winning !!
badge
Thou shalt not win !!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just finished my 2nd game of this very cool pirate game, whats not to like, yarrr arrrh

Question:
In case of a "War & Peace" event it states that "Exchange the Frigates of these nations for Man-o-Wars". Does that also count for player captain frigates, or only for NPC frigates ??

And if it counts for player captains, is it optional or mandatory to exchange ??

Br,
Jonas
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Everything between now and the next game is just killing time
England
London
Agitation
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
NPCs only.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aradraug
Czech Republic
Novy Jicin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Player can get Man-o-war only by winnig fight with one of them. War targets only npc captains.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas Bang Christensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
Its about winning !!
badge
Thou shalt not win !!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for clarifying arrrh
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Stauffer
United States
Waxahachie
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aye matey. If ye be wanting a man-o-war for your own command you'll be takin her by force. Many a captain visit Davy Jones Locker takin on a man-o-war afore their crew be ready!
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johnny Perkins
msg tools
Matchstickman wrote:
NPCs only.


Where is this spelled out in the rules? There seems to be consensus around this but what is the basis for it? The War & Peace cards themselves do not seem to specify NPCs only.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Kelly
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
Allow me to introduce myself. I am Hexachlorophene J. Goodfortune, Kidnapper-At-Large, and Devourer of Tortoises par Excellence, at your service.
badge
If you can read this, then this sentence is false.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 8:
Quote:
Note that the Man-o-War cannot be bought nor
sold. It can only be obtained by a hostile takeover and
must be abandoned when acquiring a new ship!


Also, common sense. You're not part of your nation's navy. Why would your ship change when your nation as at war?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.