Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bullfrog and parasite interaction rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Canada
flag msg tools
When a runner approaches a bullfrog with parasite attached with say, Wyrm and then pays the cost from Wyrm's ability to reduce Bullfrog to 0 strength, what is the order of actions? (Assuming bullfrog is not broken and runner loses the bid)

1. Bullfrog's subroutine runs, runner is moved to a new server, the card is then trashed from parasite's ability.
2. Bullfrog is trashed, the subroutine runs and bullfrog moves to a new server without parasite since it's essentially coming back from the grave.

Those are the two different ways I see it, not sure if im just totally off track here or what. Thanks for the help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Meledeo
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
According to Parasite's text:
Host ice has -1 strength for each virus counter on Parasite and is trashed if its strength is 0 or less.

So once it's at 0, there is nothing else to consider. The ice is gone. Parasite is also trashed.

*edit* Just to clarify, you would not run the Bullfrog subroutine at any point if strength was reduced to 0 and Parasite was hosted on the ice.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
flag msg tools
Thanks. I thought all sub-routines ran unless broken, even if it was trashed. That certainly simplifies things.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wesley Kinslow
United States
Piperton
Tennessee
flag msg tools
↳ Do one brain damage ↳ Do one brain damage ↳ End the run
badge
Real heroes wear pink.
Avatar
mb
marblehouse wrote:
Thanks. I thought all sub-routines ran unless broken, even if it was trashed. That certainly simplifies things.


Many players with a background in Magic the gathering have this idea that all effects go "on the stack" and resolve no matter what - not so in Netrunner.

The Runner effects are applied first and when you go to look at the subroutines and such from the Corp side there's nothing to consider by that time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Imobersteg
United States
Louisville
Colorado
flag msg tools
wedgeex wrote:

The Runner effects are applied first and when you go to look at the subroutines and such from the Corp side there's nothing to consider by that time.


Not quite true. The active player's effects kick off first, which in the example happens to be the runner. During the corp's turn, all of their effects would resolve first.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.