Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Duel of Ages II» Forums » Rules

Subject: OpFire rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anson Bischoff
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. If you make multiple shots during OpFire, do you suffer -2 to hit for each shot after the first? During the normal fire round, this is the rule, but I don't see anywhere that says that the same thing applies for OpFire.

2. The sixth example (which shows X moving out of the shooters space and Z moving in) states that both X and Z are NOT safe, although it shows them both being attacked in the same space. The fifth example shows a very similar situation but states that one or the other is safe because the shooter can't shoot twice in the same space. Is this an error? Is the sixth example wrong or am I missing something? Shouldn't the shooter not be able to shoot two different characters in the same space?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Jefferies
United States
Oconomowoc
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
My name is Oobydoob Scooby-dooby Banooby. I have the silliest name in the galaxy. (Thumb Wars)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. No...the -2 only applies to regular fire. They missed that in the regular rules...but you'll find it in the Master set, p.9 under 'Making the attack.'
2. Since the shooter is using an area weapon in the examples...they are making the point that he cannot shoot into the same space twice with said weapon. I agree, however, that the example they give doesn't work to illustrate their point. Both X and Z move through the space...and the fact that one of them is now in the space with the shooter doesn't prevent the shot being taken because op-fire is only prevented if an enemy begins the turn in your space.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anson Bischoff
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I see. It makes sense so long as the shooter has an area weapon. The fact that the shooter is making an area attack is not obvious though. Thanks for the answers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johan Haglert
Sweden
Örebro
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, the issue is just the same as in the example above. Without an area effect weapon you can't attack both in that spot.

The idea of the example is of course to show that someone standing in your spot but then moving out of it or someone moving into your spot doesn't stop your chance to opfire.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.