Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Maria» Forums » Rules

Subject: Stacked same power generals losing a battle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alexander Göransson
Sweden
Jönköping
flag msg tools
mb
We were playing the intro game yesterday and france stacked their two generals to attack an austrian general. France ended at -8 (starting at 8+8=16). This wasn't explicitly covered in the rules, but does only the supreme commander flee but the other general stays? And how do you deal with the losses? Do you get to divide troops between them? What if the battle had ended at -7 or -9? What would have been the options then?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
'Bernard Wingrave'
United States
Wyoming
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It looks to me as though this is covered on page 4 of the English rules:
Quote:
As long as generals of one power are stacked, a player
can transfer troops between them whenever he desires. He
can do it even during the action stage of another player.
Troops can never be transferred between generals which are
not stacked or which belong to different powers.
A general who loses his last troop is removed from the
board, unless the general is in a stack and it is possible to
transfer at least one troop to him. In such a case transfer is
mandatory: a general never is removed from the board as
long as he has one troop or as long as one troop can be transferred to him.

I interpret this to mean that it is up to the French player to choose which stacked general has how many troops.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
richard sivel
Germany
berlin
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
Both generals retreat, see section 11.1, special cases, 3rd bullet: "Stacked generals always fight together." and 11.2, first spades, last sentence: "During a retreat a stack may never split up."

And, yes, bwingrave is correct: You may transfer troops between a stack as often and whenever you want. So, basically it does not matter who takes the losses. In the end the stack will have 8 troops together, and 1 of these must go at least to one of the 2 generals.

So, you may choose any combination of 1/7, 2/6, 3/5, 4/4. And you can change your mind at any time later in the game. Note, however, that a general may only leave the map, when the troops total has dropped to 1.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.