Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

If Wishes Were Fishes!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do You Need A Space In A Boat To Use A Wish? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Taber
United States
Santa Clara
California
flag msg tools
designer
Check out my RPG blog at http://www.usandacat.com/thelair!
badge
Work hard, play hard!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Played for the first time yesterday. I believe the answer is yes. Here is my take reading the rules...I wanted to confirm that this is correct with 2 examples.

Example #1
I have two boats. One boat already has a fish. I can catch a fish then immediately use it's wish.

For the double fish I would put it in my boat then immediately sell it as 2 fish. In this case I do not need two boat spaces...I only need 1.

Example #2
I have two boats. BOTH boats already have a fish. I see a fish in the ocean where the wish is another boat. I cannot get that wish as I do not have a free space on my boat.

Is that right OR can you get wishes without have a space on your boat?

Please tell me where the answer originates from please.


THANKS!
John T>
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olav Fakkeldij
Netherlands
Beverwijk
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you only need a space in a boat to keep a fish card. To use a wish you don't keep a fish card, but you "throw it back", so don't need a space.
(See: Putting a fish card in a boat and Throwing a fish card back)

BTW You can never catch a fish and sell it immediately (as you mention in example #1. A double fish card is no wish, but you can only catch it and sell it in a later turn. (It's worth one fish when you sell it as an action. It's worth 2 fishes when sold by a wish).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Taber
United States
Santa Clara
California
flag msg tools
designer
Check out my RPG blog at http://www.usandacat.com/thelair!
badge
Work hard, play hard!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
olavf wrote:
No, you only need a space in a boat to keep a fish card. To use a wish you don't keep a fish card, but you "throw it back", so don't need a space.
(See: Putting a fish card in a boat and Throwing a fish card back)

Thanks.

olavf wrote:
BTW You can never catch a fish and sell it immediately (as you mention in example #1. A double fish card is no wish, but you can only catch it and sell it in a later turn. (It's worth one fish when you sell it as an action. It's worth 2 fishes when sold by a wish).

I want to make sure I get this right. If this right?
Turn #1 - I catch a double-catfish.
Turn #2 - I use a wish from some fish in the ocean to sell all of my catfish. Since I used a wish to sell it I get 2 catfish.

Is that correct?

It makes sense...now I get it...the rules confused me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olav Fakkeldij
Netherlands
Beverwijk
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's correct. Enjoy the game!
1 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.