Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Here Come the Rebels» Forums » Rules

Subject: Flank bonus, ZOC and Mountains rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kinley Engvalson
United States
West Palm Beach
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Assume Union Unit A would be surrounded on 5 sides by Confederate units and their ZOCs, except that one of the hexes is a mountain hex with no road, etc., from either a Confederate unit or from the Union unit.

Does that mountain space count as a Confederate ZOC for Flank Bonus combat purposes?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim K.
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The mountain would not count as a zoc since there's no road, but it does count toward the covered hexes leading to the base modifier, and then would subtract one from the resulting modifier since it's a mountain.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
So you would start with a +4 bonus since all 6 hexes are covered, but then back it down by 1 for the Mountain.

Final Flank Bonus: +3
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddy del Rio
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But isn't the situation of the OP one of 5 covered hexes, not 6?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Pence
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
edelrio wrote:
But isn't the situation of the OP one of 5 covered hexes, not 6?


That Mountain acts as both one of the original 6 covered hexes (unless sharing a road hexside with the defender), and then is subtracted in the Final Flank bonus calculation (-1).

"..THEN take back one kadam to honor the Hebrew god whose ark this is..."

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddy del Rio
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Assume Union Unit A would be surrounded on 5 sides by Confederate units and their ZOCs, except that one of the hexes is a mountain hex with no road, etc., from either a Confederate unit or from the Union unit."

Was this meant to read: "Assume Union Unit A would be surrounded on 5 sides by Confederate units and their ZOCs, [and the 6th hex] is a mountain hex with no road, etc., from either a Confederate unit or from the Union unit."?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.