Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Fury of Dracula (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Finding Dracula's Trail at Sea rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Saumer
United States
White Bear Township
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the new version of the game, if a Hunter crosses Dracula's path at sea is the Sea Zone card revealed in the Trail?

Nothing I can find in the new version of the rules indicates that it shouldn't be revealed just like any other Location card, except some wording on page 11 of the rules (Moving into a Hunter's Location): "If Dracula moves into a city containing a Hunter, he plays the Location card face up... This does NOT apply when Dracula moves into a sea zone containing a Hunter. In that case, the Location card is still played facedown and no combat occurs."

Granted Dracula and Hunters cannot combat or take actions while at Sea, but why the exception to play the Sea Zone card facedown unless the Hunters cannot find Dracula's trail at Sea?

Furthermore, Hunters in the classic GW Fury of Dracula were unable to locate Dracula at sea, only in cities.

How is everybody else handling this situation? Just curious.



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luca Iennaco
Italy
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
Torbin_Bequette wrote:
if a Hunter crosses Dracula's path at sea is the Sea Zone card revealed in the Trail?

No.
Cards on Dracula's Trail are revealed in the Action Phase (if the Hunter moved there during his Movement Phase), but when you are at sea you get no Action Phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Petrie
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
My wife and I started our first game last night (we played for several hours and decided to pick it up again today) and we had the exact same question. If a Hunter is in the same Sea Zone as Dracula do they get to find out that he's there? We decided no.

But we made this decision not because of the rules, because like you we couldn't find an answer about this in the rules, but because it made sense to us. For example, if you had two ships in the Atlantic would they know who the passengers were on the ships? Not too likely.

But, like Luca said, it makes sense that the Hunters wouldn't see the trail because of the rules as well. No Action Phase when a Hunter is at sea. So that's all right! thumbsup
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.